2012 Course Catalogue


Course 21

Title: USPAP – 1 Day Course

Description: This course is required for all licensed or certified appraisers each renewal period. Students will review the basics of USPAP and then learn recent changes and study special USPAP topics and problems.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 1
Credit Hours: 7
 
Schedule 1: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 3/5/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Weber Center, Room 312
2380 Washington Blvd, Ogden
Special Instructions: Surface parking is available on the east side of the parking terrace. Enter off of 24th street.
Fee: $ 125
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 2/20/2012.


 
Schedule 2: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 3/8/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Provo Courthouse, Ballroom
100 E Center, Provo
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 2/23/2012.


 
Schedule 3: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 3/9/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Salt Lake Assessor's Office, N2302
210 S State Str., Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 2/24/2012.


 
Schedule 4: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 6/15/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 125
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 6/1/2012.


 


Course 22

Title: FAA Program Administration

Description: This one-day seminar teaches the fundamentals of the valuation of agricultural land by the income approach on an ad valorem basis. Also learned are the laws and rules governing Utah’s Farmland Assessment Act and relationship of value in use to market value.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 1
Credit Hours: 7
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 6/20/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 70
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 6/6/2012.


 


Course 23

Title: Appraisal Principles and Practices Seminar

Description: Prerequisite: All qualifying courses required for DRE licensing or certificatio. This seminar is designed to help students prepare for the Division of Real Estate comprehensive licensing examination. Topics include appraisal terms, definitions, principles, the three approaches to value, and USPAP. There will be no Credit hours given thru the Division of Real Estate.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 2
Credit Hours: 14
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 9/27/2012 to 9/28/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 140
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 9/13/2012.


 


Course 25

Title: Sales Ratio Seminar

Description: This course provides the student with an overview of the statutes, administrative rules, standards and guidelines, which govern the sales ratio program. The course will also spend time teaching the math used in developing and analyzing the statistics to determine assessment level and dispersion.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 1
Credit Hours: 7
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 10/17/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1030
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 70
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 10/3/2012.


 


Course 36

Title: Ratio Link

Description:
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 1
Credit Hours: 7
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 10/18/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1030
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 25
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 10/4/2012.


 


Course 29

Title: HP12C Appraisal Applications

Description: This course assumes the student has had no experience with the HP12C. Concepts are discussed with examples for arithmetic, finance, mortgage, statistics, and (if you haven’t had enough), linear regression.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 1
Credit Hours: 7
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 8/30/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: Each student must bring a Hewlett-Packard model HP12C financial calculator to class.
Fee: $ 70
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 8/16/2012.


 


Course 34

Title: Statistical Sales Ratio Analysis Using SPSS

Description:
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 3
Credit Hours: 16
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 1/10/2012 to 1/12/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, 1030
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: IAAO Members $125
Please register thru IAAO.
Fee: $ 0
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 12/27/2011.


 


Course 37

Title: Excel for Appraisers

Description:
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 1
Credit Hours: 7
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 7/9/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Utah State Tax Commission, 1030
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 6/25/2012.


 


Course 51

Title: ASA-Introduction to Machinery and Equipment Valuation

Description: The object of this course is to introduce appraisal terminology and concepts and provide students with a solid foundation for a career in appraisal of machinery and equipment. This course covers ME appraisal terminology, functions and purposes of appraisals; introduction of the three approaches to value; depreciation and factors affecting depreciation; field inspection techniques and safety; introduction to the issues of indexes in machinery and equipment appraising; basic pricing exercises for current and obsolete assets; ethics and professional standards.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 3
Credit Hours: 27
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 1/10/2012 to 1/12/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Utah State Library Division, Multipurpose Room
250 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: Please note that this personal property class does not include any CE credit for the Utah Division of Real Estate. Please bring a current copy of the USPAP book to class.
Please park in the North East parking area of the Tax Commission. Please do not park in the visitor parking in front of the Blind Center.
Fee: $ 0
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 12/27/2011.


 


Course 60

Title: WSATA 101 - Advanced Unitary Appraisal

Description: This course is designed for advanced students of unitary appraisal theory. Topics, which change annually, include intangible property identification and value, bundling of telecommunications services, defining the unit and cost of equity calculations.
 
Prerequisites: 504
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 5
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 1/23/2012 to 1/27/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Eccles Conference Ctr
Utah State University, Logan
Special Instructions: This course is sponsored by the Western States Association of Tax Administrators and by Utah State University. The price includes all meals. Lodging is extra. For more information, go to www.unitaryappraisal.org.
Fee: $ 475
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or go to www.unitaryappraisal.org.

