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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing on August 31,

2022 in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. Petitioner ("Taxpayer") is appealing the penalty
assessed by the Respondent ("Division") under Utah Code Ann. §59-2-202 for the Taxpayer's late filing
of 1ts 2022 annual property tax statement.
APPLICABLELAW
A statement of the Taxpayer is required to be filed by March 1 of each year, as provided in Utah
Code Ann. §59-2-202(1), set forth below in pertinent part:

(1)(a) A person, or an officer or agent of that person, owning or operating
property described in Subsection {1)(b) shall, on or before March 1 of each year,
file with the commission a statement:

(1) signed and swom to by the person, officer, or agent;

(1) showing in detail all real property and tangible personal property located in
the state that the person owns or operates;

(iif) containing the number of miles of taxable tangible personal property in each
county:

{A) that the person owns or operates; and

(B) as valued on January 1 of the year for which the person, officer, or agent 1s furnishing
the staternent; and

(1v) containing any other information the commission requires,
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The assessment and waiver of any penalty imposed for the failure to file the statement, 1s
governed by Utah Code Ann. §59-2-202(3), as follows:

{3)(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a person a
penalty as provided in Subsection (3)b), if the person, or an officer or agent of that
person, fails to file:
(1) the statement required under Subsection (1){a} on or before the later of:
(A) March 1; or

~ (B) if the comnussion allows an extension under Subsection (1)(c) for filing the
statement, the day after the last day of the extension period; or
(11) any other information the commission determines to be necessary to:
(A) establish valuations for assessment purposes; or
(B) appottion an agsessment.
(b} The penalty deseribed in Subsection (3)(a) is an amount equal to the greater of:
(1) 10% of the person's estimated tax liability under this chapter for the current calendar
year not to exceed $50,000; or
(11) $100.
{c)(1} Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (4), the commission may waive, reduce, or
compromise a penalty imposed under this section if the comunission finds there are
reasonable grounds for the warver, reduction, or compromise.
(1) If the comumission waives, reduces, of compromises a penalty under Subsection
(3)(e)(i). the commission shall make a record of the grounds for waiving, reducing, or
compromising the penalty.

Most property tax proceedings before the Commission involve a property’s value or a property
tax exemption, not a late filing penalty. For property tax valuation cases, the Utah Supreme Court has
found that the burden of proof 15 generally on the petitioner to support its position. For most property tax
exemption cases, the Court has also found that the burden of proof is upon the entity requesting the
exemption. The Commission is not aware of any court decision or other precedent that would provide for
the burden of proof to be different for a case involving a late filing penalty imposed for property tax
purposes. Accordingly, the petitioner has the burden of proof in this matter.

DISCUSSION

Utah Code Ann. §59-2-202(1)(a) requires a property owner to file its annual statement with the
Division on or before March 1% of each tax year. Compliance in filing the annual property tax statement
on time 1s needed because of subsequent statutory deadlines concerning the assessment of centrally

assessed property. The Taxpayer acknowledges that it did not submit a complete 2022 annual statement
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by the March 1, 2022 deadline. Thus, the Commission finds that the Division properly imposed a penalty
under Utah Code Ann. §59-2-202(3).

The Taxpayer’s representative stated at the Initial Hearing that she is asking the Commission to
waive the 10% penalty assessed by the Division. The Taxpayer's representative explained that the
Taxpayer’s filing was late due to a change in staffing, She stated that she came on board with the
Taxpayer on January 10, 2022 and was unaware that the Taxpayer owed property taxes. She stated that the
only reason she found out that the annual statement was due was because she received a notice from the
Division stating that the assessment was late. She stated that the Taxpayer’s office tanager was not aware
of what was going on ‘ancl needed fo get clarification on submitting the statement. She stated that she ts
respectfuslly requesting a waiver of the penalty and stated that the Taxpayer did not intentionally file the
annual statement late. She stated that the late filing was just an oversight by the Taxpayer. She indicated
that the annual statement was submitied on April 22, 2022,

The Division’s representatives stated at the Initial Hearing that this is the second year in five
years that the Taxpayer has been assessed a penalty for filing an annual statement late. They indicated that
the Taxpayer filed the annual statement late in 2019 and again in 2022, which is the year at 1ssue in this
appeal. They stated that the Division sent the Taxpayer a reminder email on or around March 30, 2022
and had a conversation over the phone with the Taxpayer on March 30, 2022. They stated that they told
the Taxpayer's representative that the annual statement was due on March 1, 2022 and explained that the
form was already late. They intdicated that they advised the Taxpayer that the annual statement needed to
be filed before May 1, 2022 or the Taxpayer would incur an estimation. They stated that the Diviston sent
a follow up email on April 14, 2022, and the Taxpayer filed the annual statement on April 22, 2022.

The Division's representatives indicated that the penalty amount was estitnated as $2,380.28 and
also indicated that the late filing penalty assessed in 2019 was not appealed or waitved. They indicated that
the Division did not have a recommendation on whether the penalty assessed for the 2022 tax year should
be waived and would leave the matter to the discretion of the Commission.

The Taxpayer's representative acknowledged that the annual statement was filed late. Thus, the
Division properly imposed the penalty, and the only issue before the Commission in this appeal is
whether the penalty should be waived, reduced, or compromised. Under Utah Code Ann. §59-2-202(3)(c).
the Commission is authorized to waive, reduce, or compromise the penalty imposed for the late or

incomplete filing of the annual statement upon a finding of “reasonable grounds™ and upon making a

-3-
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record of such grounds. As a result, the Commission must determine whether “reasonable grounds™ exist
to waive the penalty at issue.

