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Section IV.]
General Information

Purpose
These standards serve three functions:

1. They compile the uniform fee provisions found in the Utah State Constitution, the Utah
Code Annotated, and the Utah Administrative Code into a single publication;

2. They clarify and interpret the laws where necessary and establish additional procedural
guidelines for administering uniform fees;

3. They provide standards by which statewide uniformity is promoted.

Conformity to standard practices and procedures ensures uniform and equal taxation. County
offices should use these standards as a guide to achieve equity and uniformity in the
administration of the uniform fees.

NOTE: Forms associated with these standards are listed in Appendix D — Referenced Forms
and can be found at the following location:
http://propertytax.utah.gov/generalinformation/forms/standards-of-practice-forms

Constitutional Authority

Article XIllII, Section 2 of the Utah State Constitution provides that: “Tangible personal property
required by law to be registered with the State before it is used on a public highway or
waterway, on public land, or in the air may be exempted from property tax by statute. If the
Legislature, exempts tangible personal property from property tax under this Subsection (6), it
shall provide for the payment of uniform statewide fees or uniform statewide rates of
assessment or taxation on that property in lieu of the property tax. The fair market value of any
property exempted under this Subsection (6) shall be considered part of the State tax base for
determining the debt limitation under Article XIV.”

Legislative Authority

In 1987 the Utah State Legislature enacted legislation providing for a uniform fee in lieu of ad
valorem property taxes on aircraft. (Section 59-2-404) In 1991 the legislature enacted additional
legislation providing for a uniform fee in lieu of ad valorem property taxes on most other
“tangible personal property required to be registered with the state before it is used on a public
highway, on a public waterway, on public land, or in the air.” (Section 59-2-405) Effective
January 1, 1999, the legislature enacted what has become known as the “age- based” uniform
fee which is an annual fee based on the age of the vehicle for motor vehicles under 12,000
pounds. (Section 59-2-405.1)

Effective January 1, 2006, the legislature enacted “age-based” uniform fees on primarily
recreational vehicles and vessels (boats); i.e., ATV’s, campers, motorcycles (both on road and
off road), non-commercial trailers, personal watercraft, small motor vehicles, snowmobiles, tent
and travel trailers and vessels less than 31 feet in length. (Section 59-2-405.2) The fees are
imposed based on age, except in the case of vessels, where the fee is imposed based on the
length and the age of the vessel. Procedures are provided for measuring the length of vessels
for the purpose of imposing uniform statewide fees.
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Effective January 1, 2009, the legislature replaced the value-based uniform fees for aircraft with
a uniform fee of $25, which is to be distributed to taxing entities. Also, it amended the
registration fee for aircraft to .4% of the average wholesale Aircraft Bluebook Price Digest
market value. The registration money goes into the Transportation Fund’s Restricted Renewal
account.

Definitions
Acquisition cost

“All costs required to put an item into service, including purchase price, freight and shipping
costs; installation, engineering, erection or assembly costs; and excise and sales taxes.” Indirect
costs such as debugging, licensing fees and permits, insurance or security are not included in
the acquisition cost. (R884-24P-33)

Actual cost

Includes “the value of components necessary to complete the vehicle, such as tanks, mixers,
special containers, passenger compartments, special axles, installation, engineering, erection,
or assembly costs. Actual cost does not include sales or excise taxes, maintenance contracts,
registration and license fees, dealer charges, tire tax, freight, or shipping costs.” (R884-24P-33)

Aerial applicator

An “aircraft or rotorcraft used exclusively for the purpose of engaging in dispensing activities
directly affecting agriculture or horticulture with an airworthiness certificate from the Federal
Aviation Administration certifying the aircraft or rotor craft’s use for agricultural and pest control
purposes.” (Section 59-2-102)

Aircraft

Means any contrivance now known or in the future invented, used or designed for navigation of
or flight in the air (Section 72-10-102).

All-Terrain Vehicle

A motor vehicle that is an: all-terrain type | or Il vehicle as defined in Section 41-22-2; is
required to be registered in accordance with Title 41, Chapter 22, “Off-Highway Vehicles”; has
an engine with more than 100 cubic centimeters displacement; a motor that produces more than
five horsepower; or an electric motor. “All-terrain vehicle” does not include a snowmobile.
(Section 59-2-405.2)

Antique vehicle
See “vintage vehicle”.
Attached Equipment

“Any machinery or equipment that can function only when attached to or used in conjunction
with motor vehicles or state-assessed commercial vehicles.” (R884-24P-60) This equipment is
generally associated with a medium or heavy duty truck. Examples include cement mixers,
wreckers, ambulance boxes, drill rigs, dumpers, cranes, etc. See Standard of Practice 4.2.1 for
a brief discussion of the assessment of attached equipment.

Camper

“Any structure designed, used, and maintained primarily to be mounted on or affixed to a motor
vehicle that contains a floor and is designed to provide a mobile dwelling, sleeping place,
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commercial space, or facilities for human habitation or for camping.” (Section 41-1a-102), and
that is required to be registered.

Canoe

“A vessel that is long and narrow; has curved sides; and is tapered to two pointed ends; or to
one pointed end and is blunt on the other end; and includes a collapsible inflatable canoe; a
kayak; a racing shell; or a rowing scull.

Commercial Vehicle

“A motor vehicle, trailer, or semi trailer used or maintained for the transportation of persons or
property that operates: (a) as a carrier for hire, compensation, or profit; or (b) as a carrier to
transport the vehicle owner’s goods or property in furtherance of the owner’'s commercial
enterprise.” (Section 41-1a-102)

Cost new

“The manufacturer’s suggested retail price or the actual cost of the property when purchased
new. For property purchased used, the taxing authority may establish the cost new. (R884-24P-
33)

County-assessed commercial vehicle

a) “any commercial vehicle, trailer, or semi trailer which is not apportioned under Section
41- 1a-301 and is not operated interstate to transport the vehicle owner’s goods or
property in furtherance of the owner’'s commercial enterprise;

b) any passenger vehicle owned by a business and used by its employees for
transportation as a company car or van pool vehicle; and

c) vehicles which are:

a. Especially constructed for towing or wrecking, and which are not otherwise used to
transport goods, merchandise, or people for compensation;

Used or licensed as taxicabs or limousines;

Used as rental passenger cars, travel trailers, or motor homes;

Used or licensed in this state for use as ambulances or hearses;

Especially designed and used for garbage and rubbish collection;
or

Used exclusively to transport students or their instructors to or from any private,
public, or religious school or school activities.” (Section 59-2-102)

Dealer

“A person engaged or licensed to engage in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging new
or used vehicles, vessels, or outboard motors either outright or on conditional sale, bailment,
lease, chattel mortgage, or otherwise or who has an established place of business for the sale,
lease, trade, or display of vehicles, vessels, or outboard motors.” (Section 41-1a-102)

Domicile

Domicile means a person’s principal place of abode or a corporation’s principal place of
business. Only one principal place of abode or business may be established for purposes of the
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uniform fee, and it must coincide with the legal residence designated for such purposes as
income tax filing, public education benefits, and/or driver license issuance.

Farm machinery and equipment

For purposes of the exemption provided under Section 59-2-1101, this means “tractors, milking
equipment and storage and cooling facilities, feed handling equipment, irrigation equipment,
harvesters, choppers, grain drills and planters, tillage tools, scales, combines, spreaders,
sprayers, haying equipment, and any other machinery or equipment used primarily for
agricultural purposes; but does not include vehicles required to be registered with the Motor
Vehicle Division or vehicles or other equipment used for business purposes other than farming.”
(Section 59-2-102)

Fleet

A fleet is composed of one or more commercial vehicles. (Section 41-1a-102)
Horseless carriage

See “vintage vehicle”.

Implement of husbandry

A vehicle designed or adapted and used exclusively for an agricultural operation and only
incidentally operated or moved on the highway. (Section 41- 1a-102)

Interstate vehicle

“Any commercial vehicle operated in more than one state, province, territory, or possession of
the United States or foreign country.” (Section 41-1a-102)

Inventory

Those new or used vehicles, vessels, or outboard motors held by a dealer for sale, trade, or
display.

Jon boat
A vessel that has a square bow and has a flat bottom.
Motor vehicle

“A self-propelled vehicle intended primarily for use and operation on the highways. It does not
include an off-highway vehicle.” (Section 41-1a-102)

Motorboat

“Any vessel propelled by machinery, whether or not the machinery is the principle source of
propulsion.” (Section 73-18-2)

MSRP

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price
NADA

National Automobile Dealers Association
Off-highway implement of husbandry

“Every all-terrain type | vehicle, motorcycle, or snowmobile which is used by the owner or his
agent for agricultural operations.” (Section 41-22-2)
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Off-highway vehicle

“Any snowmobile, all-terrain type | vehicle, all-terrain type Il vehicle or motorcycle. (Section 41-
22-2)

Other Motorcycle

A motor vehicle that is a motorcycle as defined in Section 41-1a-102 and designed primarily for
use and operation over unimproved terrain, is required to be registered and has an engine with
more than 100 cubic centimeters displacement; or a motor that produces more than five
horsepower. (Section 59-2-405.2)

Other Trailer (non commercial)

A portable vehicle, without motive power, that is primarily used to transport tangible personal
property. (Section 59-2-405.2)

Outboard Motor

A detachable self-contained propulsion unit, excluding fuel supply, used to propel a vessel.
(Section 59-2-405.2)

Percent good

“An estimate of value, expressed as a percentage, based on a property’s acquisition cost or
cost new, adjusted for depreciation and appreciation of all kinds.

a) The percent good factor is applied against the acquisition cost or the cost new to derive
taxable value for the property.

b) Percent good schedules are derived from an analysis of the Internal Revenue Service
Class Life, the Marshall and Swift Cost Index, and vehicle valuation guides such as
NADA.” (R884-24P-33)

Personal Watercraft

A motorboat that is less than 16 feet in length; propelled by a water jet pump; designed to be
operated by a person sitting, standing, or kneeling on the vessel, rather than sitting or standing
inside the vessel and is required to be registered. (Section 59-2-405.2)

Pontoon

A vessel that is supported by one or more floats and propelled by either inboard or outboard
power and is not a houseboat or a collapsible inflatable vessel.

