
2020 Property Tax Relief Table 
(Reference Standard 3   https://propertytax.utah.gov/standards/standard03.pdf ) 

           

 

 

 

*Evidence could include: Military Service or Deployment Order, Letter from commanding officer or Travel Voucher/Subvoucher (DD Form 1351-2) (Military Personnel Office) 

**Also includes unmarried surviving spouse and minor orphan of a veteran who was killed in action or died in the line of duty under active duty exemption. 

*** This relief is only indirectly related to property tax; it is to help offset the general tax burden.  

 

Utah Code Ann. Sec 59-2-1347 allows a county, for property assessed by the county, or USTC, for property assessed by the Commission, to accept an amount less than the full 

amount of taxes due, and allows a county to defer the full amount of taxes due “where, in the judgment of the [county legislative body for property assessed by the county, or USTC 

for property assessed by the Commission], the best human interests and the interests of the state and the county are served.”  The statute also allows a county legislative body to grant 

retroactive adjustments or deferrals. Please call Alex Urosevic on (801) 297-3631 with further questions. 
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Veterans Exemption 
59-2-1903 & 1904 

 
Mandatory 

 
County 

 
County 

File by Sept 1; proof of service, 
proof of disability 

Veteran with a disability; 
unmarried surviving spouse or 

minor  orphans; disability  >  

10% 

 Primary residence 
and non-business 

personal property  

Credit up to $271,736 in  
taxable value, based on 

 percentage of disability 

 

Active Duty Exemption 
59-2-1902 

 

 

Mandatory 

 

 

County 

 

 

County 

File by Sept 1 the year after 

qualifying active duty service 

was completed, provide 
evidence of qualifying active 

duty military service* 

Qualified active duty; At least 

200 days in a continuous 365-

day period outside the state 
beginning in prior year. **    

Primary residence 

of military 

member 
 

Total taxable value of  the 

primary residential property 

 

Blind Exemption 
59-2-1106 

 

Mandatory 

 

County 

 

County 

File annually by Sept 1; 

ophthalmologist signed 
statement 

Legally blind as defined by 

statute; unmarried surviving 
spouse or minor orphans; no 

income requirements 

Real and personal 

property 

Credit of $11,500 in taxable 

value 
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 Homeowner’s 

Credit 

 
Mandatory 

 
County 

 
State 

General 

Fund 

File annually by Sept 1 with 
county; signed statement of 

income 

Provide own financial support, 
66+ years of age or surviving 

spouse; income <$34,167 Utah 

resident for entire year 

Owner-occupied 
residence  

Credit up to $1,043 based on 
annual household income 

Homeowner’s 

Valuation 

Reduction 

 

Mandatory 

 

County 

 

County 

Same as Homeowner’s Credit Same as Homeowner’s Credit Same as 

Homeowner Credit 

Credit equal to tax on 20% of 

fair market value of residence 

Renter’s 

Credit*** 

 

Mandatory 

 

Tax Commission 

State 

General 

Fund 

File annually by Dec 31 with 

state;  signed income statement 

& gross rent  

Same as Homeowner’s Credit  Renter-occupied 

residence 

Credit up to $1012  based on 

household income & 

percentage of rent paid 

 

Indigent Abatement 
59-2-1803 & 1804 

 
Discretionary 

 
County 

 
County 

File annually by Sept 1; signed 
statement of disability or 

hardship; proof of ownership; 

other as require by county 

65+ years of age, or disabled, 
or in extreme hardship; income 

<$34,167; residing at property  

at least 10 months of year 

Owner-occupied 
residence  

½ tax due, or max. of $1,043, 
whichever is less 

 

Indigent Deferral 
59-2-1802 & 1804 

 
Discretionary 

 
County 

 
County 

Same as indigent abatement; 
approval of mortgage or trust 

deed holder. 

Same as indigent abatement; 
hold no income producing 

assets 

Owner-occupied 
residence  

All or any portion of tax; 
interest accrues; deferral 

continues until property 
changes hands. 

https://propertytax.utah.gov/standards/standard03.pdf

