
Section 1 – Claimant and Vehicle Information

Section 2 – Abatement Computation

Section 3 – Certification and Signature

First name

Vehicle model year

Last name

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

Make Model

License plate number

Applying for (select one) Veteran Exemption Blind Exemption

1.1.

2.2.

3.3.

4.4.

5.
5.

$

$

$

$

Uniform fee or property tax amount
(obtain from Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice)

Appropriate property tax rate (see reverse side)

Divide line 1 by line 2 = taxable value

Exemption value available (from Auditor's records)

Abatement Amount
(the smaller of line 3 or line 4, multiplied by the property tax rate on line 2)

Under penalties of perjury, I declare to the best of my knowledge and understanding, that this information is true, 
correct, and complete. I further testify that I am a lawful resident of the State of Utah.

Claimant’s signature or preparer’s name, address, and telephone number

County Auditor/Treasurer’s Office signature/seal

Date

Date

Veteran or Blind Abatement of Motor Vehicle
Uniform Fees and Property Tax

UCA §59-2-110 through 1106
Form PT-032

   PT-032 Rev. 4/07

After form is completed by claimant and by county auditor/treasurer, form should be taken to local motor
vehicle office.

Claimant: complete Section 1 and sign in Section 3
County Auditor/Treasurer: complete Section 2 and sign in Section 3



Page 2 - Veteran or Blind Abatement of Motor Vehicle Uniform Fees and Property Tax     PT-032 Rev 4-07                              
 
Uniform Fee on Personal Property Required to be Registered with the State 
 
For purposes of the disabled veterans exemption and the blind exemption, the taxable value of tangible 
personal property subject to a uniform fee under Section 59-2-405.1 and/or 59-2-405.2 is to be 
calculated by dividing the uniform fee the tangible personal property is subject to by .015. 
(Administrative Rule R884-24P-64) 
 
As an example of how R884-24P-64 is to be applied to various tangible personal property, consider the 
application of the Rule to passenger cars.  The taxable value of passenger cars is derived by dividing the 
applicable uniform fee by .015 and rounding to the nearest 10 as illustrated below: 
 
 Age of Passenger Car   Uniform Fee   Taxable Value 

Less than 3 years        $150                 $10,000 
3 to 5 years                              110                       7,330 
6 to 8 years                        80                     5,330 
9 to 11 years             50          3,330 
12 plus years                10                  670     

          
 
Likewise, the taxable value of other tangible personal property required to be registered with the state is 
to be calculated by dividing the appropriate uniform fee as located in Section 59-2-405.2 of the Utah 
Code by .015 and rounding to the nearest 10.  Such personal property would include all-terrain vehicles, 
street and other motorcycles, snowmobiles, campers, non-commercial trailers, personal watercraft, small 
motor vehicles, tent and travel trailers, large and small personal watercraft and vessels (boats).  These 
fees are imposed based on age, except in the case of vessels where the fee is imposed based on the 
length and the age of the vessel.  If you have difficulty in calculating the taxable value for tangible 
personal property required to be registered with the state, phone the Property Tax Division of the Utah 
State Tax Commission (801) 297-3603. 
 
 
Value-Based Uniform Fee or Property Tax Rates                                                                 
 

♦ Heavy and medium duty trucks and commercial trailers-subject to a 1.5% Uniform Fee (.015) 
♦ Vessels 31 Ft and longer (yachts and houseboats), are subject to a 1.5 % Uniform Fee (.015) 
♦ Motor Homes are subject to a 1.25% Uniform Fee (.0125) 
♦ Aircraft are subject to a .4% Uniform Fee (.004) 
♦ Aerial Applicators are subject to a .2% Uniform Fee (.002) 

 
Personal Property Subject to Ad Valorem Property Tax Rate 

♦ Vintage Vehicles – local ad valorem property tax rate 
♦ State-assessed commercial vehicles weighing 12,001 pounds or more (must register with USTC 

Motor Carrier Services Section and property tax rate changes annually) 