Recreational vehicle

“A vehicular unit other than a mobile home, primarily designed as a temporary dwelling for
travel, recreational, or vacation use, which is either self propelled or pulled by another vehicle.
Recreational vehicle includes a travel trailer, a camping trailer, a motor home, and a fifth wheel
trailer. It does not include a van unless specifically designed or modified for use as a temporary
dwelling.” (R884-24P-61)

Sailboat

“Any vessel having one or more sails and propelled by wind.” (Section 73-18-2)
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Salvage vehicle

A salvage vehicle is a vehicle with a salvage certificate of title or branded title, as set forth in
Sections 41-1a-1004 through 41-1a-1006 of the Utah Code Annotated.

Situs
Situs is the tax area in which property is located for assessment purposes.
Small Motor Vehicle

A motor vehicle that is required to be registered and has an engine with 100 or less cubic
centimeters displacement or a motor that produces five of less horsepower. (Section 59-2-
405.2)

Snowmobile

Any motor vehicle designed for travel on snow or ice and steered and supported in whole or in
part by skis, belts, cleats, runners, or low-pressure tires, is required to be registered and has an
engine with more than 100 cubic centimeters displacement or a motor that produces more than
five horsepower. (Section 59-2-405.2)

State-assessed commercial vehicle

a) any commercial vehicle, trailer, or semi trailer which operates interstate or intrastate to
transport passengers, freight, merchandise, or other property for hire; or

b) any commercial vehicle, trailer, or semi trailer which operates interstate and transports
the vehicle owner’s goods or property in furtherance of the owner’'s commercial
enterprise. “State-assessed commercial vehicle” does not include vehicles used for hire
which are specified as county-assessed commercial vehicles. (Section 59-2-102) See
Standard of Practice 4.2.1, for a brief discussion of the assessment of these vehicles.

Street Motorcycle

A motor vehicle, having a saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than
three wheels in contact with the ground, is required to be registered and designed primarily for
use and operation on highways and has an engine with more than 100 cubic centimeters or a
motor that produces more than five horsepower. (Section 59-2-405.2)

Trailer (Commercial)

For purposes of these standards, this includes both “trailer” and “semi trailer”. Both are
designed to be pulled behind a motor vehicle and have no power of their own. (Section 41- 1a-
102)

Tent Trailer

A portable vehicle without motive power that is constructed with collapsible side walls that fold
for towing by a motor vehicle and unfold at a campsite; is designed as a temporary dwelling for
travel, recreational, or vacation use and is required to be registered and does not require a
special highway movement permit when drawn by a self-propelled motor vehicle. (Section 59-2-
405.2)

Travel Trailer

A “travel trailer,” or “fifth wheel trailer” is a portable vehicle without motive power, designed as a
temporary dwelling for travel, recreational, or vacation use that does not require a special
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highway movement permit when drawn by a self-propelled motor vehicle and required to be
registered. “Travel trailer” does not include a camper or a tent trailer. (Section 59-2-405.2)

Truck camper
See “camper”.
Utility boat

A vessel that has two or three bench seating; an outboard motor; and a hull made of aluminum,
fiberglass, or wood; and does not have decking; a permanent canopy; or a floor other than the
hull. A utility boat does not include a collapsible inflatable vessel.

Vehicle

“Includes a motor vehicle, trailer, semi trailer, off-highway vehicle, manufactured home, and
mobile home.” (Section 41-1a-102)

Vessel

“Every type of water craft, other than a seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as
a means of transportation on water,” also including an outboard motor of the vessel. (Section
59-2-405.2)

Vintage vehicle

Formerly called “antique vehicle” or “horseless carriage”. This means “a motor vehicle that is 40
years old or older, from the current year, primarily a collector’s item, and used for participation in
club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades, occasional transportation, and similar uses, but that is
not used for general daily transportation.” (Section 41-21-1)
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Section IV.II
Standards of Practice

Standard 4.1  Property Subject To The Uniform Fee
4.1.0 Subject Property

The following broad classes of personal property are subject to a uniform fee in lieu of ad
valorem property tax:

e Aircraft that is required to be registered with the state (meet FAA requirements for
registration). Registered Aircraft are subjected to a uniform fee of $25.

o Passenger cars, light trucks, sport utility vehicles and vans are subject to an age based
uniform fee.

e Motor homes are subject to a uniform fee of 1% of taxable value.

e Street motorcycles are subject to an age-based fee.

e Scooters and mopeds defined as small motor vehicles are subject to an age based fee.
e Travel trailers, including 5th wheel type travel trailers are subject to an age-based fee.
e Truck campers and tent trailers are subject to an age-based fee.

e Commercial Trailers weighing more than 750 pounds including cargo utility trailers
converter gears, horse and stock trailers used for commercial purposes are subject to a
uniform fee of 1.5% of taxable value.

e County-assessed commercial vehicles (medium and heavy duty trucks) are subject to a
uniform fee of 1.5 % of taxable value.

e Vessels (including boat motors) under 31 feet in length are subject to age and length
based fees.

e Personal watercraft is subject to an age-based fee.

o Off-highway recreational vehicles including Moto Cross (MX) motorcycles, racing
motorcycles, Endro Motorcycles, trail motorcycles; all terrain vehicles and snowmobiles
are subject to an age based fee.

e Any other tangible personal property that is required by law to be registered with the
state before it is used on a public highway, public waterway, or public land, and that is
not specifically excluded by Section 59-2-405(1),(2) Utah Code Annotated or R884-24P-
60 and R884-24P-61.

4.1.1 Different Uniform Fees

It is important to recognize that there are three different uniform fees. Most Utah motor vehicles
are subject to either an age-based uniform fee or a 1.5 percent uniform fee that must be paid
before the vehicle can be registered in Utah. In addition, aircraft are subject to a different
uniform fee that must be paid prior to registration in Utah. The three types of uniform fees, which
will be addressed in this standard, are the following:

1) Age-based statewide uniform fees
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2) Value—based statewide uniform fees

3) Aircraft uniform fee

Standard 4.2 Property Not Subject To The Uniform Fee
4.2.0 Not Subject to the Uniform Fee

Property that is not subject to either the age-based or value-aged uniform fee is either subject to
ad valorem property tax or exempt.

4.2.1 Subject to Ad Valorem Property Tax

The following classes of personal property are not subject to the uniform fees, but are subject to
ad valorem property tax:

¢ Vintage vehicles;

e State-assessed commercial vehicles that weigh 12,001 pounds or more;
e Mobile and manufactured homes;

e Attached equipment;

e Any personal property not required to be registered and also not exempt. (R884-24P-60
and R884-24P-61)

State Assessed Commercial Vehicles

State assessed commercial vehicles weighing 12,001 pounds or more, as defined in Section 59-
2-102 of the Utah Code, are exempt from uniform fees. The UTC assesses and collects
property tax on state-assessed commercial vehicles at the time of original registration and/or
annual renewal. Owners of state-assessed commercial vehicles need to contact the Motor
Carrier Services Unit located at the State Tax Commission Building at 210 N 1950 W, SLC
regarding their property assessment and property tax. Companies will need to register their
vehicles as either intrastate fleets or IRP apportioned vehicles through the Motor Carrier
Services Unit. State-assessed commercial vehicles brought into the state, which are required to
be registered in Utah, are to pay ad valorem tax unless all property taxes or fees imposed by
the state of origin have been paid for the current calendar year. These vehicle are taxed at a
statewide average property tax rate, which is calculated from the overall county average tax
rates from the preceding year, excluding property subject to the statewide uniform fee, weighted
by lane miles of principal routes in each county. [Section 59-2- 801(2)] All real property,
improvements, equipment, fixtures, or other personal property located in the state owned by the
state assessed commercial vehicle company are to be assessed separately by the local county
assessor.

Under Title 49, Section 11503 of the United States Code (commonly referred to as the 4R Act),
state and local authorities cannot assess protected motor carrier property at a higher
assessment level than other commercial and industrial property in the same assessment
jurisdiction. The 4R Act protects property “that is used directly and exclusively in commercial
vehicle activities . . .” State assessed commercial vehicle assessments are sometimes entitled
to federal mandated property tax relief. The State Tax Commission “shall adjust the value of
state- assessed commercial vehicles as necessary to comply with Title 49, Section 11503 of the
United States Code, and the Commission shall direct the county assessor to apply the same
adjustment to any personal property, real property or improvements owned by the company and
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used directly and exclusively in their commercial vehicle activities.” [Section 59-2-201(2) (d)]
The Property Tax Division will annually determine if federal mandated relief is necessary and
calculate the federal relief adjustment. The Property Tax Division will then notify the Motor
Carrier Services Unit of the federal relief adjustment to be made on state assessed commercial
vehicles. The Property Tax Division will also notify county assessors of the federal relief
adjustment to be made on the personal property, real property or improvements of companies
registering state-assessed commercial vehicles.

