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Historical Overview of Utah's Property Tax 
 

1896  
 The original constitution of the State of Utah provided for taxation of all tangible 

property not exempt under its provisions.  
 
1928  

 The State Board of Equalization & Assessment recommended reclassification of 
all taxable real estate every five years.  

 
1931  

 The Utah State Tax Commission was created. (Utah Constitution, Article XIII).  
 
1932  

 A systematic appraisal of real estate was begun, starting with Rich County.  
 
1944  

 The statewide reappraisal begun in 1932 was declared complete after twelve 
years.  

 
1947  

 The definition of assessed value was lowered from 100 percent of "full cash 
value" to 40 percent.  

 
1953  

 Legislation was passed requiring a complete valuation of all taxable property on 
a continuous county-by-county rotation basis. However, no specific funds were 
allocated for this purpose. (Section 54-5-46.1, U.C.A.)  

 
1955  

 The State Tax Commission property tax manual was adopted as the official 
standard for appraisal of all buildings and improvements to real property. 

 
 1961  

 Assessed value was reduced from 40 percent of "full cash value" to 30 percent.  
 
1966  

 The Utah Legislative Council appointed an advisory committee to study the 
property tax assessment program. 

 
1967  

 The Legislative Council Committee's report was not acted on due to a lack of 
time to study it.  

 
1969  

 The Legislative Council Study Committee submitted a report on taxation to the 
1969 Legislature. Recommendations of the report were generally followed.  

 A Statement Revaluation Program was enacted by the Legislature. (Sections 59-
5-106 to 111, U.C.A.)  
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 The Farmland Assessment Act of 1969 was enacted to provide assessment of 
agricultural parcels on income or productive capacity rather than market value. 
(Sections 59-5-86 to 105, U.C.A.) 

 
 106 percent Limitation was enacted to mitigate the tax impact of reappraisal. 

Assessment rate was set at 25 percent.  
 
 
1970  

 The Revaluation Program began in Summit County.  
 
1975  

 Computer Assisted Appraisal System (CAAS) was first used in Utah County.  
 
1978  

 The initial revaluation cycle, commenced in 1970, is completed.  
 

 The Utah Legislature passed the 1978 "rollback" law which set values for tax 
purposes at 1978 base year.  

 
1979  

 The Legislature repealed the statewide reappraisal program.  
 
1981  

 The Legislature enacted the 20 percent adjustment for transaction costs and 
other intangibles. (Section 59-2-304)  

 An annual assessment sales ratio program was created to replace the 
reappraisal program. The law requires annual assessment/sales ratio studies 
with equalization factoring orders every other year.  

 
1982  

 The voters passed constitution amendments exempting livestock from property 
taxation and allowing a residential exemption of up to 45 percent of value.  

 A 25 percent primary residential exemption was voted by the Legislature.  
 
1983  

 The 1982 Legislature had enacted legislation repealing the 20 percent 
adjustment for intangibles in the event that the residential exemption passed in 
the general election. Effective 1/1/83, the 20 percent reduction for intangibles 
was repealed.  

 
1984  

 The Utah Supreme Court decided the Rio Algom case declaring the 1978 
rollback law unconstitutional while upholding the 20 percent allowance for 
intangibles. 

 The Utah Legislature met in special session to consider the court's ruling. The 
Legislature enacted a 40 percent factor to bring values current and reenacted the 
20 percent adjustment for intangibles to mitigate the impact of the court's 
decision. The composite impact was a 12 percent factor of locally assessed real 
property.  
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1985  
 An assessing and collecting law was enacted allowing counties to set a separate 

tax rate to cover the costs of administering the property tax system. Counties 
could choose between setting the levy or continuing to bill direct costs to the 
various taxing entities (5 counties chose to set a levy in lieu of billing).  

 
1986  

 Truth in Taxation legislation was enacted as a trade off to the 106 percent 
revenue limitation. The laws increased assessment from 20 percent to 100 
percent of fair cash value, reduced tax rates by a factor of five, and provided for 
public disclosure and hearing procedures in the event taxing entities proposed to 
increase property tax revenues above those provided by real growth on the tax 
base; i.e., new construction.  

 Constitutional exemption of hospitals defeated.  
 A statewide levy for the cost of assessing and collecting property taxes was 

passed and replaced the option to tax or bill for the costs. 
 Constitutional exemption of farm machinery and equipment passed.  

 
1987  

 The 106 percent revenue limitation was repealed effective 1/1/87.  
 The statewide levy for property tax administration was implemented (several 

lawsuits ensued).  
 
1988  

 The tax recodification committee enacted a number of housekeeping measures 
to simplify and clarify property tax laws. Included defining fair market value to 
include the 20 percent reduction for intangibles. 

 
1989  

 Assessors required to be certified within one year after election (no enforcement 
provisions).  

 Escaped property redefined to include valuation errors resulting from incorrect 
taxpayer information. 

 Counties may assess mining claims when not devoted to mining.  
 Property taxes to be prorated on property acquired by governmental agencies 

after the lien date.  
 Circuit breaker relief increased and income eligibility expanded and indexed.  

 
1990  

 Created the Tax Review Commission to replace the Tax Recodification 
Commission.  

 Clarified central assessment of geothermal and airline properties.  
 Required taxpayers to submit an estimate of value with any appeal. 
 Allowed taxing entities to impose a judgment levy to cover claims arising from 

payments under protest. Levy exempt from general fund.  
 Land acquired by a governmental agency under eminent domain, threat of 

eminent domain or by donation is exempt from the rollback tax. The acquiring 
agency must pay an in lieu fee in an amount equal to the rollback tax.  

 Required mailing of “Valuation and Tax Change Disclosure Notice” to all 
taxpayers regardless of tax increase.  
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 Passed a statewide appraiser registration and certification law. All persons 
appraising property for ad valorem tax purposes are required to be registered.  

1991  
 

 In AMAX Magnesium v. the Utah State Tax Commission, the Utah Supreme 
Court found that AMAX was entitled to the same assessment treatment as locally 
assessed property because the appraisal methodology employed to value AMAX 
was identical when assessed by the county and the state. The Legislature then 
acted to remove any potential discrimination in the assessment laws by passing 
House Bill 397. The key points of House Bill 397 are as follows:  

 
1. Residential exemption is increased from 25 percent to 29.75 percent.  
2. The 20 percent intangibles deduction is eliminated. Assessing authorities 

may grant up to a 5 percent deduction for intangible value.  
3. All property required to be registered with the State of Utah will be subject 

to a fee in lieu of ad valorem property tax. The fee is 1.7 percent of fair 
market value as determined by the Tax Commission.  

  
1992 

 Residential exemption decreased from 29.75 percent to 29.5 percent.   
 Major Truth in Taxation Legislation. The computation of tax rates was changed 

providing for the use of:  
 

1. A 5 year collection rate.  
2. Actual taxes collected instead of taxes levied.  
3. The 1/4 page ad was changed to include additional information.  

 
 The FAA Law was amended:   

 
1. The $1,000 gross income requirement was replaced with productivity 

criteria.  
2. Certain subdivided land was excluded from qualifying for FAA.  

 
 Lien of unpaid taxes and fees attaches to the personal property.   
 Assessors required to become state registered appraiser within 18 months of 

election. 
 Uniform tax on aerial applicators set at 1/2 percent. 
 No more tax rates based on vehicle situs; 1.7% uniform fee for vehicles. 

