
2015 Property Tax Relief Table 
(Standard 3  http://propertytax.utah.gov/library/pdf/standards/standard03.pdf) 

           

 
 

 

 
*Evidence could include: Military Service or Deployment Order, Letter from commanding officer or Travel Voucher/Subvoucher (DD Form 1351-2) (Military Personnel Office) 
** This relief is only indirectly related to property tax; it is to help offset the general tax burden. Contact Jan Duggar Tax Commission 801-297-6220 
 
Utah Code Ann. Sec 59-2-1347 allows a county, for property assessed by the county, or USTC, for property assessed by the Commission, to accept an amount less than the full 
amount of taxes due, and allows a county to defer the full amount of taxes due “where, in the judgment of the [county legislative body for property assessed by the county, or USTC 
for property assessed by the Commission], the best human interests and the interests of the state and the county are served.”  The statute also allows a county legislative body to grant 
retroactive adjustments or deferrals. 

 
Type 

Mandatory 
or 

Discretionary 

Entity 
Determining

Eligibility 

Funded
By 

Filing 
Requirements 

Eligible 
Persons 

Eligible 
Property 

Amount 
 

 
Veterans Exemption 

59-2-1104 to 1105 

 
Mandatory 

 
County 

 
County 

Annual verification by Sept 1; 
proof of service, proof of 
disability 

 Veteran with a disability; 
spouse or minor  orphans; 
disability  >  10% 

 Primary residence 
and personal 
property 

 (non-business) 

Credit up to $252,126 in 
 taxable value, based on 
percentage of disability 

 
Active Duty Armed Forces 

Exemption 
59-2-1104 to1105 

 
 

Mandatory 

 
 

County 

 
 

County 

File by Sept 1 the year after 
qualifying active duty service 
was completed, provide 
evidence of qualifying active 
duty military service* 

Qualified active duty; At least 
200 days in calendar year 
outside the state or 200 
consecutive days outside the 
state beginning in prior year.     

Primary residence 
of military 
member 
 

Total taxable value of  the 
primary residential property 

 
Blind Exemption 

59-2-1106 

 
Mandatory 

 
County 

 
County 

File annually by Sept 1; 
ophthalmologist signed 
statement 

Legally blind as defined by 
statute; spouse or minor 
orphans; no income 
requirements 

Real and personal 
property 

Credit of $11,500 in taxable 
value 

 

C
ircuit B

reaker 
59-2-1202 to 1220 

Homeowner’s 
Credit 

 
Mandatory 

 
County 

 
State 

General 
Fund 

File annually by Sept 1 with 
county; signed statement of 
income 

Provide own financial support, 
66+ years of age or surviving 
spouse; income <$31,702 Utah 
resident for entire year 

Owner-occupied 
residence  

Credit up to $939 based on 
annual household income 

Homeowner’s 
Valuation 
Reduction 

 
Mandatory 

 
County 

 
County 

Same as Homeowner’s Credit Same as Homeowner’s Credit Same as 
Homeowner Credit 

Credit equal to tax on 20% of 
fair market value of residence 

Renter’s 
Credit** 

 
Mandatory 

 
Tax Commission 

State 
General 

Fund 

File annually by Dec 31 with 
state;  signed income statement 
& gross rent;  

Same as Homeowner’s Credit  Renter-occupied 
residence 

Credit up to $939  based on 
household income & 
percentage of rent paid 

 
Indigent Abatement 

59-2-1107 & 1109 

 
Discretionary 

 
County 

 
County 

File annually by Sept 1; signed 
statement of disability or 
hardship; proof of ownership; 
other as require by county 

65+ years of age, or disabled, 
or in extreme hardship; income 
<$31,702; residing at property  
at least 10 months of year 

Owner-occupied 
residence  

½ tax due, up to $939 

 
Indigent Deferral 

59-2-1108 & 1109 

 
Discretionary 

 
County 

 
County 

Same as indigent abatement; 
approval of mortgage or trust 
deed holder 

Same as indigent abatement; 
hold no income producing 
assets 

Owner-occupied 
residence  

All or any portion of tax; 
interest accrues; deferral 
continues until property 
changes hands. 