The revenue collected from all state-assessed commercial vehicles is to be apportioned
guarterly to the counties based upon a formula consisting of 40% lane miles of principal routes
within each county and 60% total state-assessed vehicles having business situs in each county.
The county is to apportion its share of the revenues to the taxing entities within its boundaries in
the same proportion as other real and personal property.

Noncommercial Trailers Weighing Less than 750 Pounds

Utah law does not require registration for trailers weighing 750 pounds or less. Commercial
trailers weighing less than 750 pounds, but not registered, should be reported by the owner on
the personal property statement filed annually with the assessor. There is no efficient way to
equitably and uniformly assess honcommercial trailers unless they are required to be registered.

Manufactured/Mobile Homes

County assessors are allowed latitude in classifying manufactured/mobile homes as real or
personal property. They may assess manufactured/mobile homes in the same manner as real
property depending upon what they feel would be the best approach to arrive at fair market
value in their particular jurisdiction. Because manufactured/mobile home markets generally
correlate to real estate markets, the assessor should look at what sales data may be available
to value these homes. Valuation services such as NADA and Marshall Swift are available to
assessors if the use of these guides assists the assessor to arrive at the fair market value of
manufactured/mobile homes.

The Manufacturing/Mobile Home Housing Standards of Practice provides a reference to
accepted procedures for assessment/appraisal of manufactured/mobile homes classified as
either “real property” or “personal property”.

Attached Equipment

Attached equipment means any machinery or equipment that can function only when attached
to or used in conjunction with motor vehicles or personal property. (R884-24P-60 and R884-
24P-61) This equipment is generally attached to a medium or heavy-duty truck and is not a part
of the vehicle nor does it contribute to the vehicle as a transportation device. Examples include
cement mixers, wreckers, ambulance boxes, drill rigs, dumpers, cranes, etc. Attached
equipment is not subject to the uniform fee, but to ad valorem property tax. The property owner
should list the attached equipment on the annual personal property statement filed with the
assessor.

Sometimes it is easy to confuse what components of a medium or heavy-duty truck are subject
to the uniform fees and those components which are subject to the local ad valorem property
tax rate.

o Components Subject to Uniform Fees

A “complete” medium or heavy-duty truck consists of components necessary to make the
vehicle a transportation device over public highways or off-road terrain. These components
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include a chassis, cab, engine, transmission, axles and all other gear to enable the vehicle to
operate for its intended use. Iltems mounted onto or included with the chassis to transport cargo
or passengers are part of the vehicle. Components which contribute to the vehicle as a
transportation device include (but not limited to), cargo vans, platform beds, racks, dumps,
tanks, livestock beds, gondolas, etc.

e Components Subject to Ad Valorem Rate

Not included in the definition of a “complete” medium or heavy duty truck is machinery and or
equipment which operates independently of the vehicle even though it is attached to the vehicle.
Such equipment does not contribute to the vehicle as a transportation device and can be
removed from the vehicle without disabling it. Such components would include: cranes, plows,
lifts, pumps, compressors or generators, etc.

4.2.2 Exempt

Personal property that is exempted by Article XIII, Section 3 of the Utah State Constitution is
exempt from the uniform fee, in addition to being exempt from ad valorem property tax. (See
Property Tax Exemption Standards) Constitutionally exempt personal property includes (1)
publicly-owned property; (2) property used exclusively for nonprofit religious, charitable, or
educational purposes; (3) farm equipment and machinery (implements of husbandry); and (4)
inventories (not applicable for the age-based uniform fees). (Utah Constitution Article XIlI,
Section 3)

e “Farm equipment and machinery,” defined in Section 59-2-102, Utah Code Annotated, is
exempt from property tax if the claimant owned the property as of January 1 of the year
the exemption is claimed. “Farm equipment” includes “implements of husbandry such as
trucks or other vehicles which are designed or adapted and used exclusively for an
agricultural operation and only incidentally moved on the highway.” Such vehicles are
exempt from the uniform fee and ad valorem tax. However, if a farm vehicle is registered
to be used on public roads and lands, it is not exempt from the uniform fee.

o “Every all-terrain type | vehicle, motorcycle, or snowmobile [that] is used by the owner or
his agent for agricultural operations” is an off-highway implement of husbandry (Section
41-22-2) and is exempt if it is never “used for recreational purposes on public lands,
trails, streets, or highways.” (Section 41-22-5.5)

4.2.3 Other Exempt Vehicles
Situations that require the exemption from payment of property taxes or uniform fees are:

¢ Vehicles owned by a Native American who is an enrolled tribal member living on that
tribe’s reservation.

e Vehicles owned by non-resident military member (including spouse), based in Utah.

¢ Vehicles owned by Utah military personnel based out of state and the vehicle is
maintained out of state. (R884-24P-60 and R884-24P-61)

4.2.4 Vehicles Owned or Leased by Government Entities

All vehicles owned by government entities are exempt from the uniform fee. However, if the
government entity leases a vehicle, then the lessor must pay the uniform fee on the vehicle,
unless the lessor is otherwise exempt.
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4.2.5 Dealer Inventories

As of January 1, 1999 the dealer inventory exemption no longer applies to age-based uniform
fee vehicles (passenger cars, light trucks including sport utility vehicles and vans). As of
January 1, 2006, the dealer inventory exemption no longer applies to the “age-based” uniform
fees on primarily recreation vehicles and vessels. However, inventory (subject to the 1.5%
uniform fees), which is held for sale by dealers as of January 1st, is exempt from the 1.5%
uniform fee. Prior to January 1st, assessors should send “Dealer Inventory Statements,” (see
Appendix 4D) to appropriate dealers. These statements, to be filed before January 5th, will
identify which vehicles are exempt from the 1.5% uniform fee based on the inventory exemption.

A 1.5% uniform fee vehicle that is registered in Utah and which becomes a part of a dealer’s
inventory by way of trade is not eligible for the 1.5% uniform fee inventory exemption for the
year in which the trade occurs.

Example

A motor home is traded in on March 1, and the registration renewal is due in July. The vehicle is
subject to the 1.5% uniform fee for that year regardless of whether the vehicle is resold during
the year.

The 1.5% uniform fee vehicles brought from outside Utah directly into dealer inventory are
considered exempt from the 1.5% uniform fee no matter when during the year the vehicle is
acquired by the dealer. However, a non-Utah registered vehicle traded to a dealer by a Utah
resident is subject to the 1.5% uniform fee for the current year.

Standard 4.3 Age-Based Statewide Uniform Fees
4.3.0 How the Age-Based Statewide Uniform Fee Is Determined

Age-based uniform fees are determined simply by the age of the vehicle. For example, the age
of a passenger car is determined by subtracting the vehicle model year from the current
calendar year. (R334-24P-60)

4.3.1 Age-Based Statewide Uniform Fees on Passenger Vehicles and Light Trucks

There is levied annual statewide uniform fees in lieu of the ad valorem tax on motor vehicles
required to be registered with the state that weigh 12,000 pounds or less and state-assessed
commercial vehicles required to be registered with the state that weigh 12,000 pounds or less.
(Section 59-2-405.1) Passenger vehicles, light trucks, sport utility vehicles and vans subject to
the age-based uniform fee are described by the following class codes on the Motor Vehicle File:

o Passenger cars: 2D - domestic automobile and 2F — foreign automobile.
e Light trucks, including passenger utility vehicles: 2T.
e Passenger Vans: 2V.

The following table determines the appropriate age-based uniform fee for passenger vehicles,
light trucks, sport utility vehicles and vans: (Section 59-2-405.1)

Age of Vehicle Age-Based Fee
Less than 3 years $150
3 or more years but less than 6 years $110
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6 or more years but less than 9 years $80
9 or more years but less than 12 years $50
12 or more years $10

4.3.2 Age-Based Uniform Statewide Fee Table for Off Highway Recreational
Vehicles (all-terrain vehicles, other motorcycles and snowmobiles)

The following table determines the appropriate age-based uniform fee for off highway
recreational vehicles: (Section 59-2-405.2)

Age of Off Highway Vehicle Age-Based Fee
Less than 3 years $45
3 or more years but less than 6 years $35
6 or more years but less than 9 years $30
9 or more years but less than 12 years $20
12 or more years $10

4.3.3 Age-Based Uniform Statewide Fee Table for Street Motorcycles

The following table determines the appropriate age-based uniform fee for street motorcycles:
(Section 59-2-405.2)

Age of Street Motorcycle Age-Based Fee
Less than 3 years $95
3 or more years but less than 6 years $70
6 or more years but less than 9 years $50
9 or more years but less than 12 years $35
12 or more years $10

4.3.4 Age-Based Uniform Statewide Fee Table for Travel Trailers

The following table determines the appropriate age-based uniform fee for travel trailers including
5th wheels: (Section 59-2-405.2)

Age of Travel Trailer Age-Based Fee
Less than 3 years $175
3 or more years but less than 6 years $135
6 or more years but less than 9 years $90
9 or more years but less than 12 years $65
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12 or more years $20