 
1993  

 Cyclical Appraisal Legislation Section 59-2-303.1  
 

1. Required review of property characteristics once every five years.  
2. Required annual update of values based on a systematic review of 

market data.  
3. Required a five-year cyclical appraisal plan, which is to be updated 

annually.  
4. Empowers the commission to order corrective action when the following 

assessment performance standards are not met. 
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1994  
 The 5 percent adjustment for intangibles is sunset. Increased the primary 

residential exemption from 29.5% to 32%.  
 
 
1995  

 Increased the primary residential exemption from 32% to 45%.  
 Required taxing entities (counties, cities, schools and special districts) to place 

any proposed increase in property taxes to a vote of the people for 1995 and 
1996. This includes newly incorporated entities.  

 Allowed taxing entities to exceed their statutory maximum tax rate limits in order 
to maintain the same amount of property taxes as were collected in the previous 
year.  

 Required an adjustment in the certified tax rate to eliminate any windfall in 
Uniform Fee revenue from motor vehicle assessments resulting from lowering 
the Uniform School Fund tax rate.  

 Prevented any reduction in tax increment funds for redevelopment agencies that 
might result from a reduction in the Uniform School Fund tax rate.  

  
1996 

 Created a blue ribbon task force to study the elimination or reduced reliance on 
property tax.  

 Reduced property tax funding for the basic school levy by $30,000.  
 Provided certified rate calculation procedures for newly incorporated cities.  

  
1997 

 Allowed counties to impose an additional sales tax of 1/4 percent beginning in 
1998; requires the certified tax rate for the county to be decreased on a one-time 
basis to offset the estimated sales tax revenue.  

 Allowed certain municipalities to impose an additional resort communities sales 
tax; required them to decrease their certified tax rate on a one-time basis by the 
amount necessary to offset the first 12 months of estimated revenue.   

 Reduced the uniform fee-in-lieu from 1.7 percent to 1.5 percent, effective 
January 1, 1998; required certified rates to be adjusted upward to offset any 
taxing entity revenue losses.  

 Required the Tax Commission to deliver a judgment on centrally assessed 
appeals within two years, or the case automatically goes to district court with a 
new trial.  

 Required tax rates be set on undisputed values; required counties to escrow 
taxes collected on the disputed portion of centrally assessed values.  

 Truth-in-taxation changes:  
 

1. Eliminated the election requirement for a property tax increase.  
2. Exempted the judgment levy from truth in taxation for tax years beginning 

January 1, 1997 (counties impose a judgment levy to pay for large 
refunds that result from property tax appeals decisions).  

3. Revised the “Truth in Taxation” advertisement to show the effect of a tax 
increase on an average home and on an average business.  

4. Authorized the Tax Commission to adjust a taxing entity's certified rate 
without a “Truth in Taxation” hearing if a mistake was made on the 
previous year's assessment roll.  
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 Codified the collection and distribution provisions for state assessed commercial 

vehicles.  
 
1998 

 Reinstated the requirement that taxing entities must obtain voter approval before 
imposing a tax rate that exceeds the certified tax rate. Lawmakers made several 
exemptions from this requirement:  

 
1. school districts, except in the case of a voted leeway election; and 
2. municipalities and/or counties and special service districts if voters 

already had previously approved a taxation increase.  
 

 Required taxing entities, before imposing a tax rate that exceeds the certified tax 
rate to advertise and hold “Truth in Taxation” hearings on the fourth Tuesday in 
June, on or after 6 p.m. 

 Exempted taxing entities with less than $15,000 in ad valorem tax revenues from 
the advertisement requirements of “Truth in Taxation”.  

  
1999    

 Required additional information be included on the Truth in Taxation's "Notice of 
Proposed Tax Increase" advertisement to indicate:   

 
1. the percentage of increase as well as the increase in dollar amount per 

year and per month on an average residence, and,  
2. the dollar amount of increase per year on a business having the same 

value as the average value of a residence in the taxing entity.  
 
 

 Required judgment levies to be subject to “Truth-in-Taxation” and prohibited a 
taxing entity from imposing a judgment levy if the amount of the judgment is 
lesser than the smaller of $1,000 or 1% of the total ad valorem property taxes 
collected by the taxing entity in the previous fiscal year.  

 Motor Vehicles which weight 12,000 lbs or less are assessed under an age-
based fee. This applies to all passenger cars and light trucks 

  
 
2000 

 Modified the tangible personal property tax inventory exemption as it applies to 
manufactured and mobile homes. The exemption does not apply to a 
manufactured and mobile home sited at a location where occupancy could take 
place.  

 Allowed the Tax Commission to grant a waiver of the acreage requirement for 
green belt if the property fails to meet the acreage requirement solely as a result 
of an eminent domain proceeding. The governmental entity acquiring the 
property by eminent domain must make a one-time in lieu fee payment to the 
appropriate county assessor.  

 Granted county treasurers the option of providing notice of delinquent property 
taxes by sending a notice in the mail.  

 Repealed requirement that a judgment must be unpaid to qualify for imposition of 
a judgment levy.  
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2001 
 Placed limitations on appraisal authority for state-licensed appraisers and state-

certified appraisers who perform appraisals for purposes other than establishing 
fair market value for the assessment roll. 

 Extended the time from 24 to 36 months for county assessors and uncertified or 
unlicensed appraiser trainees to become state-licensed or state-certified 
appraisers.  

 Allowed county to extend filing deadlines for property tax exemptions, relief, 
deferrals, and abatements to December 31 if good cause exists. 

 Provided guidance for when a person may claim a property tax exemption, relief, 
deferral, or abatement on property for which the claimant is the grantor of a trust 
holding title to that property. 

 Extended the time for filing appeal to the county board of equalization to the later 
of 45 days after the notice of valuation is sent or September 15 of the current 
year. 

 Repealed, reenacted and rewrote statutory provisions relating to redevelopment 
agencies. 

 
2002 

 Changed delinquent tax notification requirements allowing notice by mail to 
delinquent taxpayers and making available a list of delinquent taxpayers by 
electronic means. 

 Modified FAA Act by clarifying when land qualifies under or is withdrawn from 
FAA, changing provisions relating to the rollback tax, addressing FAA land 
located in more than one country, changing filing date to May 1 and modifying 
provisions related to conservation easements. 

 Increased the amount of a taxing entity’s share of a judgment or order that is 
required to impose a judgment levy to $5,000 or 2.5% of the total property taxes 
collected by the taxing entity in the previous year.  

 Annual statement required for property approved for a religious, charitable, 
educational exemption to continue qualifying for the exemption- filed with BOE. 

 
2003 

 Major modifications to the Farmland Assessment Act. Defined “identical legal 
ownership”, “other eligible acreage” and “platted with surface improvements in 
place.” Clarified provisions relating to the imposition and collection of the rollback 
tax. Addressed application requirements and the creation and termination of a 
lien. 

 County assessor directed to include as part of the assessment any effects a low-
income housing covenant has on the fair market value of real property.  

 Modified the calculation of the certified tax rate by using ad valorem property tax 
revenues budgeted (rather than collected). 

 Provided that for financing purposes only, a manufactured/mobile homeowner 
that leases the underlying land may have that home considered as an 
improvement to real property. 

 Changed the calculation of the interest rate on deferred and delinquent property 
taxes to utilize the targeted federal funds rate. 

 
2004 

 Defined “household” and limited the residential exemption to one primary 
residence per household. 
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 Amended provisions of the Open and Public Meeting Chapter and the Revenue 
and Taxation Title relating to confidentiality of property tax information.  

 Modified the calculation establishing taxing entity property tax levies to include 
board of equalization adjustments made to centrally assessed property in 
addition to personal and real locally-assessed property. 