 


Course 61

Title: WSATA 200 - Principles of Property Tax Auditing

Description: This course is designed to give students exposure to a complete basic audit program. Students will perform a simulated audit of a fictitious utility company involving a series of case problems, workshops, role-playing and written assignments. Persons successfully completing the examination will qualify to make joint audits for the Multi State Tax Commission Property Tax Audit Program.
 
Prerequisites: 504
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 5
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 1/23/2012 to 1/27/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Eccles Conference Ctr
Utah State University, Logan
Special Instructions: This course is sponsored by the Western States Association of Tax Administrators and by Utah State University. The price includes all meals. Lodging is extra. For more information, go to www.unitaryappraisal.org.
Fee: $ 475
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or go to www.unitaryappraisal.org.

 


Course 101

Title: Basic Appraisal Principles

Description: Introductory course for real estate appraising, emphasizing the cost and sales comparison approach to value. Appraisal principles and procedures are introduced as well as land valuation, effective tax rates and ad valorem appraisal principles.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 2/13/2012 to 2/16/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 0  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 1/30/2012.


 


Course 102

Title: Basic Appraisal Procedures

Description: This basic appraisal course provides an overview of real estate appraisal approaches to valuation procedures, value, property description, residential applications, commercial applications, improvement construction, home inspection, and appraisal math.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 2/27/2012 to 3/1/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 300  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 2/13/2012.


 


Course 103

Title: USPAP

Description: A Class on the Uniform Standards of Appraisal Practices (USPAP) is required as part of the appraiser pre-licensing curriculum. This course discusses the 10 standards, the rules, definitions and advisory opinions relating to appraisal.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 2
Credit Hours: 15
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 3/6/2012 to 3/7/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 195  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 2/21/2012.


 


Course 201

Title: Residential Market Analysis & Highest & Best Use

Description: Designed to give students the tools needed to properly collect and analyze market data. In addition, the theory of highest and best use is reviewed.
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103 & 501
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 2
Credit Hours: 15
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 6/13/2012 to 6/14/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 150  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 5/30/2012.


 


Course 202

Title: Residential Appraiser Site Valuation & Cost Approach

Description: This course will give valuable insight and a working knowledge of the various theories and methodologies for arriving at residential site values and applying the cost approach in everyday appraisal work.
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103 & 501
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 2
Credit Hours: 15
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 3/14/2012 to 3/15/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
201 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 150  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 2/29/2012.


 


Course 203

Title: Residential Sales Comparison & Income Approaches

Description: This course offers a basic understanding and knowledge of the residential sales comparison and income approaches to appraisal. It includes the valuation principles and procedures applicable to both approaches.
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103 & 501
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 3/19/2012 to 3/22/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 300  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 3/5/2012.


 


Course 204

Title: Residential Report Writing & Case Studies

Description: This basic appraisal course introduces theories, techniques, and procedures to help you understand the appraisal process and how to use various residential forms and reports for appraisal. The course provides practical application of real estate appraisal procedures.
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103 & 501
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 2
Credit Hours: 15
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 6/21/2012 to 6/22/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 150  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 6/7/2012.


 


Course 301

Title: Statistics, Modeling, & Finance

Description: Designed to provide students both the theory and practice of statistics, real estate finance, and valuation modeling for the certified residential appraiser. Outlines terminology and basic statistics principles, including practical applications in statistical analysis. Presents an explanation of real estate markets, terms of financing, and real-world examples of how financing affects the value of real property.
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103, 201, 202, 203, 204, 501 & 502
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 2
Credit Hours: 15
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 6/11/2012 to 6/12/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 150  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 5/28/2012.


 


Course 302

Title: Advanced Residential Applications & Case Studies

Description: Focuses on complex properties that include valuing unique and high-end residential dwellings, common-wall structures, and residential properties with substantial and, sometimes unique, accessory structures and/or amenities, at the Certified Residential level.
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103, 202, 203, 204, 501 & 502
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 2
Credit Hours: 15
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 6/18/2012 to 6/19/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 150  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 6/4/2012.


 


Course 303

Title: Mastering Unique & Complex Property Appraisal

Description: Deals with mixed-use, income-producing, unusual, and one-of-a-kind properties. Study will include significant case study work.
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103, 201, 202, 203, 204, 501 & 502
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 3
Credit Hours: 20
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 6/6/2012 to 6/8/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 200  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 5/23/2012.