4.3.5 Age-Based Uniform Statewide Fee Table for Truck Campers and Tent
Trailers

The following table determines the appropriate age-based uniform fee for truck campers and
tent trailers: (Section 59-2-405.2)

Age of Camper or Tent Trailer Age-Based Fee
Less than 3 years $70
3 or more years but less than 6 years $50
6 or more years but less than 9 years $35
9 or more years but less than 12 years $25
12 or more years $10

4.3.6 Age-Based Uniform Statewide Fee Table for Other (hon-commercial) Trailers

The following table determines the appropriate age-based uniform fee for other trailers (non-
commercial): (Section 59-2-405.2)

Age of Other Trailer Age-Based Fee
Less than 3 years $30
3 or more years but less than 6 years $25
6 or more years but less than 9 years $20
9 or more years but less than 12 years $15
12 or more years $10

4.3.7 Age-Based Uniform Statewide Fee Table for Small Motor Vehicles

The following table determines the appropriate age-based uniform fee for small motor vehicles
(scooters and mopeds): (Section 59-2-405.2)

Age of Vehicle Age-Based Fee
Less than 3 years $25
3 or more years but less than 6 years $15
6 or more years but less than 9 years $10

4.3.8 Age-Based Uniform Statewide Fee Table for Personal Watercraft

The following table determines the appropriate age-based uniform fee for personal watercraft:
(Section 59-2-405.2)
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Age of Personal Water Craft
Less than 3 years
3 or more years but less than 6 years
6 or more years but less than 9 years
9 or more years but less than 12 years

12 or more years

Age-Based Fee
$55
$45
$35
$25
$10

4.3.9 Age-Based Uniform Statewide Fee Table for Vessels 31 Feet or Less in

Length

For vessels such as canoes, jon boats or utility boats which are less than 15 feet in length, the
age-based uniform fee is $10 regardless of age. The following tables determine the appropriate

uniform fee for vessels: (Section 59-2-405.2)

Collapsible inflatable vessel, pontoon or sailboat, regardless of age:

Length of Vessel
15 feet or more in length but less than 19 feet
19 feet or more in length but less than 23 feet
23 feet or more in length but less than 27 feet

27 feet or more in length but less than 31 feet

Age-Based Fee
$15
$25
$40
$75

Vessels 15 feet or more in length but less than 19 feet

Length of Vessel
Less than 3 years
3 or more years but less than 6 years
6 or more years but less than 9 years
9 or more years but less than 12 years

12 or more years

Age-Based Fee
$150
$110
$80
$65
$25

Vessels 19 feet or more in length but less than 23 feet

Length of Vessel

Less than 3 years

Age-Based Fee
$275
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3 or more years but less than 6 years $220
6 or more years but less than 9 years $175
9 or more years but less than 12 years $120
12 or more years $50

Vessels 23 feet or more in length but less than 27 feet

Length of Vessel Age-Based Fee
Less than 3 years $400
3 or more years but less than 6 years $310
6 or more years but less than 9 years $240
9 or more years but less than 12 years $120
12 or more years $100

Vessels 27 feet or more in length but less than 31 feet

Length of Vessel Age-Based Fee
Less than 3 years $700
3 or more years but less than 6 years $500
6 or more years but less than 9 years $350
9 or more years but less than 12 years $250
12 or more years $120

4.3.10 When Is the Fee Paid

The age-based uniform fee is assessed and collected every time the vehicle is registered. This
would include the initial purchase (new vehicles with MSQO'’s), and at each subsequent renewal
or registration - even though it may fall within the same calendar year. However, no prior year
property tax is collected on an expired registration. For example, if a vehicle was last registered
in 1999 and taxpayer desires to register that vehicle in 2006, only 2006 property taxes will be
collected.

Age-based fee is due when a true ownership change takes place such as when John buys
Mary’s car or Bob receives title to his brother’s car as a result of his brother’s will. No age-
based fee is due if true ownership does not change as illustrated in the following examples:

Survivorship

If a surviving spouse, child, or parent properly claims title to a vehicle, regardless of whether
they are listed on the original title, no age-based fee is charged unless it is in conjunction with
the annual renewal. If one of the titled owners of a vehicle dies, the surviving titled owner is not
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charged the age-based fee when he or she requests a new title, unless it is in conjunction with
the annual renewal.

Name Change

If a vehicle owner’s name is legally changed or another name is added or deleted - no age-base
fee is charged unless it is in conjunction with the annual renewal. Also, if title is transferred to a
trust or general partnership but the person transferring the title retains the right to sell or convey
the vehicle, no age- based fee is charged. Note: If a name is added or deleted because one or
more of the titled owners is buying or selling their interest in the vehicle, the age-based fee is
due because the ownership is changing rather than just a name change.

Plate Transfers

Plate transfers to a vehicle not previously owned by the customer are considered new
registrations and the age-based fee is due for the vehicle to which the plate is being transferred.
The customer is allowed the option of renewing the registration or keeping the same expiration
date. Plate transfers between vehicles already owned by the customer do not require the age-
based fee.

4.3.11 Dealer Trade-Ins

When a vehicle subject to the age-based uniform fee is traded in to a dealer, the dealer collects
no age-based uniform fee from the current owner. The age- based uniform fee will be collected
from the buyer and paid to the motor vehicle office when registration occurs.

When a dealer has a age-based fee vehicle for sale from another state, the dealer is required to
pay the appropriate fees at the time of registration, unless the dealer provides evidence that all

property taxes or fees imposed by the other state have been paid for the current year. Note: The
age-based fee is not exempted based on the vehicle being in a dealer’s inventory on January 1.

4.3.12 New Residents

When a person or business establishes Utah residency and brings into Utah a vehicle from
another state, they are required to pay the appropriate fees, at the time of registration, unless
they can show evidence that all property taxes or fees imposed by the other state have been
paid for the current year.

4.3.13 Exemptions

People owning age-based uniform fee vehicles are still eligible for property tax exemptions even
though these vehicles are no longer assessed or taxed based upon value. Section 59-2-405 (2)
(b) states: “The following tangible personal property is exempt from the statewide uniform fee
imposed by this section: . . .(iv) personal property that is exempt from state or county ad
valorem property taxes under the laws of this state or of the federal government.” Therefore,
passenger cars, light trucks, sport utility vehicles, vans, etc. owned by non-profit organizations
and which are used exclusively for religious, charitable or educational purposes as well as
publicly-owned property and farm equipment and machinery-all qualify for exemption from the
age-based uniform fee.

4.3.14 Blind Exemption

An age-based uniform fee vehicle owned and titled to a person who qualifies for the blind
exemption under Section 59-2-1106 is eligible for the $11,500 of taxable value exemption. To
compute the blind exemption since age-based uniform fee vehicles are no longer valued, divide
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the fee amount by .015 (1.5%). For example, if the uniform fee is $150 on the age-based
vehicle, the value is computed by dividing $150 by .015, which yields a value of $10,000.

4.3.15 Veteran with a Disability Exemption

Beginning January 1, 2006, qualifying property for a veteran with a disability can be a residence
(except for a rented dwelling), tangible personal property or a combination of the two. To
compute the veteran with a disability exemption since age-based uniform fee vehicles are no
longer valued, divide the fee amount by .015 (1.5%) as illustrated under the blind exemption
(Standard of Practice 4.3.14).

See sample form PT-32, “Veteran or Blind Abatement of Motor Vehicle Uniform Fees and
Property Tax”, in Appendix 3D of the Tax Relief and Abatement Standards of Practice.

4.3.16 Appeals

If a customer believes his vehicle should be identified as an age-based uniform fee vehicle as
opposed to a 1.5% uniform fee vehicle because the vehicle’s weight is 12,000 Ibs or less, even
though it does not seem to fit the definition of an age-based vehicle, he should be referred to the
county assessor. It is possible for an owner to have a vehicle reclassified as an age-based
vehicle by appealing to the local county assessor. If the vehicle is a state-assessed vehicle, the
appeal to reclassify the vehicle as an age-based vehicle will need to be addressed to the Utah
State Tax Commission. The filing of an appeal does not extend the registration period. All fees
must be paid to obtain or renew a registration. If the appeal is successful, the county assessor
or State Tax Commission will refund the dollar amount difference to the customer.

Standard 4.4 Value-Based Statewide Uniform Fee
4.4.0 Subject Property

There is levied an annual statewide uniform fee in lieu of the ad valorem tax; vehicles subject to
the value-based uniform fee are the following vehicles: (Section 59-2-405)

¢ Heavy and medium duty trucks subject to a uniform fee of 1.5% of taxable value;
¢ Motor homes subject to a uniform fee of 1% of taxable value;

o Commercial trailers weighing more than 750 pounds subject to a uniform fee of 1.5% of
taxable value;

o Vessels 31 feet or more in length (yachts and houseboats) subject to a uniform fee of
1.5% of taxable value;

e Any other tangible personal property that is required by law to be registered with the
state before it is used on a public highway, public waterway, or public land, and that is
not specifically excluded by Section 59-2-405.1 and 59-2-405.2 or R884-24P-60 and
R884-24P-61.

