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GREENTOWN OIL CO, LLC, INITIAL HEARING ORDER
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v. Account No:  13745315-004-PCA
Tax Type:  Penalty/Interest
PROPERTY TAX DIVISION OF THE Tax Year: 2022
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION,
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Presiding:

Clinton Jensen, Administrative Law Judge

Appearances:
For Petitioner: Rhonda Ahmad, for the Taxpayer
For Respondent:  I.J. Alder, for the Division
Joseph Thomas, for the Division

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing on June 23, 2022
in accordance with Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5. Petitioner (the "Taxpayer") is appealing the penalty
assessed by the Respondent ("Division") under Utah Code Ann. §59-2-207, for the late filing of the
annual property tax statement for the 2022 tax year.

APPLICABLE LAW

A statement of the Taxpayer is required to be filed by March 1 of each year, as provided in Utah
Code Ann. §59-2-207(1), set forth below in pertinent part:

(a) A person, or an officer or agent of that person, owning or operating property
described in Subsection {1)(b) shall file with the commission, on a form prescribed
by the commission, a sworn statement on or before March 1 of each year. ..

The assessment and waiver of any penalty imposed for the failure to file the statement, is
governed by Utah Code Ann, §59-2-207(3), as follows:

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a person a
penalty as provided in Subsection (3)}(b), if the person, or an officer or agent of that
person, fails to file:

(i) the statement required under Subsection {1)(a) on or before the later of;
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(A) March [; or

(B) if the commission atlows an extension under Subsection (1){(c) for filing the
statement, the day after the last day of the extension period; or
(ii) any other information the commission determines to be necessary to:

(A) establish valuations for assessment purposes; or
(B} apportion an assessment,
(b) The penalty described in Subsection (3)(a) is an amount equal to the greater of:

(i) 10% of the person's estimated tax liability under this chapter for the current
calendar year not to exceed $56,000; or
(i) $100.

{c) (i) Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (4), the commission may waive, reduce,
or compromise a penalty imposed under this section if the commission finds
there are reasonable grounds for the waiver, reduction, or compromise,

(ii) If the commission waives, reduces, or compromises a penalty under Subsection
(3)c)(i), the commission shall make a record of the grounds for waiving,
reducing, or compromising the penalty.

Most property tax proceedings before the Commission involve a property’s value or a property
fax exemption, not a late filing penalty. For property tax valuation cases, the Utah Supreme Court has
found that the burden of proof is generally on the petitioner to support its position.! For most property tax
exemption cases, the Court has also found that the burden of proof is upon the entity requesting the
exemption? The Conunission is not aware of any court decision or other precedent that would provide
for the burden of proof to be different for a case involving a late filing penalty imposed for property tax
purposes. Accordingly, the petitioner has the burden of proof in this matter.

DISCUSSION

Utah Code Ann. §59-2-207(1)(a) requires a property owner to file its annual statement with the
Division on or before March 1* of each tax year. Compliance in filing the annual property tax statement
on time is needed because of subsequent statutory deadlines concerning the assessment of centrally

assessed property. The Taxpayer admits that it did not submit a complete 2022 annual statement by the

! See Nelson v. Bd. of Equalization of Salt Lake County, 943 P.2d 1354 (Utah 1997); Utah Power & Light Co. v.
Utah State Tax Comm’n, 590 P.2d 332 (Utah 1979Y; Beaver County v. Utah State Tax Comm 'n, 916 P.2d 344 (Utah
1996); and Utah Railway Co. v. Utah State Tax Comm 'n, 2000 UT 49, 5 P.3d 652 (Utah 2000V,

? See Corporation of the Episcopal Church in Utah v. Utah State Tax Comm’n, 919 P.2d 556 (Utah 1996), in which
the Court stated that “[t]he burden of establishing fhe exemption lies with the entity claiming it . , . .”

2.
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March 1, 2022 deadline. As a result, the Division properly imposed a penalty under Utah Code Ann,
§59-2-207(3).

The Taxpayer, however, asks the Commission to waive the penalty. The Taxpayer's
representative explained that several years before the 2022 tax year at issue, the Taxpayer had sold the oil
and gas property at issue in this case to another entity, That entity was responsible for filing and paying
property taxes. For some time before the 2022 tax year, the entity that owned the subject property was in
bankruptcy. However, just before the March 1, 2022 deadline for filing the 2022 annual statement
required under Utah Code Ann, §59-2-207(1), the bankruptcy court determined that the other entity had
defaulted on its purchase agreement. Based on this, the bankruptcy court transferred ownership of the
subject propetty to the Taxpayer. The Taxpayer’s representative testified that neither the bankruptey court
nor the previous owner gave the ’faxpayer notice of the transfer of ownership.

