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Section .1
General Information

Purpose

These standards provide a reference to accepted procedures for administering statutory tax
relief programs.

NOTE: Forms associated with these standards are listed in Appendix 3 A — Referenced Forms
and can be found at the following location:
http://propertytax.utah.gov/generalinformation/forms/standards-of-practice-forms

Scope

These standards address four types of statutory tax relief: the veteran with a disability
exemption, blind exemption, indigent abatement/deferral and the circuit breaker tax credit. The
veteran with a disability and blind exemptions provide that part of the value of real and/or
personal property owned by veterans or blind people or their surviving spouses or orphaned
minor children is exempt from property taxes. The indigent abatement/deferral allows for the
abatement or deferral of property taxes for indigents who are 65 years of age or older. People
under age 65 may qualify if they are disabled, or can demonstrate circumstances of extreme
hardship. The circuit breaker tax credit is similar to the indigent abatement except that the
amount of the credit varies with household income. In addition to meeting the income
requirement, a person must be at least 66 years of age or be a surviving spouse. The county
governing body (county) and the Utah State Tax Commission (Commission) are given statutory
powers to grant adjustments to, or deferrals of, property taxes under certain circumstances.

Determination of Tax Relief Status and Burden of Proof

The county is responsible for granting the veteran with a disability and blind exemptions,
indigent abatements and deferrals. The Tax Commission and the county are responsible for
administering the circuit breaker tax credit.

The burden is on the applicant to prove eligibility for any tax relief program. The county may
request any information needed as evidence of eligibility. If the applicant fails to provide the
necessary information or refuses an audit for verification of eligibility, the county may deny the
tax relief.

Application forms are to be approved by the Commission prior to use.

Utah Residency Requirements

Claimants (except for the veteran with a disability exemption) for exemptions and abatements
must provide proof of established residency in the State of Utah. Indigent applicants must live in
their residence at least 10 months of the year. Circuit breaker applicants must reside in the state
for the entire calendar year. Absence from the residence due to vacation, confinement to a
hospital, or other similar temporary situation is not to be deducted from the residency
requirement. (R884-24P-5)
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U.S. Residency Status of Applicant for Tax Relief

Senate Bill 81 enacted by the 2008 Utah Legislature and effective July 1, 2009, is a broad
immigration reform law. One provision of the law requires an agency or political subdivision of
the state to verify the lawful presence in the United States of an individual who has applied for a
state or local public benefit. Excluding the veteran with a disability exemption, an applicant for a
state or local public benefit must provide proof of legal status or certify his/her lawful presence in
the United States. A person honorably discharged from US military service is presumed to be a
US citizen and not required to provide additional proof of citizenship.

A United States citizen or a legal resident will possess a social security number. Also, an
individual who is present in the U.S. lawfully may qualify under 8 U.S.C. 1641 and possess an I-
94 or an Alien Number.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security, United States Citizenship and Immigration
Services (USCIS), Verification Division has created an immigration status verification program
called the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE). The SAVE Program allows
accessing immigration status information contained in the Department of Homeland Security
databases. For a fee, the SAVE Program is available to determine the immigration status of
applicants, thereby ensuring that only entitled applicants receive state or local public benefits
(tax relief). Contact information for SAVE is as follows: Telephone number 1-888-464-4218;
Fax number 202-358-7867; E-mail address SAVE.HELP@DHS.govand mailing address
USCIS, SAVE Program, 490 L'Enfant Plaza, East SW, Suite 7112, Washington D.C. 20529-
2620.

Filing Deadline

The law requires applications for veteran with a disability and blind exemptions and indigent
abatements/deferrals be submitted on or before September 1 of each year. The county can
extend the filing deadline until December 31, if good cause exists.

Ownership

All applicants should provide evidence of ownership such as a copy of the property tax notice,
deed, revocable trust, or motor vehicle registration.

Multiple Ownership

The veteran with a disability exemption applies to a primary residence and/or personal property
held exclusively for personal use and is not used in a trade or business. If several veterans own
fractional interests in a property, they are each eligible for their full veteran with a disability
exemption. An indigent abatement is granted according to the total household income of a
single owner-occupied primary residential property and effectively reduces the amount of tax
due. Multiple ownership does not affect the amount of the abatement. If several indigents own
fractional interests in a property, the maximum abatement granted if a single indigent owned the
property. If several indigent veterans each own a partial interest in their home they would qualify
for one full indigent abatement among them, but may each receive their full veteran with a
disability exemption.
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Legal Guardian Or Power Of Attorney

The representatives of applicants unable to act on their own behalf, should submit a signed and
notarized power of attorney, or other documentation, as required by the county with the
application.

Limitations

The veteran with a disability exemption, circuit breaker and indigent abatements are limited to
taxes on the residence and a maximum of one acre of land.
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Section lll.1I
Standards of Practice

Standard 3.1 Veteran with a Disability Eligibility Requirements
3.1.0 Veteran with a Disability

To be eligible an individual must be disabled in the line of duty during any war, international
conflict, or military training in the military service of the United States or of the State of Utah.
The disability must be at least 10%. However, a veteran with a disability is considered to be
100% disabled, regardless of the percentage of military disability if the US Dept of Veteran's
Affairs certifies the veteran in the individual unemployability classification (Section 59-2-1104).

3.1.1 Surviving Spouse

The unmarried surviving spouse and minor orphans of a veteran with a disability or of a veteran
with a disability who died as a result of military service with the United States or with this state,
may apply for a veteran with a disability exemption. [Section 59-2-1104]

3.1.2 Eligible Property
The following property is eligible for a veteran with a disability exemption:
e Primary residence

e Personal property held exclusively for personal use and is not used in a trade or
business, or

e A combination of the above.

An unmarried surviving spouse or a minor orphan of a deceased veteran with a disability or a
veteran who was killed in action or died in the line of duty is allowed the veteran with a disability
exemption regardless of whether they are listed as owner of the property as of January 1.
However, all other claimants must own the property as of January 1 in order for the property to
be eligible for the veteran with a disability exemption. (Section 59-2-1101)

Property held under a real estate contract is eligible for the exemption if the claimant is both the
purchaser under the contract and is obligated to pay property taxes on the property beginning
on January 1 of the year the exemption is claimed. (Section 59-2-1105)

3.1.2.1 Property Held in Trust

If the veteran with a disability (claimant), is the creator (grantor) of a trust holding title to real or
tangible personal property for which an exemption is claimed, the claimant must prove to the
county that (s)he is able to regain legal title to this property by claimant’s own action under the
trust, or the action of a non-adverse party or joint action of the claimant and the nonadverse
party. The power to revoke the trust, terminate (the trust or any conveyance of property to the
trust), alter or amend the trust itself, or appoint a new trustee must be present. When the
claimant is not the creator (grantor) of the trust, the claimant must control the legal ownership
(must be the Trustee: and must have control of the beneficial ownership of the trust or be the
beneficiary of the trust). In addition, the claimant must be obligated to pay the property taxes on
that portion of the trust property for the year (beginning January 1) in which the claimant claims
the exemption. (Section 59-2-1105)

Key questions to ask the claimant are:
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e |s the trust revocable?
e |s the claimant also the Trustee of the Trust?

¢ If the claimant is not the Trustee, does (s)he have the ability to appoint a new or different
Trustee, can the claimant amend the trust at any time, or can the claimant withdraw or
order the withdrawal of the property from the trust?

The terms “inter vivos” and “living” are typical terms located in revocable trusts. Generally, a
claimant’s property included in an irrevocable trust would not be eligible for tax relief. However,
each trust document is unique and must be considered on its own merits. If unable to determine
if the trust qualifies, have the claimant presenting the trust bring in a letter from the attorney who
prepared the trust indicating that it qualifies as a “grantor trust”, that the grantor retains
ownership of the assets pursuant to Section 676 of the Internal Revenue Code, and that all
income earned by the trust is taxable to the grantor.