 


Course 401

Title: General Appraisal Market Analysis & Highest & Best Use

Description:
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103, 201, 202, 203, 204, 501 & 502
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 7/16/2012 to 7/19/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: Prerequisite: Must be at least a licensed appraiser.
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 300  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 7/2/2012.


 


Course 402

Title: General Sales Comparison

Description:
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103, 201, 202, 203, 204, 501 & 502
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 8/6/2012 to 8/9/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: Prerequisite: Must be at least a licensed appraiser.
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 300  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 7/23/2012.


 


Course 403

Title: General Site Valuation & Cost Approach

Description:
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103, 201, 202, 203, 204, 501 & 502
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 9/10/2012 to 9/13/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: Prerequisite: Must be at least a licensed appraiser.
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 300  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 8/27/2012.


 


Course 405

Title: General Writing & Cases Studies

Description:
 
Prerequisites: 101, 102, 103, 201, 202, 203, 204, 501 & 502
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 9/17/2012 to 9/20/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: Prerequisite: Must be at least a licensed appraiser.
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 300  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 9/3/2012.


 


Course 407

Title: Income Approach To Valuation (IAAO 102)

Description:
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 5
Credit Hours: 33
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 8/13/2012 to 8/17/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
201 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 330  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 7/30/2012.


 


Course 408

Title: Income Approach to Valuation II (IAAO 112)

Description:
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: Yes
Number of Days: 5
Credit Hours: 33
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 8/20/2012 to 8/24/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0  for first-time Utah assessment prelicensing
$ 330  if taken for continuing education credit
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 8/6/2012.


 


Course 501

Title: Assessment Practice in Utah

Description: This course introduces the appraiser to Utah assessment laws and practices for centrally assessed and locally-assessed property. Appraisal practices regarding FAA and sales ratio analysis are introduced as well as exemptions, appeals and appraiser licensing information.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 2/6/2012 to 2/9/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 0
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 1/23/2012.


 


Course 502

Title: Mass Appraisal of Land

Description: Introduces the principles of mass appraisal in the valuation of land. Various methods of valuing land are learned, along with the development and application of a land valuation guideline.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 6/25/2012 to 6/28/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 300
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 6/11/2012.


 


Course 503

Title: Development and Use of Personal Property

Description: This course introduces the appraiser to the principles and procedures of personal property appraisal including all three approaches to value. Students also learn the development and application of the percent good tables and personal property auditing principles.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 7/30/2012 to 8/2/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1026
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 300
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 7/16/2012.


 


Course 504

Title: WSATA 100 - Principles of Unitary Appraisal

Description: This course offers a comprehensive treatment of unitary appraisal principles for beginning appraisers. Topics covered include the unitary appraisal concept, cost approach, income approach, stock and debt approach, market approach, and reconciliation of value indicators.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 5
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 1/22/2012 to 1/26/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location:
Special Instructions: This course is sponsored by the Western States Association of Tax Administrators and by Utah State University. For more information, go to www.unitaryappraisal.org.
Fee: $ 0
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or go to www.unitaryappraisal.org.

 


Course 505

Title: Income Approach Application

Description: In this course students will apply principles to the real life development of a commercial valuation guideline using actual data from an actual city.
 
Prerequisites: Excel, 101, 102, 103, 201, 202, 203, 204, 501 & 502
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 4
Credit Hours: 30
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 7/10/2012 to 7/13/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location: Tax Commission, Room 1030
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 300
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 6/26/2012.


 


Course AS111

Title: Assessors' School Day 1 (4 Credits)

Description: This course will focus primarily on Real Property issues.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 1
Credit Hours: 4
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 12/4/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location:
TBA
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 30
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 11/20/2012.


 


Course AS112

Title: Assessors' School Day 2 (6 credits)

Description: This course will focus primarily on Personal Property and Centrally Assessed issues.
 
Prerequisites: None
Pre-licensing: No
Number of Days: 1
Credit Hours: 6
 
Schedule: Click here for Printable Version
Date: 12/5/2012
Time: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Location:
TBA
Special Instructions: None
Fee: $ 30
 
To Register:   Click here. . . . . Or contact Lia Eckhardt at
liaeckhardt@utah.gov or 801-297-3602.
The deadline for registration is 11/21/2012.


 

Updated 1/3/2012