 Major modifications to the veteran’s exemption by expanding the definition of a 
“claimant”, extending for a year the deadline for filing / amending an application 
and providing an application receipt. 

 Provided for the real or personal property assessment classification of 
manufactured/mobile homes. 

 
2005 

 Reduced the uniform statewide fee on motor homes to 1.25%; after January 1, 
2006, the fee is reduced to 1%. 

 Imposed uniform statewide fees on ATV’s, campers, non-commercial trailers, 
tent and travel trailers, motorcycles, snowmobiles, personal watercraft, and boats 
under 31’ in length; fees are imposed based on age, except for boats, where fee 
is imposed based on length and age of the boat. 

 Standardized procedures for notifying identified entities, through the Lt 
Governor’s Office, when various governmental boundaries are created, modified 
or dissolved. 

 Tax Review Commission to study desirability and feasibility of land value 
property tax system. 

 USTC to prepare written explanation of the property tax confidentiality provisions, 
have employees sign and retain for six years. 

 Increased limitation on disabled veteran exemption from $82,500 to $200,000; 
the exemption amount is indexed for following years.  Limited eligible property to 
primary residence and/or tangible personal property. Also, granted 100% 
property tax exemption for veterans killed in action or who died in the line of duty. 

 Required proportional property tax for entities allowed religious, charitable, or 
educational exemption. 

 
2006 

 Constitutional Amendment to provide a property tax exemption for personal 
property that would generate an inconsequential amount of revenue. 

 “Goodwill” defined as “intangible property” and exempt from property tax.  It is the 
“ability of a business to generate income that exceeds a normal rate of return on 
assets and must result from superior management skill, reputation, customer 
relationships, patronage or some similar factor. 

 Many vehicles previously subject to a uniform fee become assessed based upon 
a fee based upon age and other characteristics. This applies to such vehicles as 
boats and other watercraft, street motorcycles, travel trailers, small motor 
vehicles, etc. 

 
2007 

 Taxpayer’s personal property is exempted from property tax if the total aggregate 
fair market value of that personal property is $3,500 or less. 

 Semiconductor-manufacturing equipment (personal property class 15), assessed 
by a county assessor, eliminated from the calculation of the certified revenue levy 
and the certified tax rate. 

 



 9 

2008 
 Statute requirements for Salt Lake County to have a computer assisted mass 

Appraisal (CAMA) system by January 2009 and for Weber, Davis, Utah and 
Washington Counties to have one by 2011 to annually update property values, 
sales and property characteristics information. 

 A new class of personal property was created for expensed personal property for 
certain short life property with an acquisition cost less than $1,000. 

 
2009 

 Aircraft become subject to a uniform fee and are assessed by the Motor Vehicle 
Division where a database of all locally assessed aircraft is maintained. Aircraft 
are assessed a uniform fee that is .4% of the average wholesale Bluebook value 
as well as provisions for aircraft such as experimental and antique aircraft that 
don’t have a Bluebook value. 

 Effective January 1, assessors of first, second, and third class counties must be 
state licensed or state certified appraisers prior to taking office. 

 Aircraft used by an air charter service that are owned by a person other than the 
air charter service is removed from Tax Commission assessment. 

 Several changed to “Truth-in-Taxation” (TNT). 
 
2010 

 Effective January 1, the certified tax rate for each entity is adjusted downward 
when counties collect delinquent property taxes. A taxing entity’s ad valorem 
property tax revenue budgeted for the prior year must be decreased by the 
average annual amount of revenue collected from redemptions during the prior 
five-year period for purposes of calculating the taxing entity’s certified tax rate.  

 Effective January 1, legal notices need to be published on a website that is the 
collective effort of all of Utah’s newspapers. All truth in taxation notices are to be 
published on the Utah Public Notice Website (pmn.utah.gov), in addition to the 
website established by the collective effort of all of Utah’s newspapers 
(Utahlegals.com) 

 
2011 

 Effective January 1, the interest rate charged on delinquent personal property 
taxes is the same as the interest charged on delinquent real property taxes. 

 Effective May 10, when a new school district is created, property within both the 
new school district as well as the remaining district shall be valued every year 
and a uniform rate is to be imposed that generates the amount of revenue 
required each year to meet any outstanding bonded debt obligations of the 
divided school district. 

 
2012 

 Personal property legislation changed “expensed personal property” and “short 
life expensed personal property” to “non-capitalized personal property” which 
would include all personal property with an acquisition cost of $1,000 or less.   

 A resolution passed that if voted for by the public in the 2012 election, a member 
of the US Armed Forces or reserve component who performed qualifying service 
for at least 200 consecutive days outside the state that began in the prior year, 
an exemption of the property taxes on their primary residence would be granted.  
The election in November passed this resolution making the exemption effective 
January 1, 2013. 
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2013 
 Property Tax Division is to develop a hearing officer training course to include 

training in property valuation and administrative law.  Beginning 1/1/14 all county 
BOE hearing officers are required to attend this training. 

 45% primary residential exemption is to be applied to household furnishings, 
furniture and equipment owned by the owner of a dwelling unit that is used 
exclusively as the primary residence of a tenant. 

 Increased the personal property exemption from $4,000 (2013) to $10,000 in 
2014. 

 
2014 

 Legislation provided for uniform military discharge language for the purpose of 
qualifying for Armed Forces member benefits. It includes those with a general 
discharge as well as an honorary discharge.   

 Multicounty allocation is split between 82% towards the Multicounty Appraisal 
Trust and 18% towards the Property Tax Valuation Agency Fund. Assessing and 
collecting revenues may no longer be used as increment and specifically used for 
assessment and collection purposes. 

 Summer TNT meetings for calendar year entities abolished in lieu of parcel 
specific notices sent out before the general or municipal election. 

 Part-year residential property allowed the residential exemption if it is used as 
residential property for 183 or more consecutive calendar days during the 
calendar year. 

 
2015 

 The definition of livestock was expanded to include fish. 
 Legislation established $252,126 as the adjusted taxable value limit for veterans 

with a disability.  
 A provision is made in Utah Code that allows the Utah State Tax Commission to 

consult with counties during the centrally-assessed valuation process and the 
county may become a party to a to an appeal. 

 
2016 

 New growth for the certified tax rate process was modified.  Eligible new growth 
became restricted to locally assessed real property, state assessed real and 
personal property subject to a benchmark value, and project area incremental 
value.  Redemptions was also eliminated from the certified tax rate equation.  A 
change in residential (primary/secondary) would no longer be considered new 
growth.   

 Counties are allowed to provide taxpayers with an electronic means of receiving 
the “Notice of Property Valuation and Tax Changes.”   

 Provisions for filling the vacancy of a county assessor by the governing body 
created by the failure of the assessor to become a state-licensed or state 
certified-appraiser. 

 
2017 

 Locally assessed new growth is amended to exclude a change in assessed value 
due to changes in whether a property qualifies as property under the Farmland 
Assessment Act or Urban Farming Assessment Act.  The change in value of the 
property should be considered reappraisal for the purposes of setting tax rates. 
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 Requires an appointed local district board of trustee member to report to the 
entity’s legislative body in a public meeting of a property tax levy that exceeds 
the certified property tax rate.   

 Changed the method for determining the fair market value of centrally assessed 
aircraft requiring a “fleet adjustment reducing the aircraft value below the aircraft 
pricing guide up to a maximum of 20%.  

 
2018 

 Appeal deadline for centrally assessed property is changed to the later of August 
1 or 90 days and for the counties from 30 days to 60 days.  

 A line of succession for county offices was created for when an interim 
replacement needs to be made.   