4.4.1 The Uniform Fee Based on Value

The value-based uniform fee is based on the value of the vehicle as of January 1 of the year for
which it is being registered. The uniform fee is calculated using the Depreciated Cost New
(DCN) method. The taxable value of a vehicle is determined by multiplying the original MSRP
(manufacturers suggested retail price) of a vehicle by the percent good factor for the vehicle’s
model year. MSRP values are obtained from appraisal guides published by national
organizations such as the National Auto Dealers’ Association (NADA). The base model MSRP
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is used; this excludes the options that may have been purchased with the vehicle. The percent
good factor is a rate calculated and adopted by the Tax Commission and is derived from the
average depreciation observed in vehicles. (R884-24P- 33)

MSRP X Percent Good Factor = Taxable Value

The taxable value of the vehicle or vessel is then multiplied by the appropriate rate of (1.5% or
1%) to arrive at the appropriate uniform fee.

Taxable Value X .015 = 1.5% Uniform Fee
4.4.2 Example of 1% Uniform Fee Calculation on Motor Home

Model Year 2008

Make/Model Winnebago Motor Home
MSRP $60,000

X Percent Good Factor  57%

Taxable Value $34,200 (rounded to $10)
X Rate 1%

1% Uniform Fee $342.00

4.4.3 When Is the Value-based Uniform Fee Paid

The value-based uniform fee is paid at the time of registration and is due every year the vehicle
is located in Utah, unless a dealer holds it as inventory. Vehicles that are part of dealer
inventory on January 1 are exempt from property tax for that particular year. The value-based
uniform fee is not due for the first-time registration of new vehicles with an MSO (Manufacturer’s
Statement of Origin). On an expired value-based uniform fee registration, only the current year
property tax plus one prior year of property tax is collected. For example, if a vehicle was last
registered in 2007 and taxpayer desires to register that vehicle in 2009, property tax for 2008
and 2009 will be collected. Property tax for 2007 will not be collected. A previous year’s tax is
calculated using the previous year’s percent good tables.

4.4.4 Dealer Trade-ins for Value-based Uniform Fee Vehicles

When a vehicle subject to the value-based uniform fee is traded in to a dealer and the value-
based uniform fee is due, the dealer must collect the fee from the owner and pay it to the county
assessor. “All tangible taxable property shall be assessed and taxed at a uniform and equal rate
on the basis of its fair market value, as valued on January 1. . .” (Section 59-2-103) January 1 of
each year is considered the lien date. A tax or fee is a lien on real property sufficient to secure
the payment of the tax or fee. (Section 41-1a- 206)

4.45 Trade-ins — Utah Residents

When a Utah resident trades in a vehicle subject to the value-based uniform fee and the
registration expires in the current calendar year, the dealer must collect the value-based uniform
fee from the owner.
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Example

Lien date January 1, 2010
Trade-in date March 15, 2010
Registration expires October, 2010

Value-based Uniform Fee is due at trade

When a Utah resident trades in a vehicle and the registration expires in the next calendar year,
no additional uniform fee is due for the current calendar year.

Example

Lien date January 1, 2010
Trade-in date March 15, 2010
Registration expires February, 2011

No uniform fee is due at trade in
4.4.6 Trade-ins — Move-ins from Out of State

When someone establishes residency in Utah after the January lien date and trades in a vehicle
with a valid registration from another state, the dealer must collect the uniform fee if the vehicle
registration expires in the current calendar year.

Example

Lien date January 1, 2010
Trade-in date March 15, 2010
Out of state registration expires October, 2010

Uniform fee is due for the entire year

If someone establishes Utah residency during the current calendar year and trades in a vehicle
with the registration expiring in the next calendar year, no additional uniform fee is due for the
current year.

Example

Lien date January 1, 2010
Date of Utah residency August 1, 2010
Out of state registration expires March, 2011

Uniform fee is due for the entire year

4.4.7 Trade-ins — Nonresidents

When a nonresident trades in a vehicle, no uniform fee is due and none should be collected. For
example, if a Nevada resident trades in his vehicle to a St George dealer, no additional uniform
fee is due for the current year. Also, the dealer should not collect a fee from the Nevada
resident.
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4.4.8 Nonresident Sales of Motor Homes

Motor homes brought into the state for the purpose of selling the motor home to a licensed
dealer are exempt from the proportional property tax assessment. Also, a motor home
purchased for resale by a person licensed as a dealer is exempt from proportional property tax
assessment.

4.4.9 County-Assessed Commercial Vehicles
County Assessed Commercial Vehicles are defined as:

¢ Commercial vehicles, trailers, or semi-trailers which operate intrastate only and transport
the vehicle owner’s goods or property in furtherance of the owner’'s commercial
enterprise;

e Transportation as a company car or van pool vehicle;
e Vehicles that are:

e Especially constructed for towing or wrecking, and are not otherwise used to transport
goods, merchandise, or people for compensation;

e Licensed as taxicabs or limousines;

e Used as rental passenger cars, travel trailers, or motor homes;

e Licensed in this state for use as ambulances or hearses;

o Especially designed and used for garbage and rubbish collection;

e Used exclusively to transport students or their instructors to or from any private, public,
or religious school or school activities. (Section 59-2-102)

Owners of county-assessed commercial vehicles register their vehicles at the local motor
vehicle office and pay the 1.5% uniform fee or the age-based uniform fee if the vehicle weighs
less than 12,000 pounds. For information on the assessment of attached equipment, please see
Standard of Practice 4.2.1.

4.4.10 Valuation Appeals for Value-Based Uniform Fee Vehicles

If a vehicle owner believes the value of his vehicle to be less than the value obtained by using
the DCN valuation methodology, the value may be appealed to the county board of equalization.
This appeal must be filed within 30 days. As an alternative to an official appeal, an informal
request for review may be made to the county assessor. This informal request does not
constitute an appeal nor change the deadline for filing an appeal. Note: The filing of an appeal
does not extend the registration period. All fees must be paid to obtain or renew a registration. If
the appeal is successful, the county assessor will refund the dollar amount difference to the
customer.

Standard 4.5 Aircraft Uniform Fee
4.5.0 Aircraft Defined

Aircraft means contrivance now known or in the future invented, used or designed for navigation
of or flight in the air (Section 72-10-102).
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4 5.1 Uniform Fee on Aircraft

There is levied a uniform fee of $25 in lieu of ad valorem tax on aircraft required to be registered
with the state. The uniform fee is to be distributed to the county in which the aircraft is based.
The county is to distribute the fee to each taxing entity within the county in the same way in
which revenues collected from the ad valorem property tax are distributed. (Section 59-2-404)

Standard 4.6 Situs
4.6.0 Situs

The situs of all taxable property is the tax area where it is located as of the lien date, January 1.
Property subject to the uniform fee is presumed to be located in the tax area where the owner
has legal residence (“domicile”) on January 1. (Section 59-2-104)

4.6.1 Location of Property

The location of the property subject to the uniform fee on January 1 does not determine situs,
whether that location is in or out of state. The owner’s domicile determines situs. However, if the
property is kept in a tax area other than that of the owner’s domicile for more than six months of
the year, it shall be assessed in the other tax area. (R884-24P-60 and R884-24P-61)

4.6.2 Courtesy Collections

A person may register personal property and pay the uniform fee in a county other than his/her
domicile. If the situs of the property is the owner’s county of domicile, the assessor who collects
the uniform fee will deposit the money into an account established by the State Tax Commission
and the Commission will distribute the money to the appropriate county at least monthly. (R884-
24P-60 and R884-24P-61) Any value changes must only be made in the assessor’s office
responsible for assessing the vehicle. Value changes may not be made by the assessor’s office
performing the courtesy collection.

If the situs of the property is the county where the uniform fee is paid, the assessor who collects
it completes and forwards the “Situs Agreement Form”. The “Situs Agreement Form” (Form TC-
700) is located in Appendix 4D. The situs address must be changed on the MVA computer
system.

4.6.3 Situs Agreement Form

Assessors use Form TC-700 to notify each other of instances where situs is different than the
owner’s domicile. In these instances the assessor in the county of situs completes Form TC-700
(located in Appendix 4D), and sends it to the assessor in the county of the owner’s domicile. If
requested, the assessor claiming situs must provide documentation. Then, if the other assessor
agrees with the situs claim, he/she signs Form TC-700 and sends a copy to the assessor in the
county of situs. (R884-24P-60 and R884-24P-61) The situs address must be changed on the
MVA computer system.

4.6.4 Record of Situs

The Motor Vehicle Division of the State Tax Commission keeps a listing of each personal
property item registered with the state. The situs of each is initially listed as the tax area of the
owner’s domicile. The annual registration renewal form will be sent according to address
information located on the MVA computer system.
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Each year the Motor Vehicle Division of the State Tax Commission will provide a list of
registered personal property to each assessor. Assessors are encouraged to audit the list for
accuracy.

4.6.5 Discovery of Incorrect Situs

If an assessor discovers personal property that is kept in his/her county but registered in
another, the assessor may submit Form TC-700 (located in Appendix 4D) along with evidence
that the property is kept in his/her county to the assessor of the county in which the personal
property is registered. Upon agreement, the situs address is changed on the MVA computer
system so the annual registration renewal form will be sent to the proper address and the
property tax collected will be distributed based upon the situs address information located on
the MVA computer system.

