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Tax Relief

▪ Tax relief is guaranteed by the Utah State 

Constitution

▪ Utah Constitution, Article XIII, Section 3, 

Subsection (4)

“The Legislature may by statute provide for 

the remission or abatement of the taxes of 

the poor”

• §59-2-1801 (7)

▪ “Indigent individual” is a poor individual as 

described in Utah Constitution, Article XIII, 

Section 3, Subsection (4)…



Important 
Notes

▪ The burden is on the applicant to prove 

eligibility for any tax relief program. The 

county may request any evidence to establish 

eligibility required by statute. If the applicant 

fails to provide the information, the county 

may deny the tax relief.

▪ Applicants for tax relief are limited to taxes 

on the residence and a maximum of one acre 

of land (and non-business personal property 

for veterans with a disability and/or blind 

exemption applicants). Discretionary 

adjustments/deferrals may apply to any 

taxable property.



Mandatory Tax 
Relief Programs 

Offered
in the State of 

Utah

▪ Veterans Exemption

▪ Active-Duty Exemption

▪ Blind Exemption

▪ Indigent Abatement

▪ Indigent Deferral

▪ Circuit Breaker Relief 

Programs

▪ Homeowner’s Credit

▪ Homeowner’s Valuation 

Reduction

▪ Renter’s Credit

▪ 75+ Circuit Breaker (2024)

▪ Created in 2022—SB 25 

Sub. 2

▪ Clean-Up in 2023—SB 81 

Sub. 2



Discretionary 
Deferrals/

Abatements

▪ (1)(a) If an interested person applies to a county 

legislative body for an adjustment or deferral of taxes 

levied against property located in the county, the 

county legislative body may accept a sum less than the 

full amount due, or defer the full amount due, where, in 

the judgment of the county legislative body, the best 

human interests and the interests of the state and 

the county are served.

§59-2-1347



Discretionary 
Deferrals/

Abatements
(cont.)

▪ (4) Within 10 days after the day on which a county legislative 

body grants an adjustment or deferral, the county legislative 

body shall cause the adjustment or deferral to be posted in 

the county where the property involved is located. The 

publication shall contain:

▪ (a) the name of the applicant;

▪ (b) the parcel, serial, or account number of the property;

▪ (c) the value of the property for the current year;

▪ (d) the sum of the delinquent taxes, interest, and penalty due; 

and

▪ (e) the adjusted amount paid or deferred.

▪ (5) No later than the last day of each calendar month, each 

county legislative body shall send to the commission a 

record of any action taken by the county legislative body 

under this section during the preceding calendar month

§59-2-1347



FAQ—Primary 
Residential 
Exemption

▪ Not considered relief/abatement, but one of 

the most common questions that taxpayers 

seeking relief call and ask about

▪ The Utah State Constitution allows assessors to 

exempt from taxation up to 45% of the fair 

market value of residential property on up to one 

acre of land.

▪ Primary residential exemption applies to home 

where it is used as a primary residence more than 

180 days of the year

▪ If a long-term renter occupies the home, it 

qualifies for the primary residential exemption;

▪ If it is used as a short-term rental/vacation home 

and remains unoccupied by the same 

individual/family for more than 183 days of the 

year, it does not qualify for the primary 

residential exemption

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleXIII/Article_XIII,_Section_3.html?v=UC_AXIII_S3_2018050820190101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleXIII/Article_XIII,_Section_3.html?v=UC_AXIII_S3_2018050820190101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleXIII/Article_XIII,_Section_3.html?v=UC_AXIII_S3_2018050820190101


Certified Tax Rate Formula

Previous Year’s 

Budgeted Revenues

Current Year’s 

Adjusted Taxable 

Value Less New 

Growth

Locally assessed real 

(+) prior year end personal 

property

 (+) centrally assessed values

(-) CRA/RDA

*(-) 3-year BOE adjustment

(-) 5-year collection ratio

**(-) new growth

 

=

= Last Year’s Final Budgeted Revenue







TC-750



Tax Relief Screen



Discussion

Specific questions/Roundtable/Open discussion 

for next week



Jen Hansen

Matt Hurst

Josh Nielsen

Jared Rezendes
(385) 377-9408 (385) 499-0553

(801) 718-1426(801) 297-3636

Terri Chidester
(385) 377-2496

David Swan
(385) 377-2309

matthewhurst@utah.gov

tchidester@utah.gov

jjhansen@utah.gov jnielsen@utah.gov

dswan@utah.gov

jrezendes@utah.gov
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