 Required Boards of Equalization to list significant value adjustments as a 
separate agenda item for a public hearing. This applies to properties adjusted by 
20% and $1 million.   

 Sets a rate floor to the minimum basic tax rate (“state basic”) of 0.0016 until July 
1, 2022. The state will contribute to school districts the difference between the 
amount the district can raise with this new rate and the amount required for the 
minimum basic program as determined by the legislature. After 2022 the floor is 
removed, but at a higher floating rate than would otherwise have been the case. 
The maximum board local levy for all school districts is increased to 0.0025. 

  

The Property Tax System  

Property taxes may be levied by the State of Utah and most of its political subdivisions, 

including all counties, all cities and towns, all school districts and most special service 

districts. Authority to levy depends upon enabling statutes.   

Local Assessment  

The county assessors establish taxable values for most properties -- real and personal -- 
within their counties including residences and businesses that are entirely located within 
county borders. All taxable real property is appraised at 100 percent of its fair market value 
based upon its status and location as of January 1 each year.  

 
County assessors are required to follow generally accepted appraisal practices, which 
include the three approaches to value: cost, comparable sales, and income. The cost 
approach measures the value of the property based upon the cost to construct or replace, 
with allowances for age and condition as well as functional and economic obsolescence. The 
comparable sales approach is simply a comparison of similar properties in a neighborhood 
using recent sales data. The income approach computes the value of the property by 
capitalizing the income the property is capable of producing. Qualifying farmland is appraised 
based on its agricultural productive capacity.  
 

Personal Property -- Valuation Methods  
The State Tax Commission annually prepares recommended valuation guides and 
schedules for county assessors.  
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When, in the opinion of the county assessor, local conditions and property values are not 
reflected by these schedules, the assessor may estimate market value using other 
acceptable appraisal data and techniques. However, if the assessor intends to deviate from 
an entire schedule, a written request with supporting documentation must be submitted to 
the Tax Commission for approval. 

Central Assessment  
The State Tax Commission's Property Tax Division is mandated by the Utah Constitution to 
assess the real and personal property of airlines, railroads, utilities, natural resource 
properties, geothermal fluids and geothermal resources and other businesses whose 
operations cross county or state lines. This is primarily because of the complexity and the 
nature of certain types of property. Once those values are set, the Tax Commission 
apportions the value to the counties. There are two primary types of centrally assessed 
property: unitary property and natural resource property. Rail car and state-assessed 
commercial vehicle companies are a third, more minor category.   

Unitary Property  
Unitary property normally includes the property of utilities and transportation companies. This 
would include airlines, electric companies, gas distribution companies, pipeline companies, 
railroads and telecommunication companies.  
 
The unit method of appraisal is applied to unitary property. Historically, the Tax Commission 
has applied the unit method of appraisal, by valuing an integrated group of assets functioning 
as an economic unit as "one thing," without reference to the independent value of the 
component parts. The logic of this concept is that informed buyers and sellers will most likely 
buy or sell a viable operating unit. This method takes into consideration a "going concern" 
that has a customer base vs. a new company that has to build its customer base.  
 
However, an April 1997 decision by the State Tax Commission addressed the taxability of 
"intangibles" (such as the value of a "going concern," customer base and good will) and 
instructed the agency to place more emphasis on the "cost approach" (see below) in valuing 
centrally assessed companies. Generally this results in a below market value. 
  
Most of the unitary companies assessed by the Property Tax Division are regulated to some 
degree and government regulation strongly influences property values. This is particularly 
true of a public utility, which is allowed to operate as a monopoly enterprise in an otherwise 
competitive business environment. 
  
There are three standard approaches to value for a unitary company: cost approach, income 
approach, and the market approach (usually stock & debt). The Property Tax Division 
attempts to perform all three approaches of value on each unitary company it assesses. After 
all have been completed, the appraiser will correlate the approaches into a final estimate of 
value for the unit.   

Cost Approach   
The cost approach is based on the principle of substitution. This means that, all other things 
being equal, people will not pay more for a property than the cost of a satisfactory substitute 
with equal functionality.  

Income Approach   
This involves any method that converts future anticipated income into present value. The 

conversion process is commonly known as income capitalization. The income approach is 

premised on the assumption that investors will discount expected income at its attendant 
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risk rate over its anticipated duration. The income approach is a conceptually sound 

method to estimate market value for income-producing properties, but it requires many 

difficult estimates and judgments. 

Stock & Debt Approach   
This is used as a surrogate for the market sales approach in valuing railroad and public utility 
properties, as sales of complete railroads and public utility companies are rare. The 
conceptual basis for the stock & debt approach is an accounting principle which holds that 
the total value of a firm's assets is equal to the total value of its liabilities, including 
stockholders' equity. For firms that have publicly traded securities, market prices can be 
obtained for sales of fractional portions of these debt and equity securities. 

Allocation  
When utility or railroad property extends into two or more states, the Property Tax Division is 
required to first estimate the value of the system or unit in all states, and then allocate a 
portion of the unit value to Utah. The goal is to reasonably reflect the property values 
contained in each state. The Western States Association of Tax Administrators has 
developed standard allocation formulas for utilities and railroads; for the most part, the 
Property Tax Division adheres to these standard formulas.  

Apportionment   
After the Property Tax Division has determined an allocated state value, the most important 
process -insofar as county officials are concerned -- is apportioning this state value to the 
individual taxing areas of the state.  
 
Example: An international telecommunications company is valued by the state of Utah at 
$35 billion. The Utah portion of that company's operations represents 0.65 percent, or 
$227.5 million. The Tax Commission then allocates that value to the counties depending 
upon the company's physical presence in each county.   
 
Formulas are also used to apportion the allocated state value down to the individual taxing 
areas. Utah law states that railroad and freight company rolling stock should be apportioned 
according to the ratio of miles of track or miles of principal highways located in a particular 
taxing area to the total miles of track or highway located in the state. All property located on 
site is apportioned according to the ratio of cost of property in the taxing area to the total cost 
of all stationery (non-rolling stock) property in the state. As the law was silent on how to 
apportion airline flight equipment, a similar formula has been used employing miles of flight 
path. However, the Utah Supreme Court April 30, 1999 declared that method 
unconstitutional. In its decision, the Court instructed the Tax Commission to abandon its 
apportionment method based on miles of flight path, and develop a method to apportion 
airline flight equipment value based upon a tangible or substantial contact with the taxing 
entity. 

Natural Resource Properties   
The Property Tax Division has divided resource properties into five major categories: oil & 
gas, metal mining (copper, gold, silver, etc.), non-metal mining (limestone, salt, gilsonite, 
phosphate, etc.), coal, as well as sand and gravel. 
  
A Tax Commission administrative rule states that discounted cash flow is the preferred 
method for valuing productive mining property. Utah law states that, "in no event may the fair 
market value of the property be less than the fair market value of the land, improvements 
and tangible personal property."  
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Oil & Gas Property   
The Tax Commission also uses a traditional discounted cash flow methodology that values 
these properties based upon estimates of a well's productive future. A summation value of 
the land, improvements and personal property is also performed. If this summation value is 
greater than the discounted cash flow value then, by statute, the summation value 
represents the value of the property. 

Rail Car Companies and State-Assessed Commercial Vehicles  
Rail car companies refer to the rolling stock of private railroad car companies that pass 
through the state. State-assessed commercial vehicles refer to the rolling stock of motor 
carrier freight and passenger companies that pass through the state. The Tax Commission 
assesses these companies and also collects the tax, then distributes the tax back to the 
counties. 