4.6.6 Out of State Owners

If the owner of personal property registered in Utah officially resides outside of Utah, the taxable
situs of the property is presumed to be the county in which the uniform fee was paid, unless a
Form TC-700, situs statement (located in Appendix 4D), establishes otherwise. (R884-24P-60
and R884-24P-61)

4.6.7 Other Property Moved into the State

No age-based uniform fee or 1.5% uniform fee is due on personal property moved into this state
if all property taxes required by the prior state have been paid for the current year. [Section 59-
2-405 (4) and Section 59-2-405.1 (4)] If all uniform fees or property taxes have not been paid,
the Utah situs is the tax area in which the property is located as shown on the registration
application.

4.6.8 Inventory Transported to Utah

The dealer inventory exemption does not apply to age-based uniform fee vehicles (passenger
cars, light truck, vans, off highway, recreational vehicles, trailers, boats etc). However, value-
based uniform fee vehicles brought into Utah after the lien date by an automobile dealer and
placed directly into inventory for resale, are exempt from taxation. (Section 59-2-1114)

Standard 4.7  Valuation of Vehicles Subject to the Value-based
Uniform Fees
4.7.0 Valuation Procedures

Procedures for valuing personal property subject to the value-based uniform fees described in
Tax Commission Administrative Rule R884-24P-33 and summarized in the “Valuation Chart”
located in Appendix 4C. The types of property subject to value-based uniform fees follow.

4.7.1 Vehicles Subject to the Value-based Uniform Fee

Motor vehicles subject to the value-based uniform fee are valued according to classifications of
vehicle type. Refer to Tax Commission Administrative Rule R884-24P-33, Recommended
Personal Property Valuation Schedules, which indicate percent good factors to be applied to the
cost new of the vehicle. The schedules classifications are as follows:

Motor Homes
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Motor homes are valued using the suggested list price (cost new) obtained from the NADA
Recreational Vehicle Appraisal Guide, January Through April Edition, then multiplied by the
percent good factor from valuation schedule, Class 14.

Commercial Trailers

Commercial trailers are valued using the current Tax Commission Commercial Trailer Uniform
Fee Guide, or the estimated cost new obtained from the Commercial Trailer Blue Book, January
Edition, Primedia, then multiplied by the percent good factor from valuation schedule, Class 21.
Utility Trailers used for commercial purposes are valued using the list price obtained from the
Horse, Stock and Cargo Trailer Blue Book, October - March Edition, Primedia, then multiplied
by the percent good factor from valuation schedule, Class 21.

Commercial Trucks (medium & heavy duty)

Heavy and medium duty trucks are valued using the current Tax Commission Medium & Heavy
Duty Truck Uniform Fee Guide or 75% of suggested factory price (MSRP) obtained from the
Truck Blue Book, March Edition, National Market Reports then multiplied by the percent good
factor from valuation schedule, Class 6.

Vessels 31 feet or more in length (yachts and houseboats)

Boats 31 feet or more in length are valued using “F.O.B. or P.O.E. Price” (cost new) obtained
from the Primedia internet site or ABOS Marine Blue Book, then multiplied by the percent good
factor from valuation schedule, Class 17.

4.7.3 Vehicles Not Listed in Guides or Schedules
The county assessor determines values of items not listed in the above guides and schedules.
4.7.4 Valuation Adjustments

Adjustments shall not be made to the values outlined in Standard of Practice 4.7.0 “Valuation
Procedures”, unless the taxpayer requests a review of valuation (see Standard of Practice
4.4.10 “Valuation Appeals for Value-based Uniform Fee Vehicles”), or files an appeal. (see
Standard of Practice 4.13 “Appeals”)

Standard 4.8  Guides and Schedules

4.8.0 Guides and Schedules

The Property Tax Division provides guides and schedules to county assessors and state motor
vehicle offices, which include the following national publications:

e ABOS Marine Blue Book

o NADA Recreational Vehicle Appraisal Guide
e The Truck Blue Book, Primedia

e The Commercial Trailer Blue Book, Primedia

e The Property Tax Division provides the following publications and internet sites n the
Property Tax Web Page:

e Recommended Schedules for Personal Property Valuation

e Heavy & Medium Duty Trucks Uniform Fee Guide (printed version or web site reference)
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o Commercial Trailer Uniform Fee Guide (printed version or web site reference)
4.8.1 Commission Guides and Schedules Development

Commission guides and schedules are developed annually using the nationally published
valuation guides listed above.

4.8.2 Commission Guides and Schedules Review

Commission guides and schedules are reviewed and updated annually by the Commission.
Copies of the proposed schedules are transmitted to assessors and other interested parties for
comment. A public comment period is scheduled each year in accordance with the Utah
Administrative Rule Making Act. ( Rule R884- 24P-33.)

Standard 4.9  Listing or Attaching with Real Estate
4.9.0 Listing with Real Estate

“In listing personal property subject to the uniform fee with real property as permitted by Section
59-2-1302, the assessor shall list only the amount of the uniform fee due, and not the taxable
value of the property subject to the uniform fee.” [Section 59-2-407 (emphasis added)]

Standard 4.10 Payment of Uniform Fee
4.10.0 When Due

The age based uniform fee is due each and every time the vehicle is registered. The value-
based uniform fee is due each year at the time of annual registration renewal. On an expired
value-based uniform fee registration, only the current year property tax plus one prior year of
property tax is collected. For example, if a vehicle was last registered in 2006 and taxpayer
desires to register that vehicle in 2009, property tax for 2008 and 2009 will be collected,
property tax for 2007 will not be collected. If personal property is registered on a multi-year or
lifetime basis, the uniform fees are due each year. (Section 41-1a- 222)

4.10.1 Multi-year Registration

Some large commercial vehicle fleets may be issued a multi-year registration. (Section 41-1a-
222) For those property owners, such as PacifiCorp, U.S. West Communications, and Questar
Gas Co, the State Tax Commission assesses and collects the appropriate uniform fees on
these vehicles and forwards the revenue to the appropriate counties.

4.10.2 Lifetime Registration

Commercial trailers may receive lifetime registrations. (Section 41-1a-228) Enforcement of
annual uniform fee collection depends on whether or not the trailer is registered as part of a
commercial fleet with the Motor Carrier Services Section located within the Tax Commission’s
Motor Vehicle Division.

4.10.3 Vehicles Moving in from Out of State

No uniform fee is due on vehicles moved into this state if all uniform fees or property taxes
required by the prior state have been paid for the current tax year. If the fees or property taxes
have not been paid for the current calendar year, the appropriate uniform fee must be assessed.
(Sections 59-2-405, 405.1, 405.2 and 405.3)
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Example

Suppose the owner of a vehicle registers in Colorado in September of 2009. Then in February
of 2010, the owner moves the vehicle to Utah and goes to a motor vehicle office to register.
Though registration fees would not have been due in Colorado for another seven months, no
fees have been paid in the current tax year, 2010. To register this vehicle in Utah and receive a
February 2010 decal, the appropriate uniform fee must be paid. Otherwise, the owner will be
continuously registered, yet pay no fee in 2010.

4.10.5 Vehicles Owned by Military Personnel

When a military service member is transferred from home to live in another state, federal law
allows that the service member neither loses nor acquires a domicile for purposes of personal
property taxation by reason of being in Utah solely in compliance with military orders. A recent
change to that law extends the same benefit to the military service member’s spouse; however,
the nonresident spouse MUST have had the same domicile as the nonresident service member
prior to moving to Utah. For Utah personal property tax purposes, the spouse of a nonresident
military service member is treated in the same manner as the nonresident service member. If
owner of a vehicle is a nonresident service member stationed in Utah under military orders and
the venhicle is not registered in the owner’s state of domicile, the vehicle must be registered in
Utah but the owner is excluded from having to pay the statewide uniform fee on the vehicle; this
procedure would also apply to the service member’s spouse. Evidence must be presented to
the county assessor when the nonresident service member/spouse applies for tax clearance,
such as a letter from the commanding officer or a Leave and Earnings Statement (LES), to
establish that the nonresident is in military service in Utah. Also, the spouse must provide
evidence that he or she is married to a nonresident military service member. (R884-24P-60 and
R88-24P-61)

A vehicle belonging to a Utah resident member of the armed forces stationed in another state is
not subject to the age-based uniform fee as long as the vehicle is kept in the other state. (R884-
24P-60 and R884-24P-61)

4.10.6 Utah Vehicles Out of State

If a Utah owner takes a Utah-plated vehicle out of state temporarily for such purposes as
extended vacations, church missionary service, commercial business, or education, the taxable
situs is still considered to be the Utah domicile of the owner. Therefore, such vehicles are not
exempt from the either the age-based or the value-based uniform fees. If the owner determines
that the length of stay is more than “temporary,” the vehicle should be taxed and registered in
the other state. States have different laws and rules as to when a vehicle must be registered. If
the vehicle is allowed to be driven in the other state while maintaining Utah registration, the
owner has not abandoned the Utah taxable situs for the vehicle and must pay the appropriate
uniform fee.

4.10.7 Escaped Property

Escaped property subject to the uniform fee could be assessed by the original assessing
authority at any time as far back as five years prior to the time of discovery. However, escaped
property is typically assessed only the current year and one previous year due to problems in
tracking tax records, which are more than two years old. Personal property deliberately
concealed to evade payment of the uniform fee is also assessed a penalty of 100% of the
uniform fees due. (Section 59-2-309)
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4.10.8 Seller Versus Purchaser Liability

When a vehicle is purchased, the purchaser may not register the vehicle until all delinquent
uniform fees are paid. Assessors are not responsible to determine whether the purchaser or the
seller is liable for the fees. That is a civil issue and must be settled between the purchaser and
the seller.