Standard 3.2 Veteran with a Disability Application Process
3.2.0 Application Deadline

On or before September 1, any person applying for a veteran with a disability exemption must
file an application with the county in which the applicant resides. If an applicant resides in a
different county from that of the property, a copy of the application must be sent to the county in
which the property is located and any other county in the state where the veteran with a
disability owns property. Click on the following link to view the form, PT-30 Veteran with a
Disability Property Tax Exemption Application.

The county is required to extend the application deadline for one year, if:

a) a military entity issues a written decision that the veteran is disabled or deceased
veteran with a disability was disabled at the time the deceased veteran died; and

b) the date the military entity issues the written decision takes effect is in any year prior to
the current calendar year. (Section 59-2-1105)

In addition, the county is required to extend the application deadline for one year, if the county
legislative body determines that:

a) the claimant or a member of claimant’s immediate family had an illness or injury that
prevented the claimant from filing the application on or before the September 1 deadline;

b) a member of the claimant’s immediate family died during the calendar year the claimant
was required to file the application;

c) the claimant was not physically present in the state for a time period of at least six
consecutive months during the calendar year the claimant was required to file the
application;

d) the failure of the claimant to file the application on or before the deadline would be
against equity or good conscience and was beyond the reasonable control of the
claimant. (Section 59-2-1105)

3.2.1 Required Information
The following information must accompany the initial application:

e A copy of the veteran’s certificate of discharge from military service of the United States
or of this state, or other satisfactory evidence of eligible military service (Section 59-2-
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1105). A person who is honorably discharged from military service of the US or the state
is presumed to be a US citizen and no additional proof of US citizenship is required.

e A statement issued by a military entity listing the percentage of disability and/or
unemployability for the veteran with a disability or deceased veteran with a disability.
(Section 59-2- 1104 and 1105)

¢ Inthe event of the veteran’s death, a death certificate or other evidence required by the
county.

In the event of the veteran who was killed in action or died in the line of duty, a letter indicating
casualty information from the US Veterans Administration must accompany the application.

The county may not require the claimant to file another statement issued by a military entity
unless:

a) The claimant is someone other than the claimant who filed an application for the veteran
with a disability exemption for the calendar year immediately preceding the current
calendar year; or

b) The percentage of disability/unemployability has changed for a veteran with a disability
or deceased veteran with a disability. Section 59-2-1104 and 1105

Once the claimant has an application on file with the county, the county may not require the
claimant to file an application each year unless certain situations apply. The situations or
conditions requiring the claimant to file another application are outlined in Section 59-2-1105.

3.2.2 Additional Evidence
It is the county’s option to require the applicant to provide additional evidence.
3.2.3 Application Receipt Required

The county is to provide a receipt to a claimant who files an application for the veteran with a
disability exemption. (Section 59-2-1105) The receipt could be as simple as a receipt date
stamp on the application with a copy of such to the applicant. This receipt is to be provided no
later than 30 days after the day on which the claimant filed the application.

3.2.4 Application Amendments

The county is to allow the claimant to amend the application up to a year after the claimant has
filed the application if: (Section 59-2-1105)

a) a military entity issues a written decision that the percentage of disability has changed;
and

b) the date the military entity’s written decision takes effect is in any year prior to the
current calendar year.

The claimant is to provide to the county a statement issued by a military entity listing the date
the military entities written decision takes effect.
Standard 3.3 Amount of Veteran with a Disability Exemption

3.3.0 Veteran with a Disability

If the percentage of disability/unemployability is 100% or greater, the full $228,931 exemption
for 2010 is allowed. The amount of exemption is determined by multiplying $228.931 by the
veteran’s percentage of disability/unemployability. Example: A 50% disability/unemployability
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results in a $114,466 of taxable value exemption. An exemption may not be allowed for any
disability below 10%. [Section-59-2-1104]

3.3.1 Unmarried Spouse and Minor Orphans

The unmarried surviving spouse or minor orphan of a veteran who was killed in action or in the
line of duty may claim a veteran with a disability exemption for the total value of the property
described in Standard 3.1.2. [Section 59-2-1104] A letter indicating casualty information from
the US Veterans Administration must accompany the application for the disabled veterans
exemption.

3.3.2 How Exemption Applies To Motor Vehicles

The county auditor/treasurer assumes the responsibility for calculating the exemption amount
and supplying the taxpayer with a form that clearly states the amount of motor vehicle fee or tax
to be abated for each vehicle. Click on the following link to view the form, PT-32 Veteran with a
Disability or Blind Abatement of Motor Vehicle Uniform Fees and Property Tax. The taxpayer
will submit this completed form to the motor vehicle office at the time of registration or renewal
of registration. To determine the appropriate rate refer to Page 2 of Form PT-32, which lists
various personal property and the associated uniform fee, value-based uniform fee or property
tax rate.

3.3.3 Refund of Overpayment

The county, granting a veteran with a disability exemption to a person under Section 59-2-1105,
is to grant a refund if the claimant’s property taxes paid exceed the claimant’s property taxes
due, providing the amount is $1 or more. (Section 59-2-1105)

Standard 3.4 Active or Reserve Duty Armed Forces Exemption
Eligibility Requirements

3.4.0 Eligible Persons

The Active or Reserve Duty Armed Forces Exemption allows a member of an active component
of the US Armed Forces or a reserve component of the US Armed Forces, having performed
“qualifying active duty military service,” to have the total taxable value of his or her primary
residence exempted from property tax.

“Active component of the United States Armed Forces” means active duty service in the United
States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or the Coast Guard. (859-10-1027(1)(a))

The reserve components of the armed forces are Army National Guard of the US, Army
Reserve, Navy Reserve, Marine Corps Reserve, Air National Guard of the US, Air Force
Reserve and the Coast Guard Reserve. (10 U.S.C. §10101)

“Qualifying active duty military service” means (859-2-1104(1)(g))

(1) At least 200 days in a calendar year, regardless of whether consecutive, of active duty
military service outside the state in an active component of the US Armed Forces or a
reserve component of the US Armed Forces; or

(2) The completion of at least 200 consecutive days of active duty military service outside
the state in an active component of the US Armed Forces or a reserve component of the
US Armed Forces beginning in the prior year, provided those days of active duty
military service outside the state in the prior year were not counted as qualifying active
duty military service for the prior year.
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The claimant must be the owner of the property as of January 1 of the year the exemption is
claimed.

3.4.1 Eligible Property

The only eligible property is the primary residence (no more than one acre of land), of the active
duty or reserve duty armed forces member. A rented dwelling does not qualify for the
exemption.

3.4.2 Amount of Exemption

Unlike the exemption for a veteran with a disability, there is no calculation required. The
exemption amount is the total taxable value of the primary residence; only one acre of land
associated with the primary residence is allowed. Tangible personal property of the active
military claimant is not exempt.

Standard 3.5 Active or Reserve Duty Armed Forces Exemption
Application Process

3.5.0 Application Deadline

The application is to be filed in the county where the claimant resides and must be filed on or
before September 1 of the year after the year of qualifying service. The first year of qualifying
service is 2013, so January 1, 2013 is the date from which to begin counting the active duty
service. Any service rendered prior to January 1, 2013 is not counted toward “qualifying active
duty military service”. For example, if the qualifying active duty military service is completed in
2013, the application for the exemption would be filed on or before September 1, 2014. The
active duty military claimant must apply for the exemption each year following the year the
gualifying service is completed. The exemption application is good for only one tax year and the
claimant may claim one exemption only in the year the application is filed.

3.5.1 Required Information

A sample application for the Active Duty Armed Forces Property Tax Exemption is located in
Appendix 3D. The application must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence of “qualifying
active duty military service” which means:

1. Atleast 200 days in a calendar year, regardless of whether consecutive, of active duty
military service outside the state in an active component of the US Armed Forces or a
reserve component of the US Armed Forces; or

2. The completion of at least 200 consecutive days of active duty military service outside
the state in an active component of the US Armed Forces or a reserve component of the
US Armed Forces beginning in the prior year, provided those days of active duty
military service outside the state in the prior year were not counted as qualifying active
duty military service for the prior year.