Taxable Value vs. Market Value 

Real Property  
The taxable value of a property is 100 percent of its fair market value, less any exemptions 
that may be permitted. For example, the Utah Constitution permits the legislature to exempt 
up to 45 percent of the fair market value of primary residential property from property 
taxation. That exemption is currently set at 45 percent. Rental properties are eligible for the 
exemption; secondary homes and business properties are not eligible. 
 
Example: A primary residence with a fair market value of $100,000 would be valued for 
property tax purposes at $55,000.  

Taxable Value As a Percent of Market Value 
Type of Property % of Market Value 

1) Primary Residential Property 55% (100 x .55) 

2) Other Locally Assessed Real Property 100% 

3) Centrally Assessed Property 100% 

    (utilities, mines, airlines, railroads, etc.)  

 
 

Personal Property  
All personal property is assessed at 100 percent of its fair market value as of January 1, 
except mobile homes used as primary residences. Primary residential property receives a 45 
percent exemption. (As with permanent structures, a primary residential property is any 
dwelling used as a person's primary residence, including a mobile home, but does not 
include transient residential uses.) Taxable value is the value against which the tax rate is 
applied to compute taxes charged.  
 
All taxable personal property is valued and assessed based on its status and location as of 
January 1 each year, except transitory personal property. Transitory personal property is 
assessed depending upon the number of days it is present in the state, regardless of when it 
enters the state. A minimum assessment of one fourth of the full year's assessment is 
required for any length of time less than three months.

Cars, Trucks & Uniform Fee-in-lieu  
Most Utah motor vehicles are subject to either an age-based uniform fee or a 1.5 percent 
uniform fee that must be paid before the vehicle can be registered in Utah. 
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Business Personal Property  
For other types of tangible personal property in the state as of noon on January 1, the 
taxpayer must file a signed statement with the county assessor in the county where the 
property is located. The signed statements must be filed on or before May 15 for most 
counties, or 60 days after requested by an assessor of a first class county. For the reason 
signed statements should be mailed to taxpayers from early February.  
 
Signed statements for transitory personal property must be filed immediately upon entering 
the state. If the owner of personal property fails to submit the required signed statement, the 
assessor is required to estimate the value of the property in question, and that value may not 
be reduced by the county board of equalization or the Tax Commission. There is also a 
penalty for failure to file the required signed statement. The penalty is 50 percent of the tax 
due on transitory personal property and the greater of $100 or 10 percent of the tax due on 
other personal property.  

Taxable Value as a Percent 
 
 Type of Property      % of Market Value 

All Taxable Personal Property 100%     100% 
(except mobile homes used as primary residences) 
 
Primary Residential Mobile Homes      55% 

 
Example: A primary residence mobile home appraised for $20,000 would have a taxable 
value of $11,000 (20,000 x .55).   

State Tax Commission Audits  
The Tax Commission audits personal property accounts throughout the state each year. 
Accounts are selected randomly or based upon information provided by the county assessor. 
Escaped, unreported property can be assessed and taxed for up to five years prior to the 
date of discovery. 

Situs  
Assessors must establish the situs, or the legal location, of property for property tax 
purposes. A property's situs determines which taxing entities may levy a tax upon it. Situs is 
generally the tax area where the property is located.   
 
A tax area is any unique combination of overlapping taxing entities. Each taxing entity levies 
a separate tax rate. Assume, for example, a county has four taxing entities: the county, 
school district, a mosquito abatement district, and a special service district. These create 
eight taxing areas with different rates within a county.  See "Tax Area Description" below:  

Tax Area Description  
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Tax Area 1 

Taxing Entity A: County 
Tax Area 5 

Taxing Entity A: County 
+ Taxing Entity B: School District 
+ Taxing Entity C: Mosquito Abatement 

Tax Area 2 

Taxing Entity A: County 
+ Taxing Entity B: School District 

Tax Area 6 

Taxing Entity A: County 
+ Taxing Entity B: School District 
+ Taxing Entity C: Mosquito Abatement 
+ Taxing Entity D: Special Services District 

Tax Area 3 

Taxing Entity A: County 
+ Taxing Entity C: Mosquito Abatement 

Tax Area 7 

Taxing Entity A: County 
+ Taxing Entity B: School District 
+ Taxing Entity D: Special Services District 
 

Tax Area 4 

Taxing Entity A: County 
+ Taxing Entity D: Special Services District 
 

Tax Area 8 

Taxing Entity A: County 
+ Taxing Entity C: Mosquito Abatement 
+ Taxing Entity D: Special Services District 

  

Exemptions  
There are two basic types of exemption; those based on ownership and those based on use.  

Ownership   
The Utah Constitution exempts certain property based solely on ownership. This includes 
property owned by the State of Utah and any of its political subdivisions such as school 
districts, cities and towns, counties or special districts. It also includes federal property 
unless federal law specifically allows for its taxation. For example, federal law exempts 
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property owned by the Farmers Home Administration, which is used for administrative 
functions. Property held under foreclosure by the FHA is taxable. Property exempt by 
ownership is not required to meet a use test.  
  

Use - Religious, Charitable and Educational 

Basis  
Property owned by a non-profit organization and which is used exclusively for religious, 
charitable and educational purposes are exempt from taxation.  
 

Strict Construction: The principle of strict construction as applied to use 
exemptions requires that the property be exclusively used for religious, charitable or 
educational purposes. The fact that a non-profit organization has a charitable 
purpose as its object is not sufficient to sustain an exemption.   

 

Partial Use: Partial Use exemptions may not be granted for prorating the exemption 
based upon the percentage of time the property is used for charitable work. For 
example, if a meeting hall is used 25 percent of the time for charitable work and 75 
percent of the time for social activities of a fraternal organization, a 25 percent 
exemption may not be granted.  
 

However, partial use exemptions may be granted to a separate and distinct part of a property 
occupied and used exclusively for religious, charitable or educational purposes. If a building 
houses a dry cleaning establishment on the first floor and offices for the Boy Scouts of 
America on the second floor, a partial exemption may be granted equal to the value of the 
second floor.  
 
The actual use of the property and not the use of funds generated by the use of the property 
controls in granting use exemptions.  
 
Example: the Red Cross owns a rental property used as a primary residence and rented at a 
market rate. The rental income is used to support Red Cross programs. The property is 
taxable because it is used as a residence.   
 
The use of the property by the property owner and not by a lessee or tenant controls in use 
exemption determinations. For example, an office building rented to a religious organization 
at a market rental rate is taxable even though it is used exclusively as office space by a 
religious organization. The property in the hands of the owner is a rental property.   

Religious Purposes  
There are no guidelines defining what constitutes use for religious purposes. Generally the 
courts do not question whether a particular belief or activity qualifies as religious as long as 
the organization has qualified as a 501(c)(3) religious organization with the IRS.  