The Taxpayer’s representative testified that as soon as the Taxpayer became aware of its
ownership of the subject property and its obligation to file a 2022 annual statement, it did so. The
Division’s representatives confirmed receipt of the Taxpayer’s 2022 annual statement on April 4, 2022,
Based on the information in the Taxpayer’s 2022 annual statement, the Division calculated the amount of
the penalty at issue in this case at $212.20, The Division’s representatives indicated that the Division did
not oppose waiving the penalty it assessed for 2022 and would leave the matter to the sound discretion of
the Commission.

Because the Taxpayer admits that the Division properly imposed the penalty, the issue before the
Commission in this appeal is whether the penalty should be waived, reduced, or compromised. Under
Utah Code Ann, §59-2-207(3)(c), the Commission is authorized to waive, reduce, or compromise the
penalty imposed for the late or incomplete filing of the annual statement upon a finding of “reasonable
grounds” and upon making a record of such grounds. As a result, the Commission must determine
whether “reasonable grounds™ exist to waive the penalty at issue.

The Commission has previously addressed the waiver of a penalty imposed on a centrally
assessed taxpayer for the late filing of an annual return in Appeal No. 12-1519 (Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Final Decision Sept. 28, 2012).> In that case, the Commission stated that

because “reasonable grounds” for the waiver of a penalty imposed for the late filing of the annual return is

* Redacted copies of this and other selected decisions may be viewed on the Commission’s website at

http:/wwnv tax utah, gov/commission-office/decisions.
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not defined by statute or by Tax Commission administrative rule, discretion on the part of the
Commission is implied when determining what would constitute “reasonable grounds.” In dppeal No.
12-1519, the Commission further explained that it has adopted Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42 (“Rule
42”), which provides guidance as to what constitutes “reasonable cause” for purposes of waiving
penalties under Utah Code Ann. Title 59, Chapter 1, Part 4, Penalties, Interest, and Confidentiality of

Information.* However, Ruie 42 does not address what constitutes “reasonable prounds” for purposes of
3

* Subsection 59-1-401(14) provides that “[u]pon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown,
the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or inlerest imposed under this part.” Rule
42 provides guidance as to when “reasonable cause” exists to waive penaliies pursuant to Subsection 59-1-401(14),
as follows in pertinent part:

(3} Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented circumstances
may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty:
' {a) Timely Mailing...

(b} Wrong Filing Place...
(¢} Death or Serious Illness
(i) The death or serious illness of a taxpayer or a member of the taxpayer's immediate family
caused the delay.
(i) With respect to a business, trast or estate, the death or illness must have been of the
individual, or the immediate family of the individual, who had sole authority tc file the return,
(iii) The death or illness must have occurred on or immediately prior to the due date of the
return,
{d) Unavoidable Absence..,
{e} Disaster Relief
(D) A delay in reporting, filing, or paying was due either to a federal or state declared disaster
or to a natural disaster, such as fire or accident, that resuits in the destruction of records or
disruption of business.
(ii) If delinquency or delay is due to a federally declared disaster, federal relief guidelines
shall be followed.
(iii) In the absence of federal guidelines, and for other listed disasters, the taxpayer must
demonstrate the matter was corrected within a reasonable time, given the circumstances.
{f) Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information. ..
{g) Tax Commission Office Visit...
(h) Unobtainable Records...
(i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor...
(i) First Time Filer:
(i) It is the first return required to be filed and the taxes were filed and paid within a
reasonable time after the due date.
(iiy The commission may also consider waiving penaliies on the first veturn after a filing
period change if the return is filed and tax is paid within a reasonable time after the due date.
(k) Bank Error. ..