Satisfactory evidence of “qualifying active duty military service” could include one or more of the
following documents:

o Military Service or Deployment Orders detailing dates of qualifying active duty military
service outside of Utah.

e Letter from commanding officer detailing dates of qualifying active duty military service
outside of Utah.
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e Travel Voucher or Subvoucher (DD Form 1351-2) and the Defense Travel System
computer printout detailing the processing and approval history of the DD Form 1351-2.
Refer to the following standard (Standard 3.5.2.), for additional information.

It is very important that any confidential personal information be redacted on any document
used to verify qualifying active duty military service. The confidential personal information that
may appear on these documents includes, but is not limited to: bank account number, military
email address, etc. It is recommended that the redaction occur when the application is
received. If the application is hand-delivered, the applicant may help identify information to be
redacted.

3.5.2 Travel Voucher or Subvoucher (DD Form 1351-2)

A copy of the Travel Voucher or Subvoucher DD Form 1351-2 is located in Appendix 3D or you
may obtain a copy at http://www.dtic.mil/whs/directives/infomgt/forms/eforms/dd1351-2.pdf. The
“DD” means “Department of Defense” and the DD Form 1351-2 is a form used throughout the
armed forces; every US military member who travels must complete a travel voucher upon
returning from duty. The Defense Travel System computer printout, sometimes referred to as
the “Paid Travel Voucher” (located in Appendix 3D), merely verifies that the travel voucher is
authentic and was, in fact, paid. Each active component of the US Armed Forces or a reserve
component of the US Armed Forces has its own “Home Station”. For example, all Utah US Air
Force service men and women may telephone Hill Air Force Base Military Comptroller/Finance
Office at (801)-777-1851 to request a copy of both the Travel Voucher and Defense Travel
System computer printout. The documents can be transmitted electronically through the
individual's military e-mail account.

Upon completion, the Travel Voucher (DD Form 1351-2) is submitted to the appropriate military
comptroller/finance office with a copy of the travel orders and any amendments to those orders.
The appropriate military comptroller/finance office verifies the information and approves any
additional “temporary duty” pay earned for the deployment, as well as any reimbursements.
This form should detail the location and dates of active duty military service outside the state;
therefore, it should generally be sufficient to verify “qualifying active duty military service”. The
Travel Voucher will need to be completed, processed and signed by the approving official (see
line 21a). If the Travel Voucher is not signed, it is recommended that the Defense Travel
System computer printout accompany the form. The Defense Travel System computer printout
is an important document because it provides verification that the Travel Voucher was
processed and approved by the appropriate military comptroller/finance office. It authenticates
the Travel Voucher which, because it may have been transmitted electronically, would not
contain the appropriate signatures. Other forms of verification may be used if they provide
satisfactory evidence that the Travel Voucher is valid.

It would be a good idea to compare the claimant’s application with the Travel Voucher to verify
name, social security number, address, itinerary (item #15 which would detail dates and location
of military service), and claimant signature.

3.5.3 Additional Evidence
It is the county’s option to require the applicant to provide additional evidence.
3.5.4 Application Receipt Required

Within 30 days, the county is to provide a receipt to a claimant who files an application for the
active or reserve duty armed forces exemption. The receipt should state that the county
received the claimant’s application [859-2-1105(2)].
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Standard 3.6 Blind Application Process
3.6.0 Application Requirements

The application must be submitted on or before September 1 of each year with the county
where the person resides. The county can extend the filing deadline until December 31, if good
cause exists. The first year’s application must be accompanied by an ophthalmologist’s
statement. If the blindness is not permanent, a signed ophthalmologist’s statement must be
submitted each year. Click on the following link to view the form, PT-31 Blind Persons Property
Tax Exemption Application.

Standard 3.7 Blind Amount of Exemption
3.7.0 Amount of Exemption

The first $11,500 of taxable value of real and tangible personal property is exempt. (Section 59-
2-1106)

3.7.1 How Exemption Applies To Motor Vehicles

The county auditor/treasurer assumes the responsibility for calculating the exemption amount
and supplying the taxpayer with a form that clearly states the amount of motor vehicle fee or tax
to be abated for each vehicle. Click on the following link to view the form, PT-32 Veteran with a
Disability or Blind Abatement of Motor Vehicle Uniform Fees and Property Tax. The taxpayer
will submit this completed form to the motor vehicle office at the time of registration or renewal
of registration. To determine the appropriate rate refer to Page 2 of Form PT-32, which lists
various personal property and the associated uniform fee, value-based uniform fee or property
tax rate.

3.7.2 Refund of Overpayment

The county, granting the blind exemption under Section 59-2-1106, is to grant a refund if the
claimant’s property taxes paid exceed the claimant’s property taxes due providing the amount is
$1 or more. (Section 59-2-1106)

Standard 3.8 Indigent Eligibility Requirements

3.8.0 Requirements

Any low-income person who is at least 65 years of age in the year of application is eligible to
apply for an indigent abatement or deferral of property taxes on that person’s owner-occupied
residence or mobile home.

3.8.1 Age Exceptions
Any person under the age of 65 may be eligible if: [Section 59-2-1109(1)]

o Extreme Hardship. The county finds that extreme hardship would prevail if the
abatement or deferral were not granted; or

¢ Disability. The statutes provide no definition or criteria for determining eligible disability.
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Standard 3.9 Indigent Application Process
3.9.0 Application Deadline

The indigent application must be filed each year on or before September 1 with the county. The
county can extend the filing deadline until December 31, if good cause exists. (Section 59-2-
1109)

3.9.1 Required Information

The application must set forth adequate facts to support the person’s eligibility for deferral or
abatement to include:

o For the 2012 application, a statement certifying that 2011 household income was
equal to or less than $29,919. Household income means all taxable and/or non-
taxable income from all sources including gross income, net rents, interest, retirement
income, public assistance payments, social security, etc. (R884-24P-5)

¢ The county may require proof of residency for at least ten months of the year in the
residence where the tax relief, deferral or abatement is requested;

e Signatures of both husband and wife are required if the husband and wife seek a
deferral or abatement on the residence.

In addition, applicants for abatements based on hardship and/or disability must provide:

e A signed statement detailing the circumstances of the hardship and/or a signed
statement from a licensed physician documenting the nature and extent of disability.
(Section 59-2-1109)

In addition, deferral applicants must provide:
o Alisting of all liquid and fixed assets other than items of nominal value;
e Alisting of all assets transferred to relatives within the past three years; and,

e Written approval by the holder of any mortgage or trust deed outstanding on the
property.
3.9.2 Claim Limits
A person may claim an abatement or deferral on only one residence.
3.9.3 Property Held in Trust

If the eligible indigent person (claimant), is the creator (grantor) of the trust holding title to real or
tangible personal property for which an abatement or deferral is claimed, the claimant must
prove to the county that (s) he is able to regain legal title to the property by claimant’s own
action under the trust, or the action of a non-adverse party or joint action of the claimant and the
nonadverse party. The power to revoke the trust, terminate (the trust or any conveyance of
property to the trust), alter or amend the trust itself, or appoint a new trustee must be present.
When the claimant is not the creator (grantor) of the trust, the claimant must control the legal
ownership (must be the Trustee; and must have control of the beneficial ownership of the trust
or be the beneficiary of the trust). In addition, the claimant must be obligated to pay the property
taxes on that portion of the trust property for the year (beginning January 1) in which the
claimant claims the abatement or deferral. (Section 59-2-1109).

Key questions to ask the claimant are:
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e |s the trust revocable?
e |s the claimant also the Trustee of the Trust?

¢ If the claimant is not the Trustee, does (s)he have the ability to appoint a new or different
Trustee, can the claimant amend the trust at any time, or can the claimant withdraw or
order the withdrawal of the property from the trust?