4.10.9 Tax Relief

The blind exemption ($11,500 of taxable value) provided in Section 59-2-1106, applies to the
uniform fees. Qualifying property for veteran with a disability can be a residence or tangible
personal property or a combination of the two. See Standard of Practice 4.3.15 to calculate the
exemption amount for the uniform fee.

4.10.10 Stored Vehicles

Vehicles out-of-service, stored or garaged and unused for any period of time are still subject to
a age-based and value-based uniform fees. Although the vehicle registration fee need not be
paid if the vehicle is not used on public roads or waterways, uniform fees are due and payable.
The fee is based on the property value or age, not the use.

Standard 4.11 Distribution of Revenues
4.11.0 Fees Collected by a County but Belonging to Another County

Any age-based or value-based uniform fee received by a county that requires distribution to an
owner’s domicile outside of the collecting county is to be deposited into a State Tax Commission
depository account. The State Tax Commission will then distribute these fees to the county of
the owner’s domicile at least monthly. (R884-24P-60 and R884-24P-61)

4.11.1 Distribution of Revenues

“The revenues collected in each county from the uniform fee shall be distributed by the county
to each taxing area in which the property . . . is located in the same proportion in which revenue
collected from ad valorem real property tax is distributed.” [Section 59-2-405(5) and Section 59-
2-405.1(5)]

Standard 4.12 Centrally Assessed Vehicles
4.12.0 Administration of Centrally-Assessed Company Vehicle Uniform Fees

Centrally-assessed taxpayers must pay the uniform fee for all classes of property listed in
Standard of Practice 4.1 “Property Subject to the Uniform Fee.” Most taxpayers pay the uniform
fee to the assessor in the county of situs.

Utility companies such as PacifiCorp, U.S. West Communications and Questar Gas Co., may
register their vehicles directly with the Utah State Tax Commission. Registration may occur only
after the taxpayer has filed a listing of all vehicles with the Motor Vehicle Division. The Motor
Vehicle Division is responsible for assessing the age-based uniform fee and valuing the uniform
fee vehicles. The Motor Vehicle Division is also responsible for billing and collecting the
appropriate uniform fees on these vehicles. The fees collected will then be distributed to the
respective counties.

Page 27



Standard 4 — Uniform Fees On Registered Motor
Vehicles And Aircraft
Property Tax Division / Standards of Practice

4.12.1 Unitary Assessment

The Property Tax Division will continue to assess the entire holdings of centrally- assessed
taxpayers using the unitary method. The centrally- assessed companies will use the following
formula to determine the value of locally assessed motor vehicles that may be deducted from
the allocated unit valuation:

o Divide the system value by the book value to determine the market to book ratio.

e Multiply the market to book ratio by the book value of motor vehicles (personal property)
registered in Utah and subject to the age-based uniform fee and/or the value-based
uniform fee to determine the value of motor vehicles (personal property) that may be
subtracted from the allocated unit value. (R884-24P-60 and R884- 24P-61)

Standard 4.13 Appeals
4.13.0 Appeals Procedures

If personal property is subject to a fee or tax which is based upon the value of the property, the
basis of the value may be appealed (Section 59-2-1005). The broad aspects of handling
appeals are addressed in the Board of Equalization Standards of Practice. Specific procedures
unique to the uniform fee follow.

4.13.1 Vehicle Revaluation

Uniform fee property appealed to the county board of equalization under Section 59-2-1005, are
subject to a complete revaluation. While percent good tables are calculated using averages of
retail and wholesale (trade-in) values, value is based on the retail level of trade and all
adjustments to value must be on the basis of their effect on the property’s retail value and
according to Tax Commission guides and schedules.

4.13.2 Thirty-Day Appeal Limit

All appeals shall be filed with the board of equalization within 30 days after constructive notice
of assessment has been made to the vehicle owner. Appeals shall be decided and the petitioner
notified of the decision within 60 days of the filing. (Section 52-2-1005) While appeal decisions
are pending, the original uniform fee must still be paid by the due date as specified on the notice
of assessment. Then, if the board of equalization finds in favor of the appellant and a downward
adjustment is granted, the taxpayer shall receive a refund of the corresponding fee amount.

4.13.3 Appeal Application Form

Counties are encouraged to use Form TC-702 (located in Appendix 4D) to promote statewide
uniformity. It has been designed to help appellants focus on relevant reasons for an appeal, and
directs them to present the acceptable forms of evidence. It also provides the board of
equalization with information needed to determine if any upward adjustment is warranted.

4.13.4 Reasons for Appeal

The appeals form provides the appellant with three reasons for appealing a valuation: (1) high
mileage documented as of the lien date on the registration certificate; (2) significantly damaged
condition as of the lien date as documented by a signed statement from a bonded dealer or a
bonded body shop; and (3) other.
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4.13.5 Upward Adjustments

Low mileage shown in the “Odometer Reading” box of Form TC-702 may warrant an upward
adjustment to the appealed vehicle valuation.

4.13.6 Authorization for Representation

If someone other than the owner completes the form, that person must attach an authorization
form signed by the owner.

4.13.7 Alternative to Appeal

As an alternative to an official appeal, an informal request for review of valuation may be made
to the county assessor. Such a review does not constitute an appeal. Also, it must be noted that
such a request does not alter the deadline for filing an appeal to the county board of
equalization.

The criteria to be used for adjustment of value by the assessor should be the same as those
provided for appeals, as specified in this standard. The request should be submitted within 15
days after the owner or his/her designee has made constructive notice of assessment to the
county assessor. Informal requests for review of valuation made to the county assessor should
be decided and the petitioner notified of the decision within 5 days of the request.

The form used for an assessor’s review of value should be identical to that used for appeals to
the county board of equalization. (See Form TC-702A in Appendix 4D)
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Appendix 4A
Utah Administrative Rule R884-24P-60

R884-24P-60. Age-Based Uniform Fee on Tangible Personal Property Required to be
Registered with the State Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-405.1.

A.

For purposes of Section 59-2-405.1, “motor vehicle” is as defined in Section 41-1a-102,
except that motor vehicle does not include motorcycles as defined in Section 41-1a-102.

. The uniform fee established in Section 59-2-405.1 is levied against motor vehicles and

state-assessed commercial vehicles classified under Class 22 - Passenger Cars, Light
Trucks/Utility Vehicles, and Vans, in Tax Commission rule R884-24P- 33.

. Personal property subject to the uniform fee imposed in Section 59-2-405 is not subject

to the Section 59-2-405.1 uniform fee.

The following classes of personal property are not subject to the Section 59-2-405.1
uniform fee, but remain subject to the ad valorem property tax:

1. vintage vehicles;

2. state-assessed commercial vehicles not classified under Class 22 Passenger Cars,
Light Trucks/Utility Vehicles, and Vans;

3. any personal property that is neither required to be registered nor exempt from the
ad valorem property tax;

mobile and manufactured homes;

machinery or equipment that can function only when attached to or used in
conjunction with motor vehicles or state- assessed commercial vehicles.

The age of a motor vehicle or state-assessed commercial vehicle, for purposes of
Section 59-2-401.5, shall be determined by subtracting the vehicle model year from the
current calendar year.

The only Section 59-2-405.1 uniform fee due upon registration or renewal of registration
is the uniform fee calculated based on the current calendar year.

. Centrally assessed taxpayers shall use the following formula to determine the value of

locally assessed motor vehicles that may be deducted from the allocated unit valuation:
1. Divide the system value by the book value to determine the market to book ratio.

2. Multiply the market to book ratio by the book value of motor vehicles registered in
Utah and subject to Section 59-2-405.1 to determine the value of motor vehicles that
may be subtracted from the allocated unit value.

The motor vehicle of a nonresident member of the armed forces stationed in Utah may
be registered in Utah without payment of the Section 59-2-405.1 uniform fee.

A motor vehicle belonging to a Utah resident member of the armed forces stationed in
another state is not subject to the Section 59-2-405.1 uniform fee at the time of
registration or renewal of registration as long as the motor vehicle is kept in the other
state.
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J. The situs of a motor vehicle or state-assessed commercial vehicle subject to the Section
59-2-405.1 uniform fee is determined in accordance with Section 59-2-104. Situs of
purchased motor vehicles or state-assessed commercial vehicles shall be the tax area of
the purchaser’s domicile, unless the motor vehicle or state-assessed commercial vehicle
will be kept in a tax area other than the tax area of the purchaser’s domicile for more
than six months of the year.

A. If an assessor discovers a motor vehicle or state-assessed commercial vehicle that
is kept in the assessor’s county but registered in another, the assessor may submit a
signed statement along with evidence that the vehicle is kept in that county to the
assessor of the county in which the vehicle is registered. Upon agreement, the
assessor of the county of registration shall forward the fee collected to the county of
situs within 30 working days.

B. If the owner of a motor vehicle or state-assessed commercial vehicle registered in
Utah is domiciled outside of Utah, the taxable situs of the vehicle is presumed to be
the county in which the uniform fee was paid, unless an assessor’s statement
establishes otherwise.

C. The Tax Commission shall, on an annual basis, provide each county assessor
information indicating all motor vehicles and state-assessed commercial vehicles
subject to state registration and their corresponding taxable situs.

D. Section 59-2-405.1 uniform fees received by a county that require distribution to a
purchaser’s domicile outside of that county shall be deposited into an account
established by the Commission, pursuant to procedures prescribed by the
Commission.