4-
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waiving penalties under Utah Code Ann. §59-2-207(3)(c). Furthermore, Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(14),
the statute that allows for penalties to be waived for “reasonable cause,” is expressly limited to penalties
imposed “under this part,” which refers to Title 59, Chapter 1, Part 4 of the Utah Code. The penalty at
issue in the appeal now before the Commission is imposed in a different “part” of the Utah Code,
specifically in Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 2 of the Utah Code. For these reasons, the Commission found in
Appeal No. 12-1519 that the Rule 42 factors that constitute “reasonable cause” are not, technically,
directly applicable to determining what constitutes “reasonable grounds™ for purposes of waiving
penalties imposed for the late or incomplete filing of a centrally assessed taxpayer’s annual statement.
Nevertheless, because of its discretion in determining what constitutes “‘reasonable grounds” for
purposes of waiving penalties imposed under the Utah Property Tax Act, the Commission also found in
Appeal No. 12-1519 that it may consider, but is not limited to, the “reasonable cause” factors found in
Rule 42 when determining whether “reasonable grounds™ exist to waive a penalty like the one at issue in
the instant case. As a result, the Commission should consider the “reasonable cause” factors found in

Rule 42 to decide whether “reasonable grounds” exist to waive the penalty at issue in this appeal.

(Iy Compliance History:
(i) The commission will consider the taxpayer's recent history for payment, fiiing, and
delinquencies in determining whether a penalty may be waived.
(ii) The commission will also consider whether other tax returns or reports are overdue at the
time the waiver is requested.
{m) Employee Embezzlement. ..
(1) Recent Tax Law Change...
-(4) Other Considerations for Determining Reasonable Cause,

(a) The commission aliows for equitable considerations in determining whether reasonable
cause exists to waive a penalty, Equitable considerations include:

(i) whether the commission had to take legal means to collect the taxes;

(ii) if the ervor is caught and corrected by the taxpayet;

(iii) the tength of time between the event cited and the filing date;

{(iv} typographical or other written errors; and

(v} other factors the commission deems appropriate,
(b} Other clearly supported extraordinary and unanticipated reasons for late filing or payment,
which demonstrate reasonable cause and the inability to comply, may justify a waiver of the
penalty.
{c) In most cases, ignorance of the law, carelessness, or forgetfulness does not constitute
reasonable cause for waiver. Nonetheless, other supporting circumstances may indicate that
reasonable cause for waiver exists.

(d) Intentional disregard, evasion, or fraud does not constitute reasonable cause for waiver under any
circimnstance,

5.
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Rule 42(3)(j) provides for a waiver for a first time filer and provides that the Commission should
consider the timeliness with which a taxpayer acted after it learned of a filing obligation. The Division
did not dispute the Taxpayet’s claim that this was the first time that the Taxpayer had a filing obligation
for the subject property following the change in ownership caused by bankruptcy court actions. The
Division did not dispute that although the Taxpayer received ownership of the subject property just before
the March 1, 2022 filing deadline, it did not become aware of the change in ownership until after the
March 1, 2022 filing deadline, The Division did not dispute that as soon as the Taxpayer discovered its
late filing of an annual statement, it worked with the Division to satisfy the requirements of Utah Code
Ann. §59-2-207(1)(a).

Although Rule 42 is not directly binding in this case, the Commission notes that Rule 42(3)(})
provides for a waiver of penalty by a first time filer, The circumstances_ of this case fit with those
described in Rule 42(3)(j) in that the Taxpayer did not own the company and did not have a requirement
to file an annual statement until it received ownership of the subject property just before the March 1,
2022 filing deadline. The Taxpayer did not become aware of the change in ownership until after the
March 1, 2022 filing deadline, and took immediate actions to resolve filing requirements after learning of
the filing requirement,

Based on the information presented at the initial hearing, there is good cause to waive the penaity

Clus Yo

Clinton Jensen
Administrative Law Judge

imposed by the Division for the 2022 tax year.
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DECISION AND ORDER

The Commission finds reasonable grounds to waive the penalty, considering the recommendation
of the Division. However, the Commission cautions the Taxpayer that it will be more difficult for the
Commission to find reasonable grounds to waive a second penalty. Based on the foregoing, the

Commission waives the penalty assessed under Utah Code Ann. §59-2-207. It is so ordered.

This Decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. Any party to this case may file a
written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a
request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and

appeal number:

{Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further administrative appeal rights in this
matter. In that event, the Property Tax Division is ordered to adjust its records in accordance with this
order. The Property Tax Division is also ordered to calculate the final adjustments to the values
apportioned to tax districts as a result of this order and fo deliver that information {o the affected counties
on behalf of the Commission. The auditors of the affected counties are ordered to use the information so

provided to adjust their tax roles in accordance with this order.

26 July
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