Educational Purposes  
There is no constitutional or statutory definition as to what constitutes use for educational 
purposes and there have been no Utah court decisions on that issue. The guideline that has 
been applied by some jurisdictions is to recognize use for educational purposes where the 
property is used to provide services normally provided by a public school, college or 
university.  
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Charitable Purposes  
Factors which should be weighed in determining whether a particular organization is using its 
property exclusively for charitable purposes are as follows:   
 

1. Whether the stated purpose of the entity is to provide a significant service to others 
without immediate expectation of material reward;  

2. Whether the entity is supported and to what extent, by donations and gifts;  
3. Whether the recipients of the "charity" are required to pay for the assistance 

received, in whole or in part;  
4. Whether the income received from all sources (gifts, donations, and payment from 

recipients) produces a "profit" to the entity in the sense that the income exceeds 
operating and long-term maintenance expenses;  

5. Whether the beneficiaries of the "charity" are restricted or unrestricted and, if 
restricted, whether the restriction bears a reasonable relationship to the entity's 
charitable objectives; and  

6. Whether dividends or some other form of financial benefit, or assets upon 
dissolution, are available to private interest, and whether the entity is organized and 
operated so that any commercial activities are subordinate or incidental to charitable 
ones.*  

 
These factors provide useful guidelines to determine whether a charitable purpose or gift 
exists in any particular case. Each case must be decided on its own facts, and the foregoing 
factors are not all of equal significance, nor must an institution always qualify under all six 
before it will be eligible for an exemption. In addition, the Utah State Tax Commission has 
issued standards by which it will determine charitable use exemption claims by hospitals.  
(*This six-factor standard has been adapted from the test articulated by the Minnesota 
Supreme Court in North Star Research Institute v. County of Hennepin, 306 Minn. 1, 236 
N.W. 2d 754, 757 (1975)) 

Vacant Land  
Vacant land which is not actively used for religious, charitable, or educational purposes is not 
exempt until construction commences or a building permit is issued for construction of a 
facility that is intended to be used exclusively for religious, charitable, or educational 
purposes.  

Farm Machinery and Equipment  
Farm Machinery and equipment used primarily for agricultural purposes are exempt from 
taxation. This does not include vehicles required to be registered with the Department of 
Motor Vehicles or equipment used for business purposes other than farming.  
There is a distinction between machinery and equipment used in farm production and 
machinery and equipment used in processing agricultural products. Farm machinery and 
equipment used for processing agricultural products is taxable.   
 
 

Other Exemptions  
 

1. Burial Lots - The Utah Constitution exempts places of burial not held or used for 
private or corporate benefit. Current practice exempts burial lots sold to individuals 
as personal burial plots.  

2. Livestock  
3. Inventory  
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4. Household Furnishings: Furnishings, furniture and equipment used exclusively by 
the owner at the owner's place of abode in maintaining a home for the owner and the 
owner's family is exempt from property taxation.  

5. Irrigating Land: Certain property owned and used by individuals or corporations for 
irrigating land by those individuals or corporations is exempt. This exemption only 
applies to land within the State of Utah.  

6. Irrigation Power: Property used to furnish power for irrigation purposes.  
7. Intangible property  
8. Certain Tangible Personal Property: Article XIII Section 14 allows the legislature to 

exempt from property taxation tangible personal property required by law to be 
registered with the state. If the legislature exempts such property, it must provide for 
uniform fees or rates of assessment in lieu of property tax. The legislature has 
enacted exemptions and uniform fees on all property required to be registered in the 
state.  

 

Tax Administration  

 

Players and Responsibilities  

County Recorder  
Provides plats and ownership description changes to the assessor. This information is used 
to establish taxable situs and taxable status.   

County Assessor  
The county assessor discovers, identifies and values real and personal property located 
within the county. The assessor's primary responsibility is to establish market value and 
taxable value on real property and to establish market value, taxable value and collect 
personal property taxes. Market value is an appraisal issue. Taxable value is an 
administrative issue, which includes application of the residential exemption and Farmland 
Assessment Act (greenbelt laws). Utah law requires annual update of values based on a 
systematic review of market data.   
Discovery includes:   

 Establishing the existence of property 
 Determining its taxable situs  
 Determining its taxable status  

This includes a review of property characteristics of each property at least once every five 
years.   

County Auditor   
The county auditor performs a variety of accounting, auditing, recording and reporting 
functions in the property tax system.  
 

1. Posting centrally assessed values to the assessment roll.  
2. Coordinating with taxing entities and the Utah State Tax Commission to establish tax 

rates.  
3. Mailing the "Notice of Valuation and Tax Change".  
4. Extending the tax rolls by applying approved tax rates against values on the 

assessment roll.  
5. Processing tax relief applications.  
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6. Posting changes in value ordered by the county board of equalization and the State 
Tax Commission.  

7. Maintaining official records of the county board of equalization including taxpayer 
appeals and religious, charitable and educational exemptions.  

8. Notifying taxpayers of board of equalization hearings and decisions.  
9. Notifying taxpayers of appeal rights.  
10. Advertising, conducting and maintaining records of the May tax sale.  
11. Performing a variety of accounting, auditing and settlement functions.  
12. Reporting valuation and Property Tax information.  

 

County Governing Body   
The primary property tax function of the county governing body is to order/authorize 
adjustments to the assessment/tax roll. 
   

1. Authorize procedures for county board of equalization.  
2. Authorize adjustments to value, including exemptions, as the county board of 

equalization.  
3. Authorize tax relief and other adjustments to taxes charged.  
4. Set county budget and tax rates.  
5. Authorize procedures for selling delinquent property.  

County Treasurer   
The primary responsibility of the county treasurer is to collect and disburse taxes.  

1. Mail real property tax notices.  
2. Collect payments.  
3. Manage delinquent accounts.  
4. Disburse monies collected to taxing entities.  
5. Settle with the county auditor and county governing body for taxes charged.  

Utah State Tax Commission  
The Utah State Tax Commission has broad powers and responsibilities for administering the 
property tax system.  

1. Serves as the state board of equalization.  
2. Provides advice and direction to county officials.  
3. Approves tax rates.  
4. Equalizes assessments between and within counties.  
5. Provides technical assistance and training to counties.  
6. Assesses mines, utilities and other properties as required by law.  
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How the Roles Fit Together 
 

Functions 

 

Players 

 

Responsibilities 

1. Identifies Taxable Real 

Property 

Recorder and Assessor Identify taxable – sites/ statistics. 

2. Establish Value Assessor 

 

 

 

State Tax Commission 

Establish FMV* & TV**- locally assessed property. 

Establish FMV & TV** & collect tax on personal 

property. 

 

Establish FMV* &TV** - state assessed property. 

3. Value Corrections County Board of 

Equalization 

 

State Tax Commission 

 

County Auditor 

Adjust value – appeals, exemption & equalization. 

 

 

Adjust value – appeals, exemption & equalization. 

 

Post centrally assessed values to the property tax roll; 

Post changes authorized by board of equalization and 

Tax Commission. 

4. Establish Tax Rate Local Governments 

 

County Auditor 

 

State Tax Commission 

Set budgets and compute rates 

 

Provide value & tax data and assist local governments. 

 

Monitor statutory compliance and approve rates. 

 

5. Tax Relief County Governing Body 

 

Grant tax relief- veteran, blind, indigent & circuit 

breaker. 

 

6. Compute Tax Bill County Auditor 

 

 

County Governing Body 

 

 

 

Auditor 

Extend tax roll – Multiply value by tax rate to compute 

taxes charged. 

 

Authorize adjustment to tax bill – approve adjustments 

based on errors and omissions, illegal & erroneous 

assessment. 

 

Post adjustments as authorized by BOE. 

7. Bill and Collect Taxes 

Current: 

 

 

Delinquent: 

County Treasurer 

 

County Assessor 

 

County Treasurer 

 

 

County Assessor 

 

Mail bill and collect taxes on real property 

 

Mail bill and collect taxes on personal property 

 

Compute penalties & interest and make collections on 

unattached personal property 

 

Compute penalties & interest and make collections on 

unattached personal property 

8. Disburse Taxes 

Collected 

Treasurer Distribute taxes, penalties, interest and miscellaneous 

money collected to taxing entities 

9. Settle and Balance 

Value and Taxes 

County Treasurer, 

Auditor, Assessor, 

 Tax Entities,  

County Governing 

Ensure all taxes have been properly charged, collected 

and distributed 

 

*FMV = Fair Market Value 

      **TV=       Taxable Value 
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Equalization  
The purpose of equalization is to ensure that all properties are valued and taxed based upon 
100 percent of fair market value. Article XIII, Section 2 of the Utah Constitution states that all 
tangible property in the state that is not otherwise exempt shall be taxed at a uniform and 
equal rate in proportion to its value. It charges the Legislature with providing a "uniform and 
equal rate of assessment" according to the property's value.  