The terms “inter vivos” and “living” are typical terms located in revocable trusts. Generally, a
claimant’s property included in an irrevocable trust would not be eligible for tax relief. However,
each trust document is unigue and must be considered on its own merits. If unable to determine
if the trust qualifies, have the claimant presenting the trust bring in a letter from the attorney who
prepared the trust indicating that it qualifies as a “grantor trust”, that the grantor retains
ownership of the assets pursuant to Section 676 of the Internal Revenue Code, and that all
income earned by the trust is taxable to the grantor.

3.9.4 Refund of Overpayment

The county, granting an indigent abatement or deferral under Section 59-2-1107, is to grant a
refund if the claimant’s property taxes paid exceed the claimant’s property taxes due providing
the amount is $1 or more. (Section 59-2-1109)

Standard 3.10 Abatement and Deferral
3.10.0 Amount

The amount of property tax the county may abate is limited to either (1) the amount provided as
a homeowner’s credit for the lowest household income bracket under Section 59-2-1208, which
is $853 for 2010 or (2) one-half the tax levied, whichever is less. For example, if the tax due is
$500, the abatement is $250. However, refer to Standard 3.14.5 “Tax Reduction” wherein
Section 59-2-1347 allows the abatement or deferral of the entire tax liability in certain situations.
Only one deferral or abatement may be granted per household. (Sections 59-2-1107 and 59-2-
1108).

3.10.1 Deferred Taxes Accumulate

Taxes deferred by the county accumulate with interest. The property cannot be subject to final
tax sale during the period of deferment. (Section 59-2-1108)

3.10.2 Denial of Application

The county may deny the application if the applicant is the owner of income-producing assets
which could be liquidated to pay the tax. Also, any assets transferred to relatives in the
preceding three-year period are to be considered by the county in making its determination.

Standard 3.11 Circuit Breaker Eligibility Requirements

3.11.0 Purpose of Circuit Breaker

The purpose of the circuit breaker program is to provide general property tax relief to certain
poor taxpayers who have “income” below statutorily mandated levels and who own or rent their
places of residence. The circuit breaker program provides tax credits, refunds, and
appropriations from Utah’s General Fund. (Section 59-2-1201)
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3.11.1 Eligible Persons

Any person providing their own financial support, who is 66 years of age in the year of
application or who is a surviving spouse, regardless of age, with a household income as
identified in 59-2-1208 & 1209, and who is a permanent resident of the state of Utah is eligible
for a homeowner’s or renter’s credit. Click on the following link to view the homeowner’s credit
form, TC-40CY Low Income Abatement and Homeowner's Tax Credit Application.

3.11.2 Limitation

Only one claimant per household may apply for the credit. For the 2010 application, an
applicant’s 2009 household income must be less than $28,785.

3.11.3 Definition of “Household Income.”

Household income for the “Homeowner’'s Tax Credit” means all income received by all persons
of a household in the calendar year preceding the calendar year in which property taxes are
due. For example, all income received during 2009 by members living in the household as of
January 1, 2010.

Household income for the “Renter’s Credit” means all income received by all persons of a
household for the year for which a claim is filed. For example, for an application filed in 2010,
one would use 2009 household income from all household members living in the household as
of January 1, 20009.

The legislature has defined “income” to include not only amounts included in a taxpayer’'s
federal adjusted gross income (“FAGI"), but also some additional amounts to better reflect the
resources actually available to the taxpayer to meet obligations. For example, if a taxpayer’s
only incoming funds consist of $50,000 of nontaxable municipal bond interest, the taxpayer’s
FAGI may be zero, yet the taxpayer would have $50,000 with which to pay his or her tax
obligation. Generally, household income includes all taxable and non-taxable income including
wages, salaries, interest, dividends, trust income, alimony, support payments, disability
payments, public assistance payments, retirement income, voluntary contributions to a tax-
deferred retirement plan, pensions, annuities, capital gains, workman’s compensation, state
unemployment insurance amounts, Social Security and Medicare payments, loss carry
forwards, rental depreciation, etc. Household income does not include relief in kind supplied by
a tax-exempt, non-governmental source, surplus food, or relief in kind supplied by a public or
private agency. (Section 59-2-1202 and R865-91-34).

3.11.4 Additional Information on Definition of “Household Income.”

In State Tax Commission Advisory Opinion #99-033, dated March 10, 2000, the following
income items were addressed relating to the definition of income for purposes of the renter and
homeowner credits (circuit breaker) for property tax:

Federal income tax refunds

Federal income tax refunds are not income. They merely reflect an extra withholding of income
taxes.

Federal childcare credits

Childcare credits are generally not “income.” The credit only represents a reduction in the
amount of tax a taxpayer must pay the federal government. The federal government’s decision
to allow a lower tax payment does not constitute income. There is an exception however, for the
amount of the child credit that is “refundable.” To the extent a taxpayer is qualified for a
childcare credit in excess of his or her tax liability, the taxpayer will receive a refundable credit
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under IRC 824(d)(4). That refund is not merely a reduction of tax otherwise due. It represents
additional income to the taxpayer. As such, it is in the nature of “cash public assistance or
relief,” included in “nontaxable income” under Section 59-2-1202(6)(b)(vi) and thus also included
in “income” under Section 59-2-1202(6)(a).

Federal earned income credits

The rule for federal earned income credits is the same as the rule for federal child care credits.
In general, the earned income credit only represents a reduction in the amount of tax a taxpayer
must pay the federal government. To the extent a taxpayer receives a refundable earned
income credit under IRC 832, however, the taxpayer has essentially received cash public
assistance or relief, which should be included in income for circuit breaker purposes.

Reverse mortgages

Payments received by an elderly homeowner under a reverse mortgage are not income. Each
payment to the homeowner is simply a loan that will be repaid from the sales proceeds of the
home on the homeowner’s death. Although the reverse mortgage may generate cash that the
homeowner could use to pay property taxes, it does so by reducing the taxpayer’s non-cash
assets, not by generating additional income.

Payments or reimbursements to senior program volunteers

For purposes of the circuit breaker, payments or reimbursements to senior program volunteers
do not qualify as income as they are a repayment of the taxpayer’'s own expenses.

Gifts

Gifts and bequests should not be taken into account in computing a taxpayer’s income under
Section 59-2-1202.

3.11.5 Property Held in Trust

If the eligible person (claimant), is the creator (grantor) of a trust holding title to real or tangible
personal property for which a credit is claimed, the claimant must prove to the county that (s)he
is able to regain legal title to the property by claimant’'s own action under the trust, or the action
of a nonadverse party or a joint action of the claimant and the nonadverse party. The power to
revoke the trust (the trust or any conveyance of property to the trust), alter or amend the trust
itself, or appoint a new trustee must be present. When the claimant is not the creator (grantor)
of the trust, the claimant must control the legal ownership (must be the Trustee; and must have
control of the beneficial ownership of the trust or be the beneficiary of the trust). In addition, the
claimant must be obligated to pay the property taxes on that portion of the trust property for the
year (beginning January 1) in which the claimant claims the credit. (Section 59-2-1203)

Key questions to ask the claimant are:
e |s the trust revocable?
¢ |s the claimant also the Trustee of the Trust?

¢ If the claimant is not the Trustee, does (s)he have the ability to appoint a new or different
Trustee, can the claimant amend the trust at any time, or can the claimant withdraw or
order the withdrawal of the property from the trust?

The terms “inter vivos” and “living” are typical terms located in revocable trusts. Generally, a
claimant’s property included in an irrevocable trust would not be eligible for tax relief. However,
each trust document is unigue and must be considered on its own merits. If unable to determine
if the trust qualifies, have the claimant presenting the trust bring in a letter from the attorney who
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prepared the trust indicating that it qualifies as a “grantor trust”, that the grantor retains
ownership of the assets pursuant to Section 676 of the Internal Revenue Code, and that all
income earned by the trust is taxable to the grantor.