The Commission has previously addressed the waiver of a penalty imposed on a centrally
assessed taxpayer for the late filing of an annual statement in 4ppeal No. 12-1519'. In that case, the
Commission stated that because “reasonable grounds™ for the waiver of a penalty imposed for the late
filing of the annual statement are not defined by statute or by Tax Commission administrative rule,
discretion on the part of the Commission is implied when determining what would constitute “reasonable
grounds.” In Appeal No. 12-1519, the Commission further explained that it has adopted Utah
Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 (“Rule 427), which provides guidance as to what constitutes
“reasonable cause” for purposes of waiving penalties under Utah Code Ann. Title 59, Chapter 1, Part 4,

Penalties, Interest, and Confidentiality of Information” However, Rule 42 does not address what

' See Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Final Decision, Appeal No. 12-1519, Utah State Tax Commission
(September 28, 2012). Redacted copies of this and other selected decisions may be viewed on the Commiasion’s
website at hitp v fax wish govicommission-office/decizsions.

* Subsection 59-1-401(14) provides that “Julpon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shows,
the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part.” Rule
42 provides guidance a5 to when “reasonable cause” exists to waive penalties pursuant to Subsection 59-1-401(14),
as follews in pertinent part:

{3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented circumstances
may constitute reasonable cavse for a waiver of penalty:

{a) Timely Mailing...

(b} Wrong Filing Place...

{c) Death or Sericus Iliness, . .

{d) Unavoidable Absence...

{e) Dizaster Relief. , .

() Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information. ..

{g) Tax Commizsion Office Visit...

{h) Unobtainable Records._ ..

{i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor...

(i) First Time Filer. ..

(k) Bank Error...

(1} Compliance History:

(i) The commission will consider the taxpayer's recent history for payment, filing, and

delinguencies in determining whether a penalty may be waived.

(if) The commizsion will also consider whether other tax retums or reports are averdue at the

time the waiver is requested.

{m} Employee Embezziement...

(n) Recent Tax Law Change...
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constitutes “rcasonable grounds” for purposes of waiving penalties under Utah Code Ann.
§59-2-202(3)c). Furthermore, Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(14), the statute that allows for penalties to be
waived for “reasonable cause,” is expressly limited to penalties imposed “under this part,” which refers to
Title 59, Chapter {, Part 4 of the Utah Code, and the penalty for filing an annual statement late is imposed
in a different “part” of the Utah Code, specifically in Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 2 of the Utah Code. For
these reasons, the Commission found in Appeal No. 12-1519 that the Rule 42 factors that constitute
“reasonable cause” are not, technically, directly applicable to determining what constitutes “reasonable
grounds” for purposes of waiving penalties imposed for the late or incomplete filing of a centraily
assessed taxpayer’s annual statement.

However, becanse the Commission has discretion to determine what constitutes “reasonable
grounds” for purposes of waiving penalties imposed under the Utah Property Tax Act, the Commission
also found in Appeal No. 12-1519 that it may consider, but is not limited to, the “reasonable cause”
factors found in Rule 42 when determining whether “reasonable grounds” exist to waive a penalty like the
one at issue in the instant case. As a result, the Commission should consider the “reasonable cause”
factors found in Rule 42 to decide whether “reasonable grounds” exist to waive the penalty at issue in this
appeal.

The Commission may find reasonable cause to waive penalties based on a taxpayer’s compliance

history, as provided in Subsection (3)(I) of Rule 42:

(4) Other Considerations for Determining Reasonable Cause,

(a) The commission allows for equitable considerations in determining whether reasonable
cause exists to waive a penalty. Equitable considerations include:

(i) whether the commission had to take legal means to collect the taxes;

(ii) if the error is caught and corrected by the taxpayer;

(iii) the fength of time between the event cited and the filing date;

(iv) typographical or other written errors; and

(v) other factors the commission deems appropriate,
{b) Other clearly supported extraordinary and unanticipated reasons for late filing or payment,
which demonsirate reasonable cause and the inability {o comply, may justify a waiver of the
penalty,
(c) In most cases, ignorance of the law, carelessness, or forgetfulness does not constitute
reasonable cause for waiver. Nonetheless, other supporting circumstances may indicate that
reasonable cause for waiver exists.

(d) Intentional disregard, evasion, or fraud does not constitute reasonable cause for waiver under any
circumstance.

5.
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(i) The commission will consider the taxpayer's recent history for payment, filing, and
delinquencies in determining whether a penalty may be waived.

(ii) The commission will also consider whether other tax returns or reports are overdue at
the time the waiver is requested.

In reviewing a taxpayer’s compliance history, the Commission generally looks back to see if there
were any errors preceding the year in question. In this appeal, the Division’s representatives stated that its
records indicate that the Taxpayer was previously assessed a penalty for filing an annual statement Jate in
the 2019 tax year. Under such circumstances, the Commission finds that reasonable cause to waive the
penalty at issue in this appeal does not exist under Rule 42(3)(1) based on the Taxpayer’s compliance
history. As a result, the Commission finds that the late filing penalty that the Division imposed for the

2022 tax year should not be waived.

By

Shannon Halverson
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission denies the Taxpayer’s request for a waiver of the penalty
assessed under Utah Code Ann, §59-2.202, H is so ordered.
This Decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing, Any party to this case may file a
written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a
request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner’s name, address, and
appeal number:
Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
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Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further administrative appeal rights in this
matter. In that event, the Property Tax Division is ordered to adjust its records in accordance with this
order. The Property Tax Division is also ordered to calculate the final adjustments to the values
apportioned to tax districts as a result of this order and to deliver that information to the affected counties
on behalf of the Commission. The auditors of the affected counties are ordered to use the information so

provided to adjust their tax roles in accordance with this order.
BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

DATED this 27th day of October, 2022,

EXCUSED
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Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid within
thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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Sent via Email
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