Intra-county and Inter-county Equity  
The Tax Commission has the responsibility of monitoring intra- and inter-county equity. Intra-
county equity refers to the equality or uniformity of assessments within a county, and 
therefore, taxes should be equitable within and among various classes or categories of 
property. Inter-county equity refers to the equality or uniformity of assessments among 
counties. The State Tax Commission is required to monitor and equalize assessments 
among counties. To that end, the Tax Commission is required to conduct an annual 
assessment/sales ratio study and order adjustments or corrective action based on the study 
results.   
 
Utah law further requires that the "commission shall ... order each county to adjust or factor 
its assessment rates using the most current studies." Accordingly, the Property Tax Division 
publishes a report, "Assessment/Sales Ratio Study," for each calendar year, to check the 
proportional equity of the tax revenue contributions of counties to the Uniform School Fund.  

Statistical Analyses: Central Tendency and Variability  
The "Assessment/Sales Ratio Study," calculates an estimate to central tendency that reflects 
the local assessment level in terms of dollars. The uniformity being studied is inter-county 
equity (among counties), rather than intra-county (variations within a county). The central 
tendency is calculated for each relevant class and sub-class of property within the county.  
 
Additionally, the Tax Commission uses measures of variability to evaluate the accuracy of a 
county's assessment function, because those measures indicate how uniformly property is 
being assessed within a specific county. The measure of variability used in the 
assessment/sales ratio studies is the "coefficient of dispersion" (COD). The COD is an 
important indicator of the quality of a mass appraisal system and can be used to make valid 
comparisons among property classes within a county and among counties.  

Judicial Principle -- Rio Algom Case  
The overarching purpose of Article XIII of the Utah Constitution is to achieve uniformity in the 
ad valorem taxing scheme. The definition of value is one element in a formula designed to 
achieve that end by establishing a common denominator for valuation purposes. Where "it is 
impossible to achieve both the standards of the true value, and the uniformity and equality 
required by law, the latter requirement is to be preferred as the just and ultimate purpose of 
the law." Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad v. Neeld, 23 N.J. 561, 570, 130 A.2d 6, 
11 (1957), quoting Sioux City Bridge Co. v. Dakota County, 260 U.S. 441 (1923).  
 
To assess property at its true value is only one of the fundamental requirements of law. The 
assessment must further represent the owner's equal portion of the burden of taxation, and if 
the assessors have not appraised at full value but only at a fixed percentage of true value, 
then such treatment must be uniform and equal on all real estate and tangible property, so 
much so that if both cannot be obtained, then equality must prevail. Kittery Electric Light Co. 
v. Assessors of the Town of Kittery, Me., 219 A.2d 728, 734 (1966).  
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Reassessment and Factoring  
The first line of equity is the assessment process. Section 59-2-201 specifically instructs the 
Tax Commission to assess all centrally assessed property at 100 percent of fair market 
value. The county assessor is held to the same valuation standard on locally assessed real 
and personal property. The county governing body and the Utah State Tax Commission have 
broad equalization powers and responsibilities. 
 
In addition, the 1993 Legislature passed a law strengthening the requirement that county 
assessors keep values current on all properties.  
 

... “each county assessor shall annually update property values of property as 
provided in Section 59-2-301, based on a systematic review of current market data. 
In addition, the county assessor shall complete a detailed review of property 
characteristics for each property at least once every five years.” 
 

The Tax Commission has interpreted this statute to mean that county assessors are required 
each year to readjust assessed values to reflect market values through annual factoring or 
cyclical physical reappraisal. This method is expected to result in only small changes in 
property taxes from year to year, rather than when a county reappraises all or a portion of 
the county once every five years. In a rapidly appreciating real estate market such as Utah is 
currently experiencing, the new law should also provide more equity among homeowners 
county-wide.  

Corrective Actions by the Tax Commission   
If the Tax Commission's sales/ratio study reveals a county's assessment rate is more than 
10 percent higher or lower than market value, the Tax Commission may order corrective 
action. This may take the form of ordering a reappraisal or issuing a factoring order (which 
requires the county to increase or decrease certain classes of property up or down by certain 
percentages), or both. The statute says the "adjustment or factoring may include an entire 
county, geographical areas within a county and separate classes of properties. Where 
significant value deviations occur, the Tax Commission shall also order corrective action."  
 
The methodologies used are the bases for adjusting a county's assessment level to the legal 
level and for ordering reappraisal to correct problems with assessment uniformity. The Tax 
Commission assessment standards were developed from those recommended by the 
International Association of Assessing Officers.  

Equalization Process -- Players and Responsibilities  

County Board of Equalization  
Article XIII, Section 11 of the Utah Constitution states that each county shall have a county 
board of equalization consisting of the board of county commissioners of that county. The 
constitution states the county boards of equalization shall adjust and equalize the valuation 
and assessment of the real and personal property within their respective counties. The 
county board of equalization is empowered to take the following kinds of equalization 
actions:  
 

1. Add property to the assessment roll. (59-2-1002)  
2. Make corrections to the assessment roll which may raise or lower property values.  
3. Raise or lower the value of a class or group of properties.  
4. Adjust assessments based on taxpayer appeals.  
5. Grant certain exemptions.  
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County Assessor  
The assessor or a deputy is required to be present during the session of the county board of 
equalization to:   
 

1. Answer questions  
2. Provide information  
3. Call and examine witnesses  
4. Introduce evidence  

 
The county assessor may initiate valuation adjustments through the county board of 
equalization. The county assessor may appeal decisions of the county board of equalization 
to the State Tax Commission.  

County Auditor   
The county auditor is the clerk of the county board of equalization. As the clerk of the county 
board, the county auditor:  
 

1. Notifies taxpayers of board hearings and board decisions  
2. Notifies taxpayers of rights and procedures for appealing county board decisions to 

the State Tax Commission.  
3. Keeps accurate minutes and records of all county board actions.  
4. Posts all changes to the assessment roll as ordered by the county board or the State 

Tax Commission. The county auditor may not post illegal changes. 

Utah State Tax Commission  
The duties imposed upon the state board of equalization by the Article XIII, Sec 11 of the 
Utah Constitution and laws of this state shall be performed by the State Tax Commission.  
 
A. General Powers  
 

1. To adopt rules and policies to govern local boards  
2. Prescribe forms  
3. Reconvene county boards  
4. Exercise general supervision over county offices  
5. Examine all records relating to the valuation of any property  

 
B. Other Statutory Powers  
 

1. To raise, lower, or otherwise correct any assessment or order a reassessment of any 
property  

2. To extend the dates for county boards of equalization  
3. To hear appeals from decisions of county boards of equalization  
4. To equalize assessments among the counties  
5. To establish assessment level and uniformity standards and order corrective action 

when not met.  