3.11.6 Housing and Community Development Act

When housing assistance payments are involved under the Housing and Community
Development Act, Title Il, Section 8, then:

o only that portion of the rent paid by the tenant may be claimed under the terms of the
Circuit Breaker Act; and

¢ the portion of the rent paid by the federal government to the landlord will not be
considered as part of the household income since it is not subject to a claim for rebate.
[R865-91-34(G)]

3.11.7 Allowed Payments

No claim for a refund under the circuit breaker may be allowed to any person who is a recipient
of public funds for the payment of rent during the period for which the claim is filed. (Section 59-
2-1218) State welfare assistance is not considered public funds for the payment of rent and will
not preclude a rebate. However, assistance payments must be included in income. [R865-9I-
34(F)]

3.11.8 Claimant Owing Delinquent Property Taxes

Quialifying individuals owing delinquent property taxes may qualify for a homeowner’s credit.
The credit may not exceed the claimant’s property tax liability for the year in which credit is
requested. (Sections 59-2-1206)

3.11.9 Application Process

An application for a renter’s tax credit must be filed with the Tax Commission by December 31
each year.

An owner of a mobile home is considered a homeowner and may apply for circuit breaker credit
against property taxes. A homeowner’s or mobile homeowner’s tax credit must be filed with the
county by September 1 each year. Counties will process both the homeowner’s and mobile
homeowner’s tax credits. If the property that a mobile home sits on is rented, then the claimant
must file an application with USTC to apply for the renter refund. Click on the following link to
view the form, TC-40CB Renter Refund Application (Circuit Breaker). (See Appendix 3B for
Mobile Homeowner, Circuit Breaker Application Processing Guidelines.)

3.11.10 Deadline Extension

The Tax Commission or county may extend the time for filing a claim until December 31 of the
claim year, if they find good cause to extend the deadline. (Section 59-2-1220)

3.11.11 Application Requirements

The application must be on a form approved by the Commission and include a statement of the
applicant’s total household income. (Section 59-2-1206)

Application for the renter’s credit must include proof that the rent has been paid, the name and
address of the property owner or manager, and information regarding changes of residence.
(Section 59-2-1213) If rental assistance is received, include only the portion of rent the claimant
paid.
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Standard 3.12 Additional Homeowner Credit

3.12.0 Owner-occupied Residences

There is additional tax relief for any person qualifying for the existing homeowner’s credit. The
additional relief is equal to the difference in tax on 55% of market value and the tax on 35% of
market value. In effect, the credit is equal to the tax on 20% of market value.(Section 59-2-1202)
This credit is in addition to any other exemption or reduction for which a homeowner may be
eligible for, including the homeowner’s credit provided for in Section 59-2-1206. (Section 59-2-
1203)

3.12.1 Example

Assume a $100,000 home and a 1% tax rate.
Tax on 55% of market value = $100,000 x .55 x .01 = $550
Tax on 35% of market value = $100,000 x .35 x .01 = $350
Credit equals $550 minus $350 or $200

Another way to figure the credit would be the following:
Credit equals $100,000 x .20 x .01 = $200

3.12.2 Tax Credit on Assessment/Tax Roll

The additional homeowner credit should be shown as a tax credit on the assessment/tax roll
and not as a reduction in value for the following reasons:

¢ Tax Commission Rule 884-24P-36 requires that tax relief for taxpayers eligible for blind,
veteran with a disability, indigent or circuit breaker be shown as credits to total taxes
levied.

o ltis likely that not all credits would be accounted for as a value reduction because of late
filers.

e Accounting for the adjustment as a value reduction would create an additional category
to be tracked for statistical reporting purposes.

3.12.3 No State Reimbursement

A county legislative body may not obtain payment from the state’s General Fund for the 20% fair
market value reduction. County records should distinguish between the traditional credit based
upon income brackets, which is reimbursable, and the credit based on 20% of market value,
which is not reimbursable. (Section 59-2-1206)

Standard 3.13 Payment of Circuit Breaker Credit
3.13.0 Amount Based On Income

The amount of a homeowner’s credit is based on the applicant’s household income (see
schedule on application form). The homeowner’s credit is deducted from taxes charged. A
renter’'s credit application is filed directly with the Tax Commission and a direct payment is
mailed to the applicant.
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3.13.1 Renter’s Credit

The renter’s credit is based upon the applicant’s household income and a percentage of the rent
paid (see schedule on application form). The credit is made in the form of a direct payment to
the applicant.

3.13.2 Refund of Overpayment

The county, granting an abatement or circuit breaker credit to a claimant, is to grant a refund if
the claimant’s property taxes paid exceed the claimant’s property taxes due providing the
amount is $1 or more. (Section 59-2-1220)

Standard 3.14 Redetermination of Incorrect Claim
3.14.0 Audit

If the audit of any claim reveals that the amount was incorrectly determined, the Tax
Commission or the county shall redetermine the claim and notify the claimant of its reason for
redetermination. The claimant has 30 days to appeal after this notice. (Section 59-2-1214)

3.14.1 Arms-length

If it is determined by the Tax Commission that the rental of a property is not an arms-length
transaction, the Commission may determine rent constituting property taxes accrued at arm’s-
length and the claimant may appeal within 30 days of notice. (Section 59-2-1216)

3.14.2 Excessive Claims

If the Tax Commission or county determines that a claim is excessive and was filed with
fraudulent intent, the claim shall be disallowed in full. The credit shall be canceled, and the
amount paid or claimed may be recovered by assessment. The assessment shall bear interest
from the date of the claim, until refunded or paid, at the rate of 1% per month. The claimant and
any person assisting in the preparation or filing of the excessive claim shall be guilty of a Class
A misdemeanor. (Section 59-2-1215)

3.14.3 Negligence

If the Tax Commission or the county determines that a claim is excessive and negligently
prepared, 10% of the corrected claim shall be disallowed. The improper portion of any amount
paid shall be similarly recovered by assessment and the assessment shall bear interest at 1%
per month from the date of payment until refunded or paid. [Section 59-2-1215(2)]

3.14.4 Disallowed Claims

A claim shall be disallowed if the Tax Commission or county finds that the claimant received title
to a residence primarily for the purpose of receiving benefits. (Section 59-2-1219)

Standard 3.15 Tax Adjustment or Deferral of Delinquent Taxes
3.15.0 Application

The owner (or contract owner) of property may apply to the responsible assessing authority,
either the county or the Tax Commission, for an adjustment or deferral of delinquent taxes.
[Section 59-2-1347(1a) & (b)] For the purpose of this standard, taxes include interest, penalties
and any associated costs. Click on the following link to view the form, PT-33 Application for
Settlement or Deferral of Delinquent Property Tax
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3.15.1 Required Information
On application forms approved by the Commission, the applicant shall specify:
o A description of the property including property identification number.
e The value of the property for the current year.
e The amount of delinquent taxes, interest and penalties.
¢ Adequate facts to support eligibility for exemption or deferral.
¢ The amount proposed to be paid in settlement or to be deferred.

¢ Both husband and wife must sign application if seeking relief on a residence in which
they both reside and which they own as joint tenants.

e Any other information required by the county.

Click on the following link to view the form, PT-33 Application for Settlement or Deferral of
Delinquent Property Tax.

3.15.2 Mortgage Holder

If applying for a deferral, the written consent of the holder of any mortgage or trust deed
outstanding on the property must be submitted with the application form. (Section 59-2-1108 &
1347) Click on the following link to view the form, PT-33A Agreement of Lien Holder for Deferral
of Settlement of Delinqguent Taxes.

3.15.3 No Income-producing Assets

If applying for an indigent deferral, a taxpayer may not own income-producing assets that could
be liquidated. (Section 59-2-1108)

3.15.4 Consideration of Transferred Assets

The county legislative body must consider any assets transferred to relatives in the prior three
years when making a decision to defer taxes for the indigent.