E. Section 59-2-405.1 uniform fees received by the Commission pursuant to J.4. shall
be distributed to the appropriate county at least monthly.

K. The blind exemption provided in Section 59-2-1106 is applicable to the Section 59-2-
405.1 uniform fee.

L. The veteran with a disability exemption provided in Section 59-2-1104 is not applicable
to the Section 59-2-405.1 uniform fee.

M. The value of motor vehicles and state-assessed commercial vehicles to be considered
part of the tax base for purposes of determining debt limitations pursuant to Article XIllI,
Section 14 of the Utah Constitution, shall be determined by dividing the Section 59-2-
405.1 uniform fee collected by .015.

N. The provisions of this rule shall be implemented and become binding on taxpayers
beginning January 1, 1999.
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Appendix 4B
Utah Administrative Rule R-884-24P-61

R884-24P-61. 1.5 Percent Uniform Fee on Tangible Personal Property Required to be
Registered with the State Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 41-1a-202, 59-2-104, 59-2-401,
59-2-402, and 59-2-405.

A. Definitions.

1.

For purposes of Section 59-2-405, "motor vehicle" is as defined in Section 41-1a-
102, except that motor vehicle does not include motorcycles as defined in Section
41-1a-102.

"Recreational vehicle" means a vehicular unit other than a mobile home, primarily
designed as a temporary dwelling for travel, recreational, or vacation use, which is
either self- propelled or pulled by another vehicle.

a. Recreational vehicle includes a travel trailer, a camping trailer, a motor home,
and a fifth wheel trailer.

b. Recreational vehicle does not include a van unless specifically designed or
modified for use as a temporary dwelling.

B. The uniform fee established in Section 59-2-405 is levied against the following types of
personal property, unless specifically excluded by Section 59-2-405:

C.

D.

1.

motor vehicles that are not classified under Class 22 - Passenger Cars, Light
Trucks/Utility Vehicles, and Vans, in Tax Commission rule R884-24P-33;

watercraft required to be registered with the state;
recreational vehicles required to be registered with the state; and

all other tangible personal property required to be registered with the state before it is
used on a public highway, on a public waterway, on public land, or in the air.

The following classes of personal property are not subject to the Section 59-2-405
uniform fee, but remain subject to the ad valorem property tax:

1.
2.

vintage vehicles;

state-assessed commercial vehicles not classified under Class 22 - Passenger Cars,
Light Trucks/Utility Vehicles, and Vans;

any personal property that is neither required to be registered nor exempt from the
ad valorem property tax;

machinery or equipment that can function only when attached to or used in
conjunction with motor vehicles.

The fair market value of tangible personal property subject to the Section 59-2-405
uniform fee is based on depreciated cost new as established in Tax Commission rule
R884-24P-33, "Personal Property Valuation Guides and Schedules," published annually
by the Tax Commission.
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. Centrally assessed taxpayers shall use the following formula to determine the value of
locally assessed personal property that may be deducted from the allocated unit
valuation:

1. Divide the system value by the book value to determine the market to book ratio.

2. Multiply the market to book ratio by the book value of personal property registered in
Utah and subject to Section 59-2- 405 to determine the value of personal property
that may be subtracted from the allocated unit value.

If a property's valuation is appealed to the county board of equalization under Section
59-2-1005, the property shall become subject to a total revaluation. All adjustments are
made on the basis of their effect on the property's average retail value as of the January
1 lien date and according to Tax Commission rule R884-24P-33.

. The county assessor may change the fair market value of any individual item of personal
property in his jurisdiction for any of the following reasons:

1. The manufacturer's suggested retail price ("MSRP") or the cost new was not
included on the state printout, computer tape, or registration card,;

The MSRP or cost new listed on the state records was inaccurate; or

In the assessor's judgment, an MSRP or cost new adjustment made as a result of a
property owner's informal request will continue year to year on a percentage basis.

. If the personal property is of a type subject to annual registration, the Section 59-2-405
uniform fee is due at the time the registration is due. If the personal property is not
registered during the year, the owner remains liable for payment of the Section 59-2-405
uniform fee to the county assessor

1. No additional uniform fee may be levied upon personal property transferred during a
calendar year if the Section 59-2-405 uniform fee has been paid for that calendar
year.

2. If the personal property is of a type registered for periods in excess of one year, the
Section 59-2-405 uniform fee shall be due annually.

3. The personal property of a nonresident member of the armed forces stationed in
Utah may be registered in Utah without payment of the Section 59-2-405 uniform fee.

4. Personal property belonging to a Utah resident member of the armed forces
stationed in another state is not subject to the Section 59-2-405 uniform fee as long
as the personal property is kept in another state.

5. Noncommercial trailers weighing 750 pounds or less are not subject to the Section
59-2-405 uniform fee or ad valorem property tax but may be registered at the request
of the owner.

If the personal property is of a type subject to annual registration, registration of that
personal property may not be completed unless the Section 59-2-405 uniform fee has
been paid, even if the taxpayer is appealing the uniform fee valuation. Delinquent fees
may be assessed in accordance with Sections 59-2- 217 and 59-2-309 as a condition
precedent to registration.

The situs of personal property subject to the Section 59- 2-405 uniform fee is determined
in accordance with Section 59-2- 104. Situs of purchased personal property shall be the
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tax area of the purchaser's domicile, unless the personal property will be kept in a tax
area other than the tax area of the purchaser's domicile for more than six months of the

1. If an assessor discovers personal property that is kept in the assessor's county but
registered in another, the assessor may submit an affidavit along with evidence that
the property is kept in that county to the assessor of the county in which the personal
property is registered. Upon agreement, the assessor of the county of registration
shall forward the fee collected to the county of situs within 30 working days.

2. If the owner of personal property registered in Utah is domiciled outside of Utah, the
taxable situs of the property is presumed to be the county in which the uniform fee
was paid, unless an assessor's affidavit establishes otherwise.

3. The Tax Commission shall, on an annual basis, provide each county assessor
information indicating all personal property subject to state registration and its
corresponding taxable situs.

4. Section 59-2-405 uniform fees received by a county that require distribution to a
purchaser's domicile outside of that county shall be deposited into an account
established by the Commission, pursuant to procedures prescribed by the
Commission.

5. Section 59-2-405 uniform fees received by the Commission pursuant to J.4. shall be
distributed to the appropriate county at least monthly.

K. The blind exemption provided in Section 59-2-1106 is applicable to the Section 59-2-405
uniform fee.

L. The veteran with a disability exemption provided in Section 59-2-1104 is applicable to
the Section 59-2-405 uniform fee.

M. The provisions of this rule shall be implemented and become binding on taxpayers
beginning January 1, 1999.

Effective: 11/1/2000
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Appendix 4C

Valuation Chart
Effective 1/1/2011

Uniform Fee Valuation Chart (General)

Personal Property Item Class | Valuation Method

Aircraft Average of High and Low Value wholesale
Value, Aircraft Bluebook Price Digest, Intertec
Publishing, Fall Edition

Unlisted in Aircraft Bluebook 23 $100.00

Passenger Cars and Light Trucks 22 Age-Based Uniform Fee per Section 59-2405.1,
Utah Code

Motor Homes 14 Suggested List Price, NADA Recreational
Vehicle Appraisal Guide X Percent Good
Factor, Recommended Schedules *

Street Motorcycles 11 Age-Based

Travel Trailers & Truck Campers 18 Age-Based

Boat Trailers 21 Age-Based

Commercial Trailers 21 Cost New, Commercial Trailer Blue Book &
Horse, Stock and Cargo Trailer Blue Book,
National Market Reports X Percent Good
Factor, Recommended Schedulest

Off-Highway Vehicles 9 Age-Based

Yachts & Houseboats- 31 ft. & longerin | 17 Approximate FOB or POE Price, ABOS Marine

length Blue Book X Percent Good Factor,
Recommended Schedules?!

County-Assessed Commercial Vehicles

(medium and heavy duty)

New 6 Cost new as documented by user, cost new as
listed in the Heavy & Medium Duty Truck
uniform Fee Guide 2 or 75% or MSRP as listed
in Truck Blue Book, National Market Reports X
Percent Good Factor, Recommended
Schedules!

Used 6 Cost new as listed in the Heavy & Medium Duty
Truck Uniform Fee Guide3 or 75% of
Suggested Factory Price, Truck bluebook, or
Heavy Duty (or Medium Duty) Trucks X Percent
Good Factor, Recommended Schedules?
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Not Listed in Above Guides & Determined by County Assessor
Schedules

1 Recommended Schedules for Personal Property and Registered Property Valuation, State Tax
Commission.

2Heavy & Medium Duty Truck Uniform Fee Guide, Utah State Tax Commission.
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Appendix 4D
Forms

Forms referenced in this document can be viewed by clicking on the form titles listed below or
by visiting http://propertytax.utah.gov/generalinformation/forms/standards-of-practice-forms

PT-40 Dealer Inventory List, Statement of Exempt Dealer Inventory

TC-700 Situs Agreement Between Counties for Uniform Fees on Personal Property

TC-702 Taxpayer Appeal to County Board of Equalization of 1.5% Uniform Fee for Reqistered
Vehicles and Boats

TC-702A Taxpayer Request for Assessor Review of 1.5% Uniform Fee for Reqistered Vehicles
and Boats
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