Taxpayer  
The taxpayer has the right to appeal assessments to the county boards of equalization (59-2-
1004) and to further appeal county board of equalization decisions to the Utah State Tax 
Commission.  
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Truth in Taxation  
Utah's "Truth In Taxation" laws were passed in 1985 as a compromise to direct tax limitation. 
Prior to 1985, property tax revenues were limited to 106 percent of taxes collected in the 
previous year. The limit was activated only when an entity's tax base was increased as a 
result of factoring or reappraisal ordered by the Tax Commission. The limit could only be 
exceeded with voter approval. "Truth in Taxation" laws replaced the 106 percent limit.  
 
The "Truth in Taxation" law imposed specific public notice and public hearing requirements 
that are triggered when a taxing entity proposes to increase its property tax revenues (not 
rates) above those collected in the previous year (tax revenues generated by "new growth" in 
an entity's tax base are exempt from the disclosure requirements).  The public hearings are 
required to allow elected officials to explain the reasons for the proposed increase and allow 
citizens to comment on any proposed increase.   

Revenue-Driven System   
Utah's "Truth in Taxation" laws are revenue-driven, not rate-driven. That means the 
requirement to hold a "Truth in Taxation" hearing is based upon the collections of a taxing 
entity, not the rate charged. Utah law requires "Truth in Taxation" hearings to be held when a 
taxing entity elects to collect more revenue than was collected the previous year, although 
the entities are permitted to keep revenues generated by "new growth" -- such as value 
added to the tax rolls from a new subdivision or a new business.  
 
Because "Truth in Taxation" is revenue-based, a hearing may still be required if an entity's 
tax rate remains unchanged or even declines. For example, if property values increase 10 
percent as the result of reappraisal, but a taxing entity does not lower its rate proportionately, 
it must advertise and hold a "Truth in Taxation" hearing. The hearing is required because the 
increase in value is not considered new growth. 
 
The reverse is also true. If an entity's rate increases, but its revenues remain unchanged, no 
advertisement is required. This most often occurs with a tax shift. For example, if the value of 
commercial property is decreased, the tax rate must be increased to maintain the same 
revenues. Since budgeted property tax revenues do not exceed those collected last year, no 
increase is advertised. However, homeowners see an increase in taxes on the "Notice of 
Valuation and Tax Changes".  
 
Many taxing entities continue to be confused by this concept and attempt to compare the 
previous year's tax rate with the current year's proposed rate to determine if a tax increase 
will occur. Under a revenue-driven system, changes in rates are irrelevant.   
For this and other reasons, some critics of the current laws argue that the revenue-driven 
system does not result in "Truth in Taxation" to the individual property owner and that a rate-
driven system is preferable. They suggest that the newspaper advertisement be eliminated 
because property-specific information is contained on the individual "Notice of Property 
Valuation and Tax Changes".   

Certified Tax Rate  
The determination that a property tax increase is being proposed is made by the Tax 
Commission's Property Tax Division. The certified tax rate, established by the Property Tax 
Division, is that rate which will yield the taxing entity the same property tax revenue that it 
budgeted in the previous year (and includes an allowance for revenue generated from real 
new growth in its tax base). That determination is based on a comparison of an entity's 
proposed tax rate with its certified tax rate.  
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A certified tax rate is computed for each separate fund or levy. For example, a city may have 
levies for general operation, library and recreation. If the aggregate proposed tax rate 
exceeds the aggregate certified tax rate, a tax (revenue) increase is proposed. 

Public Hearing & Notice Requirements  
Two forms of public notice are required when an entity proposes a tax increase. First, the 
county auditor must send a "Notice of Property Valuation & Tax Changes" to every property 
owner. The notice discloses the property's current year's and the previous year's market 
values, the potential tax impact of the proposed revenue increase, instructions for appealing 
the property market value, and the date, time, and place of any public hearings where 
proposed increases will be discussed. In addition, a taxing entity must advertise any 
proposed property tax increase. The form and content of the advertisement are specified in 
the law.  
 
Exceptions are allowed where there is no newspaper of general circulation or "the cost of the 
advertisement would cause undue hardship." In such cases the entity may use a Tax 
Commission-approved direct mail notice or combine its notice with another taxing entity's 
notice. If the cost of public notice required is greater than one percent of the property tax 
revenues to be received, an entity may combine its advertisement with other entities, or use 
a Tax Commission-approved direct mail notice. Also, the newspaper advertisement 
requirements do not apply to a taxing entity that collected less than $15,000 in property tax 
revenue, or in the case of a new taxing entity, that proposes to collect less than $15,000 in 
property tax revenue for the current year.  

An Effective Tool  
Utah's "Truth in Taxation" laws have proved to be an effective tool in limiting the rate of 
increase in property taxes. Prior to the implementation of "Truth in Taxation", property taxes 
levied had increased at an average rate of 12 percent per year since 1981. Since 1986 the 
rate of increase has averaged 3.6 percent. Of the 550 plus taxing entities in Utah, an 
average of 40 entities have proposed increases each year.  
 
In 1989, these facts were instrumental in defeating a 1 percent property tax limitation 
initiative. At the time, the initiative had gained enough signatures to be placed on the ballot, 
polls showed a 70 percent to 30 percent rating in favor of the initiative. After an intensive 
public information campaign, which included emphasis on Utah's "Truth in Taxation" laws, 
the initiative was defeated 70 percent to 30 percent.  
 

Supporters of the current laws point to additional benefits in the form of greater turnout and 

participation at local government budget hearings and at county board of equalization 

hearings. 

  

Tax Shifting and Windfall Revenue  
The tax burden of a taxing entity may be shifted from one class of properties to another when 
the value of one or more large groups -- or classes -- of properties changes dramatically. 
One example would be a county whose tax base is dominated by oil and gas properties. 
When oil prices decline, the assessed value of those properties decline as well. In order to 
raise the same amount of revenues as the previous year, taxing entities have to raise their 
rates on all properties (residential, locally assessed commercial and other state-assessed 
properties) to recoup the tax dollars lost with the decline of values.  
 
Tax-shifting is most noticeable when one large taxpayer, such as the Intermountain Power 
Project, has a change in value. When the IPP was built, the burden of financing local 
governments was largely shifted from local homeowners and businesses to the immense 
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power plant. But if there is a downward fluctuation in the plant's assessed value --through a 
successful tax appeal, for instance -- then the tax rates in the various taxing districts may be 
increased to generate that lost revenue.   
 
Tax-shifting can also occur when residential property values escalate as they have been in 
this market, while the value of other classes of property (such as commercial and centrally 
assessed) remain fairly flat. When residential values shoot up -- and assessed values follow 
-- in order to bring in the same amount of money, taxing entities are required to bring rates 
down. However, those residential properties still will see a tax increase. Because residential 
property only represents a portion of a taxing entity's total tax base, it is not possible to bring 
rates down low enough to make residential taxes a "wash," without the taxing entity losing 
overall revenue, compared to the previous year. Another situation that can create a tax shift 
is when one area is reappraised and the other areas of the county are not.  
 
Generally, government has an overall cost of doing business and certain levels of service 
must be maintained, particularly in the schools. So, when values plummet, rates generally 
rise. Again, the "Truth in Taxation" law is revenue-driven, not rate-driven. So, in this case, if 
County A's property values declined 30 percent, the county could raise rates to recoup the 
same amount of revenue, but would not have to advertise a "Truth in Taxation" hearing. 
Even though rates would be increasing substantially (and property tax bills with them), under 
the "Truth in Taxation" definition that does not constitute a "tax increase."  
 
In an escalating real estate market, one reason local taxing entities cannot reduce rates 
enough to completely forestall a property tax increase is that the State Uniform School Fund 
Levy remains largely constant. So the Uniform School Fund may benefit from windfalls (or 
suffer losses),from swings in assessed values statewide.  

 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 