3.15.5 Tax Reduction

1. Indigent Abatement — the lesser of (a) the amount provided as a homeowner’s credit for
the lowest household income bracket under Section 59-2-1208 or (b) 50% of the total tax
assessed for the current year. (Section 59-2-1107)

2. Indigent deferral — if the owner of residential property is poor, the county board of
equalization may, after giving notice, defer any tax levied. (Section 59-2-1108)

3. The county legislative body or the Tax Commission may accept less than the full amount
of taxes due or defer all the taxes where, in their judgment, the best human interest and
the interest of the state and the county are served. (Section 59-2-1347)

3.15.6 Interest Rate on Tax Deferral

1. Deferral of taxes for indigent persons on residential property must be recorded as a lien
on the property and bear interest at an interest rate equal to the lesser of 6% or the
target federal funds rate existing on the preceding January. The amount deferred
together with accrued interest shall be due and payable when the property is sold or
otherwise disposed. (Section 59-2-1108)
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2. Taxes deferred, except for an indigent deferral as noted above, must be recorded as a
lien on the property and bear interest at a rate equal to the lesser of 6% or the target
federal funds rate existing on the preceding January. The amount deferred together with
accrued interest shall be due and payable when the property is sold or otherwise
conveyed. (Section 59-2-1347)

3.15.7 Adjustments

Adjustments to taxes for past years may not be made under Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-1347
if the requested adjustment is based only on property valuation. Adjustments can be made only
to taxes levied but unpaid for the five most recent tax years. Adjustments beyond five years may
be granted when taxes remain unpaid as a result of administrative action or litigation. (R884-
24P-41)

3.15.8 Refunds Prohibited
Taxes that have been paid may not be refunded. (R884-24P-41)
3.15.9 Settlement Approval

Any State Tax Commission action to adjust or defer taxes on centrally assessed property,
pursuant to Section 59-2-1347, should be discussed with the county prior to final approval.

3.15.10 Posting Requirement

Under Section 59-2-1347, when the county or the Tax Commission grants a deferral or
adjustment of taxes, notice must be posted in the county where the property is located.

This posting shall contain:
¢ name of the applicant,
e property address and parcel number,
e value of the property for the current year,
e sum of the delinquent taxes, interest, and penalty due, and
e adjusted amount paid or deferred. (Section 59-2-1347)

Click on the following link to view the form, PT-34 Notice to be Posted by County of Delinquent
Property Tax Settlement or Deferral.

3.15.11 Record

Under Section 59-2-1347, at the end of each month, the county is to send a record of all tax
deferral and adjustment actions taken the preceding month to the Tax Commission on a form
approved by the Tax Commission. The Tax Commission is to send a record of its tax deferral
and adjustment actions to the affected county or counties.

Standard 3.16 Notification of Tax Relief Programs and Decision
3.16.0 Notice

The county should develop procedures that provide effective notice to eligible participants of all
available tax relief programs.
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3.16.1 Guideline

The county may notify applicants of the available programs with the “Notice of Property
Valuation and Tax Changes”. [Section 59-2-919] The county may also notify or supply
brochures to senior citizen centers and centers for the blind or handicapped.

3.16.2 Appeal

In the event an applicant is denied an exemption or deferral, except when the denial is based
upon late filing of claim for relief, the county must notify the applicant of the right to appeal to the
Tax Commission. Appeals must be filed within 30 days after the decision. (Section 59-2-1217)

Standard 3.17 Multiple Types of Tax Relief
3.17.0 Multiple Tax Relief

The county may, at its discretion and within statutory guidelines, defer or abate property taxes
for indigent persons. Excluding indigent relief, when an individual is eligible for other types of
statutory tax relief, the individual must be granted all the relief for which he is eligible. For
example, an individual who qualifies for the veteran with a disability exemption, the blind
exemption as well as the circuit breaker must be granted the veteran with a disability exemption
and the blind exemption in addition to the circuit breaker relief.

Standard 3.18 Disclosure of Tax Relief
3.18.0 Tax Notice

The tax notice must show the veteran with a disability and blind exemptions and circuit breaker
and indigent relief as tax credits deducted from taxes charged. (Section 59-2-1317 and R884-
24P-36)

3.18.1 The Order in which Tax Relief is Applied

There may be occasions where a taxpayer's total tax relief will exceed a taxpayer’s total tax
liability. Should this occur, the order in which the relief is applied against the tax liability may
affect county funds, as the circuit breaker credit is reimbursed with state funds and other credits
with county funds. Accordingly, the county may, at its option, first apply the state-reimbursable
circuit breaker credit to the total tax liability, then apply the other applicable credits including the
Section 59-2-1202(7)(c) additional tax abatement for the poor.
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Appendix 3A
Applicable Statutes and Administrative Rules

Statutes

59-2-919 Resolution proposing tax increases

59-2-1104 Definitions — Veteran with a disability exemption — Amount of veteran’s exemption

59-2-1105 Application for veteran with a disability exemption — Rulemaking authority — Statement —
County authority to make refunds

59-2-1106 Exemption of property owned by blind persons or their unmarried surviving spouses or minor
orphans -Amount - Application.

59-2-1107 Indigent persons - Amount of abatement

59-2-1108 Indigent persons - Deferral of taxes — Interest rate treatment of deferred taxes.

59-2-1109 Indigent persons - Deferral, or abatement - Application

59-2-1201 Purpose of Tax Relief

59-2-1202 Definitions (Property Tax Relief)

59-2-1203 Right to file claim — Death of claimant

59-2-1204 Renter's and homeowner’s credits authorized — No interest allowed

59-2-1205 Time for filing claim for renter’s credit

59-2-1206 Application for homeowner’s credit —Time for filing -Payment from General Fund

59-2-1207 Claim applied against tax liability — One claimant per household per year

59-2-1208 Amount of homeowner’s credit —Cost-of-living adjustment —Limitation —General Fund as
source of credit

59-2-1209 Amount of renter’s credit —Cost-of-living adjustment — Limitation — General Fund as source of
credit — Maximum credit

59-2-1211 Forms and instructions

59-2-1213 Statement required of renter claimant

59-2-1214 Redetermination of claim by commission or board.

59-2-1215 Fraudulent or negligently prepared claim - Penalties and interest - Procedures.

59-2-1216 Rented homestead - Rent constituting property taxes.

59-2-1217 Denial of relief - Appeal

59-2-1219 Claim disallowed if residence obtained for purpose of receiving benefits.

59-2-1220 Extension of time for filing claim.

59-2-1317 Index of property owners - Tax notice - Contents of notice.

59-2-1347 Redemption - Adjustment or deferral of taxes
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Administrative Rules

R865-91-34 Property Tax Relief for Individuals Pursuant to U.C.A. Sections 59-2-1201 through
1220.

R884-24P-5 Abatement or Deferral of Property Taxes of Indigent Persons.

R884-24P-36 | Contents of Real Property Tax Notice pursuant to U.C.A. Section 59-21-1317.

R884-24P-41 | Adjustment or Deferral of Property Taxes
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Appendix 3B
Manufactured/Mobile Homeowners Circuit Breaker

Application Processing Guidelines

1. Manufactured/Mobile Home Property Tax “Notice of Property Valuation and Tax
Changes” received by taxpayer.

2. Taxpayer makes application with county.
a. Using state form TC-40CY or county equivalent.
b. Indication of lot rent paid, if any, excluding utilities.

3. County recalculates actual tax due including the additional 20% reduction for circuit
breaker qualified persons.

County calculates circuit breaker and other abatements according to county regulations.

County identifies and notes on application the amount of circuit breaker credit, excluding
other abatements given to customer.

6. Manufactured/mobile homeowners who rent their lot must file Form TC-40CB with USTC
to apply for the renter refund.

County tracks circuit breaker amounts by customer for accounting and reporting.

County submits to the Utah State Tax Commission requests for reimbursement of Circuit
Breaker funds by sending the following:

a. Cover letter should reflect the Reimbursement Year, the Summary of Total Count of
applicants and Grand Total Amount of refunds issued to the counties’
Manufactured/Mobile Homeowners & Homeowners.

b. Attached Printout of all claimants with the following information:
Reimbursement Year
Grand Total Amount of Circuit Breakers to be reimbursed
Grand total Number of Applicants
Social Security Number of Applicant
Spouse Sacial Security Number
Name of each applicant
Spouse Name
Address

9. Utah State Tax Commission compiles information and issues reimbursement to county.
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Manufactured/Mobile Homeowner Circuit Breaker Application

Processing Utah State Tax Commission Guidelines

Most manufactured/mobile homeowners will apply for circuit breaker property tax relief after
their mobile home property tax has been paid. Therefore, special handling is necessary for
mobile home circuit breaker applicants.

In most cases, the following steps should be followed to process mobile home circuit breaker
applications:

Applicant must meet qualifications for circuit break relief.

Identify the fair market value (FMV) from the “Notice of Property Valuation and Tax
Changes.”

Identify the tax rate (TR) from the “Notice of Property Valuation and Tax Changes.”

Calculate the new taxable value (TV) of the mobile home, which is fair market value
multiplied by .035.

Note: All primary residences receive a 45% reduction in fair market value to arrive at
taxable value. Circuit Breaker applicants receive an additional 20% reduction. This totals
65% reduction in fair market value. Or, in other words, the taxable value becomes 35%
of fair market value.

If applicable, grant the veteran with a disability relief (VR).

If applicable, grant the blind relief (BR).

Calculate the new taxable value (NTV): TV-VR-BR = NTV
Calculate the new tax amount (NTA): NTV x TR = NTA
Calculate circuit breaker (CB) relief.

Calculate Tax (T) amount for customer: NTA-CB =T

If applicable, grant indigent relief (IR).

Identify final tax (FT) to be paid by customer: T-IR=FT
Copy application.

Ensure lot rent is noted (without utilities) on application copy.
Ensure amount of circuit breaker granted is noted on application copy.

Send copy of application to the Utah State Tax Commission so USTC can refund the
rent portion.
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Appendix 3C
Forms

To obtain the current forms associated with these standards, go to:
http://propertytax.utah.gov/generalinformation/forms/standards-of-practice-forms

PT-30 Veteran with a Disability Property Tax Exemption Application

PT-31 Blind Persons Property Tax Exemption Application
PT-32 Veteran or Blind Abatement or Motor Vehicle Uniform Fees and Property Tax

PT-33 Application for Settlement of Deferral of Delinquent Property Tax
PT-33A Agreement of Lien Holder for Deferral of Settlement of Delinquent Taxes
PT-34 Notice to be Posted by County of Delinguent Property Tax Settlement or Deferral

TC-40CB Renter Refund Application (Circuit Breaker)
TC-40CY Low Income Abatement and Homeowner's Tax Credit Application

TC-22 Active Duty Armed Forces Property Tax Exemption Application
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http://propertytax.utah.gov/generalinformation/forms/standards-of-practice-forms
http://propertytax.utah.gov/library/pdf/forms/pt-030.pdf
http://propertytax.utah.gov/library/pdf/forms/pt-031.pdf
http://propertytax.utah.gov/library/pdf/forms/pt-032.pdf
http://propertytax.utah.gov/library/pdf/forms/pt-033.pdf
http://propertytax.utah.gov/library/pdf/forms/pt-033a.pdf
http://propertytax.utah.gov/library/pdf/forms/pt-034.pdf
http://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-40cb.pdf
http://propertytax.utah.gov/library/pdf/forms/TC-40cy.pdf
http://propertytax.utah.gov/library/pdf/forms/pt-022.pdf
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Appendix 3D

Travel Voucher or

Subvoucher

TRAVEL VOUCHER OR SUBVOQUCHER

Read Privacy Act Statement, Penalty Statement., and Instructions on back before completing
form. Use typewriter, ink, or ball point pen. PRESS HARD. DO NOT use pencil. If more space
iz needed, continue in remarks.

1. PAYMENT

Electronic Fund
Transfer (EFT)

Payment by Check

SPLIT DISBURSEMENT: The Paying Office will pay directly to the Govemment Travel Change Card [GTCC) contractor the ﬁprtnn of your reimbursement represen-
ting trawel charges for transportation, lodging. and rental car i you are a cwvilian employes, unless you elect a different amount i
designate a payment that equals the total of their outstanding gowermment travel card balance to the GTCC contractor.
NOTE: A splitdisbursemeaent is only necessary when a GTCC is used while on official travel for the Governiment.
Pay the following amount of this reimbursement directly to the Governmment Travel Charge Card contractor:

litary personnel are required to

11. ORGANLIZATION AND STATION

2 NAME (Last, First, Migdle Iniial) (Frint or (ype) 3. GRADE 1 55N 5. TYPE OF PATMENT (X a5 applicabie]
oY MemberEmployes
6. ADDRESS_ = MUMBGER AND STREET B GITY = GTATE 4. ZIP CODE PCs Pa—
Dependent(s) DLA
e. E-MAIL ADDRESS 10. FOR D.O. USE ONLY
" AREA CODE ' NUMEER " ADVAMNCES = 2 0.0 VOUCHER NUMBER

. SUBWOUCHER NUMEBER

[

12. DEFENDENTI(S) [ and complete as applcabie)

ACCOMPAMNIED

UNACCOMPANIED

a MAME (Last, First, Middle Initial)

b. RELATIOMSHIP

© BATRRHTARE

T AAVE ROUS
(X one)

13. DEFENDENTS” ADDRESS ON RECEIFT OF
ORDERS (inciude Zip Code)

PAID BY

o

YES

MO (Explain in Remarks)

d. COMPUTATIONS

5. ITINERARY

a DATE

b PLACE (Home,_Office, Base, Achvity, Gity amd State:
City and Country, efc.)

[ B
REASOMN
FOR
STOP

e.
LODGING
COsST

e. SUMMARY OF PAYMEMNT

ARR

DEF

{1} Per Déam

Actual Expense Allowance

ARR

{3) Mieage

16. POC TRAVEL (X one] | | owniorERATE

| | PassENGER

17. DURATION OF TRAVEL

18. REIMBURSABLE EXFENSES

a DATE

b. NATURE OF EXPENSE

o AMOUNT d_ ALLOWED

12 HOURS OR LESS

MORE THAM 12 HOURS
BUT 24 HOURS OR LESS

MORE THAN 24 HOURS

{4) Dependent Trawel

[5) DLA

{6) Reimbwrsable Expenses

Total

{EB) Less Adwance

{2) Amount Owed

{10) Amouwnt Due

19. GOVERNMENT/DEDUCTIBLE MEALS

a. DATE

b. MNO. OF MEALS

a. DATE b. NO. OF MEALS

20.a. CLAIMANT SIGNATURE b. DATE
c. REVIEWER'S PRINTED MAME d. REVIEWER SIGMNATURE e. TELEFHOME NUMBER f. DATE
21.a. APPROVING OFFICIAL'S PRINTED NAME b. SIGNATURE c. TELEPHOMNE NUMBER d. DATE

22 ACCOUNTING CLASSIFICATION

23 COLLECTION DATA

24 COMPUTED BY 25. AUDITED BY

AUTHORIZATION POSTED BY

27. RECENWED (Fayee Signafure and Dafe or Check No.)

28 AMOUNT PAID

DD FORM 1351-2, MAY 2011

FPREVIOUS EDITION 1S OBSOLETE.

Exception to 5F 1012 approwed ?:m 12-81.
iobe Designer 8.0
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PRIVACY ACT STATEMENT

AUTHORITY: 5 U.5.C. Section 301; Departmental Regulations; 37 U.5.C. Section 404, Travel and Transportation Allowances, General: DoD
Directive 5154.29, DoD Pay and Allowance Policy and Procedures; Department of Defense Financial Management Regulation (DoDFMR) 700014 R,
Volume 9; and E.O. 9397 (SSN), as amended.

PRINCIPAL PURPOSE(S). To provide an automated means for computing reimbursements for individuals for expenses incurred incident to travel for
official Government business purposes and fo account for such payments.
Applicable SORN: T7333 (http/privacy.defense qgov/notices/dfas/T 7333 shtml).

ROUTINE USE(S): Certain "Blanket Routine Uses"” for all Dol maintained systems of records have been established that are applicable to every
record system maintained within the Department of Defense, unless specifically stated othenwise within the pariicular record system notice. These
additional routine uses of the records are published only once in each Dol Component's Preamble in the interest of simplicity, economy, and to avoid

redundancy. Applicable SORN: hitp:i/dpclo defense goviprivacywSORNs/componentidfas/preamble html.

DISCLOSURE: Woluntary; howewver, failure to furnish the requested information may result in total or partial denial of the amount claimed. The
Social Security Number is reguested to facilitate the possible collection of indebtedness or credit to the DoD fraveler's pay account for any residual
or shortage.

PENALTY STATEMENT

There are severe criminal and civil penalties for knowingly submitting a false, fictitious, or fraudulent claim (U.S. Code, Title 18, Sections
287 and 1001 and Title 31, Section 3729).

INSTRUCTIONS
ITEM 1 - PAYMENT ITEM 15 - ITINERARY - SYMBOLS
Member must be on electronic funds (EFT) to participate in split 15c. MEANS/MODE OF TRAVEL (Use two feffers)

disbursement. Split disbursement is a payment method by which

you may elect to pay your official travel card bill and forward the GTR/TKT or CBA (See Note) - T Automobile - A
remaining settlement dollars to your predesignated account. For Government Transportation -G Motorcycle - M
example, $250.00 in the "Amount to Government Travel Charge Commercial Transportation Bus -B
Card” block means that $250.00 of your travel settiement will be pLOwn ﬁrgmfg'j) -C Flane £
electronically sent to the charge card company. Any dollars Conveyance (POC) _p Vessel )

remaining on this settlement will automatically be sent to your
predesignated account. Should you elect to send more dollars than
you are entitled, "all” of the settlement will be forwarded to the
charge card company. Motification: you will receive your regular
maonthly billing statement from the Government Travel Charge Card
contractor; it will state: paid by Government, $250.00, 0 due. If you

Note: Transporiation tickets purchased with a CBA must not be
claimed in Item 18 as a reimbursable expense.

15d. REASON FOR STOP

forwarded less dollars than you owe, the statement will read as: paid Authorized Delay - AD Leave En Route - LY

by Government, $250.00, $15.00 now due. Payment by check is Authorized Return - AR Mission Complete - MG

made to fravelers only when EFT payment is not directed. Awaiting Transportation - AT Temporary Duty -TD
Hospital Admittance - HA Voluntary Retum -VR

REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS Hospital Discharge - HD

1. Original andfor copies of all travel ordersfauthorizations and ITEM 15e. LODGING COST

amendments, as applicable. Enter the total cost for lodgin

2. Two copies of dependent travel authorization if issued. amng.

3. Copies of secretarial approwval of travel if claim concerns parents ITEM 19 - DEDUCTIBLE MEALS

who either did not reside in your household before their travel and/for Meals consumed by a memberfemployee when furmished with or
will not reside in your housenold afier travel. without charge incident to an official assignment by sources other
4. Copy of GTR, MTA or ticket used. . . than a government mess (see JFTR, par. U4125-A3g and JTR, par.
5. Hotelfmote| receipts and any item of expense claimed in an C4354-B for definition of deductible meals). Meals fumished on

amount of $75.00 or more. - . - P ]
o I commercial aircraft or by private individuals are not considered
6. Other attachments will be as directed. deductible meals.

29. REMARKS
a. INDICATE DATES ON WHICH LEAVE WAS TAKEN:

b. ALL UNUSED TICKETS (including identification of unused "e-tickets”) MUST BE TURNED IN TO THE T/O OR CTO.

DD FORM 1351-2 (EACK], MAY 2011
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Deployed Military Tax Exemption Verifying the Deployment Dates

Travel Voucher
DD Form 1351-2

2. Name
*  Matches tax relief application.
* Matches Defense Travel System printout.

4. Last 4 of SSN

*  Matches tax relief application.
*  Matches Defense Travel System printout.

6. Address

*  Matches primary residence.
* There may be a reason that these don't
match, but ask why.

15a. Date

*  Matches application deployment dates.
* Year may be blank. (Sometimes they
forget to fill the year out. Check year on
the Defense Travel System printout.)
* Departure day is the first date .
*  Returnday is the last date on the list.

15h. Place
*  DEP. The first place of departure should —‘

usually be in Utah.

* ARR. The last place of arrival should
usually be in Utah.

TRAVEL VOUCHER OR SUBVOUCHER

form. Lss
s naadad, continus

el PTIVICY A1 SEIEMT,

Sl
. Inl, o bl
In ramarks.

sment, and Inatructions on back bators: compiedl
pén. PRESS HARD. DOMNOT s pencl nmsprgu

1. PAYNENT SOLIT DIEEUREEMENT: Trw Faieg
gt :ru-;e:u-rmmump'&u
Bieciminiz Find a payment it equams the beal of e ruiandh

Ofee ull pary direcsy i # Commment Travsl Chame £
0, B o T e Can AR, LR

Pard [T .

et 3 et oot Uity parsomel e e o
i govammest Tave! v Emance b e (TG conmacky,

o ;nmmzmmmrmqw&?srﬂ:smdemmmmmmz
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01/ DOCUMENT HISTORY |Do¢ Mo, RCOTHERAFGO40613 V01
Defense Tl'&VEl SVStem Defense Travel System |WASHINGTON, GEORGE XXE-XX-6769
Verlflcatlon Of Processlng SEEsEEEEmsasssssSERINNEnlAE -msEEEEESEEESETEEEEEEEAFASSSRSSANSENTSEmsEE=ZEZcaECS
STATUS DATE TINE SIGNATURE NAME
Document Hlstory AR EARANRTEE FRRNANRA GRS, RS S
. . CREATED Ilfzoml 1228 GEQRGE WASHINGION
*  This page shows the processing of the SIGNED 11/20/13 1337 GEORGE WASKINGTON
Travel Voucher. ADJUSTED 11/22/13 1746 JORN ADAMS
. ADJUSTED 11/22/13 1756 JOHN RDAMS
. .
Therel may be addlltllonal pages REVIEWED 11/22/13 1807 JOHN BDAMS
submitted, but this is the important one. OBLIGATED 11/27/13 1551 THOMAS JEFFERSOR
APPROVED 11/27/13 1561 THOMAS JEFFERSON
ADJUSTED 11/27/13 1551 THOMAS TEFFERSON
Name & SSN ADJUSTED 11/27/13 1553 THOMAS JEFFERSON
* Matches tax relief application. PAY LINK 11/27/13 1558 Pay Mod Generated
. OBLIG SUBMITTED 11/27/13 1588 Pay Mod Qenerated
* Matches Travel Voucher. P0S ACK RECEIVED 11/28/13 0313 Pay Mod Generated
VOUCHER SUBMITTED  11/28/13 0313 Pay Mod Generated
Travel Voucher Creation PAID 11/29/13 173 Pay Mod Generated
P ) , ARCHIVE SUBMITTED  11/30/13 1001 Pay Mod Generated
* “Created” date is soon after the end of ARCHIVE ACCEPTED  12/02/13 1304 Pay Mod Generased
deployment travel. (See 15a on Voucher) ARCHIVE IMAGE SUBKIT 12/03/13 0334 Pay Mod Generated
ARCHIVE IMAGE ACCEPT 12/03/13 0352 Pay Mod Generated

* Travel vouchers are supposed to he
turned in Shortly after rEthning home. 1 certify that the electronle signatures listed above are

valid and on file,

Travel Voucher Approval i

* Verify that the travel voucher was SIGHED —
“Approved.”

* You don't need to worry about the other
steps in the travel voucher process.

Signature

*  This willusually be blank. That's okay.

*  This page was printed from an electronic
system, and so won't be signed.
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